Final Destination 5 - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Final Destination 5 Reviews

Page 1 of 7
Steve Newton
Georgia Straight
February 15, 2013
Though not a great horror film by any means, Final Destination 5 succeeds as a comedic splatter fest solely by sticking to Stephen King's old motto: 'If in doubt, gross 'em out.'
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
Ben Kendrick
October 2, 2012
Final Destination 5 benefits from smart 3D, but even in 2D, the set-pieces will satisfy -- presenting some of the most outrageous kill sequences in franchise history.
Full Review | Original Score: 3.5/5
Ali Gray
September 28, 2012
It's testament to the 2000 original that there's still so much mileage left in the 'death is coming for you' concept 11 years later.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
Kevin Carr
7M Pictures
January 6, 2012
when you finally get to the end of the film, it works in the context of the series and definitely tops the previous installment
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
Linda Cook
KWQC-TV (Iowa)
December 22, 2011
Does clever writing a horror movie make? I think it does. And if you do too, then set your GPS for 'Final Destination 5,' one of the best of the dark-humored, grisly components in the franchise about people meeting their demise in bizarre ways .
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
John J. Puccio
Movie Metropolis
December 14, 2011
It's a neat, tidy, tightly wound little horror picture with a single-minded intent to startle you out of your seat while causing you to laugh immoderately.
Full Review | Original Score: 6/10
James O'Ehley
Sci-Fi Movie Page
December 9, 2011
we just like good-looking young people being killed off in inventive and gruesome ways! Death is a sick puppy . . . and so are we!
David Nusair
Reel Film Reviews
November 17, 2011
The end result is a better-than-average sequel that will surely thrill fans of the Final Destination movies, and it's ultimately difficult to recall a horror franchise that has fared as well (and remained as entertaining) as this.
James Luxford
The National (UAE)
September 18, 2011
a gruesome but entertaining spectacle
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
Rosie Fletcher
SFX Magazine
September 16, 2011
If you don't mind repetition, love a brilliantly horrible death, and like having your peepers assaulted - FD5 could be the Friday night film of the year.
Full Review | Original Score: 3.5/5
Dominic Corry
September 14, 2011
...had me holding my hands over my eyes for the first time since Natalie Portman did horrible things to her cuticles in Black Swan.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
Jim Schembri
The Age (Australia)
September 14, 2011
FD5 is a perfect example of what 3D ultimately does best, which is to make you squirm, shudder and jump in your seat. Enjoy.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
Jason Di Rosso
MovieTime, ABC Radio National
September 2, 2011
It's a spectacle that requires a certain detachment and a strong stomach, but it's highly recommended.
Leigh Paatsch
Herald Sun (Australia)
September 2, 2011
As sick and sorry as some of the outcomes prove to be in FD5, there can be no denying there is often some wild imagination and genuine inspiration in play.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/5
Kevin A. Ranson
August 31, 2011
The best all-around installment of the series (since the original) with an opening sequence that just misses rivaling the intro to the #2 freeway pileup.
Full Review | Original Score: 3.0/4.0
Anders Wotzke
August 30, 2011
Ironically enough, it's the journey, not the destination, that makes these movies so damn fun.
| Original Score: 4/5
Philip French
Observer (UK)
August 28, 2011
I have to admit it appealed to my wanton inner child, though if asked to name my favourite premonition movie it would be Ealing Studios' classic Dead of Night.
Anton Bitel
Little White Lies
August 27, 2011
Quale knows exactly how to toy with the expectations of his victims (and his viewers) before bringing down the fatal blow from an angle that no-one quite saw coming.What's more, he is not afraid to embrace 3D for the tawdry gimmick that it is
Eric Goldman
IGN Movies
August 26, 2011
Final Destination 5 is a much-improved installment for the series on the heels of the terrible fourth film, The Final Destination, and an example of getting what you pay for in a suitably satisfying manner.
Full Review | Original Score: 7/10
David Edwards
Daily Mirror (UK)
August 26, 2011
Works, and works well, thanks to some terrific droll humour and the best 3D to hit cinemas all year.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
Page 1 of 7