Film Geek - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Film Geek Reviews

Page 2 of 5
February 7, 2011
oh my god its me .. haha but im not as annoying or pathetic .. fun view into the lonely life of a cinephile
February 5, 2011
Ahh, the girls always come back to the geeks :) Lazy Saturday afternoon movie - great for film buffs - but contains some adult scenes I'd prob not recommend for children.
½ February 3, 2011
Quick Review: The main character kind of looks like Tiger Woods. Okay, to be honest the lead actor can be pretty annoying at times, but I was rooting for him most of the time. This movie hit close to home for me since I'm a film geek as well so this one gets brownie points for me. I loved all of the references by the main character. The movie is really short and has some funny scenes. The ending of the film salutes the endings of several other films while also being a metaphor for something I don't want to reveal here. The love interest was well cast. This is a good personal ode to the movies.
½ February 3, 2011
Quick Review: The main character kind of looks like Tiger Woods. Okay, to be honest the lead actor can be pretty annoying at times, but I was rooting for him most of the time. This movie hit close to home for me since I'm a film geek as well so this one gets brownie points for me. I loved all of the references by the main character. The movie is really short and has some funny scenes. The ending of the film salutes the endings of several other films while also being a metaphor for something I don't want to reveal here. The love interest was well cast. This is a good personal ode to the movies.
½ December 24, 2010
Really, really horrible. The lead was one of the most irritating characters ever. Some funny film references, but otherwise, fart.
November 12, 2010
At times, this was really painful for me to watch. I feel this is a film I should have written and directed, but I would have changed so many directions that the plot took. I relate to this character's love for movies, but writer and director James Westby seemed to miss the point of what a film geek really is. To be honest, I found this film to be rather offensive and insulting to folks like myself who have a profound admiration for the art of film. This seemed to portray film geeks as creepy, unintelligent and socially inept people who will never be anything but video store clerks and societal parasites. This portrayal could not be further from the truth. Yes, us film geeks know way too much about film, but we appreciate and understand other subjects and can communicate beyond in depth conversations about directors and what year films were made. The conclusion only gives off a feeling of hopelessness for its protagonist, metaphorically stating that their entire future can only be experienced as a wet dream, and a goal they will never achieve because they are incapable of going out into the world and communicating with society. To the writer and director of this film, I say "fuck you!" I suggest you and I sit down and have a chat so I can show you in person the true spirit and intelligence of someone who loves films. We are not bumbling morons who are incapable of talking to girls and making friends. We don't spend every minute and second of our lives in the video store, crowding around customers and irritatingly suggest them films they have no comprehension of understanding. I certainly hope that films like this don't type cast the avid film fan as an unlikeable human being, but show that they are folks like everyone else whose passion of film was conceived by the discovery of being able to film footage, and edit it together so as to tell a story that can bring out and express various feelings and emotions.
October 5, 2010
I hate this film. It's amaturish, not funny and the lead character is immensely grating.
July 19, 2010
A decent and funny indie movie.
April 22, 2010
Quite possibly the most awesome movie ever. Ever. Especially if you love movies, have ever worked at a video store (or even remember what that is), and can always seem to work film into every conversation, whether anybody else wants to talk about it or not. Basically a masterpiece.
½ April 3, 2010
I really loved this movie another one about a film fanatic and I am always addcited to such films. it was never released in Europe.
March 31, 2010
Enjoyed the story, but too many aspects of this film were poorly made. I would have loved better acting in the supporting roles, yet Melik Malkasian played his role surprisingly well, and overall I enjoyed his performance.
The plot may have been undeveloped, yet it still managed to be good. What really killed this film was the "porno style" cinematography. Half the time it seemed as though the characters were going to throw out a painfully un-sexy line, strip, and begin to bang it out right then and there. I couldn't stand the still frames all throughout the movie no camera movement really hurt this film beyond repair. Better luck next time guys.
Good story yet bad cinematography and poor supporting actors make this movie a completely optional choice, yet for some reason I would still recommend it. The main character is charmingly awkward, and painfully depressing at the same time, a cavalcade of emotions made me finish this movie through and I recommend it for when you have a whole hell of a lot of time to kill, and don't mind watching something you'll either hate, or quite possibly enjoy for 80 minutes of your life.
February 28, 2010
low budget but quite brilliant.
January 11, 2010
It has some cute bits, but honestly the ending threw me a little, just because it's a bit too easy, but this was a fun way to kill just over an hour, and the lead is truly convincing as the socially retarted video nerd.

Worth a look.
November 25, 2009
Nicely done, good job with a low budget. Appealing performances, short, sweet and at times very funny, as well as touching. It?s very simple and doesn?t pretend to be anymore than it is.
November 25, 2009
Nicely done, good job with a low budget. Appealing performances, short, sweet and at times very funny, as well as touching. It?s very simple and doesn?t pretend to be anymore than it is.
½ September 3, 2009
I would have appreciated at least 5 fewer scenes of this guy masturbating into his sink.
½ August 21, 2009
As a fan of film, I thought this was going to be a decent portrayal movie of a film geek, but I was wrong. This follows a socially awkward/inept individual who has a freakishly obsessive passion for movies to the point that he does not know how else to interact with people other than talking about films or actors/actresses in film. I thought half way through the story when a certain event occurred to the main character that he would change his entire outlook on life or no longer be obsessed with talking about film, but sadly didnā??t happen.
½ August 18, 2009
Anybody who can relate to movies better than they can to people will find this one intriguing. (Of course, it did hit too close to home for me). They very wisely made it only 70 minutes long. He is really more of nerd than a Geek. All of the people in his life were much more dysfunctional than he was. His neighbor is especially hilarious, when we see her put a plastic cover on her bed. Thought about much more the next day. The real ending is better than his fantasy ending. Available on Netflix on Demand.
½ August 2, 2009
This is such a funny, sweet little indie film with all the right touches. Scotty's knowledge is so wide and all-encompassing that I ALMOST felt bad when I didn't get certain references. But you've got to love a film where two little girls talk about being turned on to Bertolucci and Pasolini, not to mention that Tyler Gannon is a cutie.
July 19, 2009
This was a gem. I found it to be hilarious and enjoyed the numerous film references. The ending was rather cliche and the film's run time was a bit short, but the acting, direction and script were brilliant. I found the subtle, almost embarrassing humor to be genuine and quite funny. I also loved how raw the film was, showing you everything and not holding back from embarrassing moments (even a socially inept guy has to masturbate). The acting from Melik Malkasian was amazing, to say the least, and I found his character, while quite annoying, to be very intellectual and somehow cute.

All in all, I really enjoyed the film and will definitely be following the actor and writer/director for future releases. Definitely not for everyone, but recommended.
Page 2 of 5