Film socialisme - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Film socialisme Reviews

Page 1 of 3
June 3, 2011
It's upsetting that I spent 90 minutes of my life wrestling with this movie to get absolutely nothing out of it, except a desire to take Godard's camera away and put him in a nursing home.
Full Review | Original Score: 1/5
October 7, 2015
Since Mr. Godard continues to innovate the cinematic form and experiment with the digital format, it's just really jarring to see some of the backward ideas in this film.
June 9, 2011
This film is an affront. It is incoherent, maddening, deliberately opaque and heedless of the ways in which people watch movies.
Full Review | Original Score: 1/4
September 1, 2011
This isn't exactly a popcorn movie. I'm not sure it's even a movie, as much as an edgy art installation.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/4
July 14, 2011
Quickly avant-gardes itself right into incomprehensibility.
Read More | Original Score: 1.5/4
July 14, 2011
Many people leave. We stay end. Not sure why.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/5
July 8, 2011
To my mind the whole experience felt like trying to tune into a radio station and only hearing static.
June 3, 2011
Only ardent followers will gravitate to this enigmatic work.
June 3, 2011
Goddard's vaguely accessible collage-essay on the ennui of the modern existential moment, "Socialism" is an inarticulate bestiary of bullshittery.
Full Review | Original Score: C-
July 7, 2011
Consign the filmmaker to history, and his film to the bin.
Full Review | Original Score: 1/5
July 8, 2011
Unimaginable tedium.
Full Review | Original Score: 1/5
June 26, 2011
..a technically ambitious effort for such an aged filmmaker, with changing visual styles and disjunctive sound design, but its substance feels juvenile, as if merely throwing out a wide net of provocative constructs would form them into a coherent essay.
Full Review | Original Score: C-
June 27, 2011
Only die hard Jean-Luc Godard fans could appreciate this failed experiment. I am not a die hard fan.
Full Review | Original Score: D
February 25, 2012
Intriguing but puzzling head-scratcher on the decline of Western civilization.
Full Review | Original Score: C+
June 7, 2011
Some brave publicist came up with the tagline "Ideas separate us, dreams bring us together" to sum up the spirit of Jean-Luc Godard's new film, his first in six years. Twelve months on and I'm still trying to figure out what it all might mean.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/5
January 27, 2012
likely to be an unbearable experience for anyone other than for Godard himself and his most hardcore adherents
Full Review | Original Score: 1.5/4
July 9, 2011
Even Godard's biggest fans are sure to struggle with his latest film, which would be pointless, pretentious and annoying even without the Navajo English subtitles, though it does throw up the (very) occasional good moment.
Full Review | Original Score: 1/5
June 3, 2011
Jean-Luc Godard's latest is gorgeously photographed but his most inscrutable film yet.
December 31, 2010
Incomprehensible, incoherent and intolerable.
Read More | Original Score: 1/5
December 31, 2010
A mystifying, occasionally beautiful and often tedious exercise in demonstrating what James Joyce called the nightmare of history.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/4
Page 1 of 3