Final Fantasy: The Spirits Within - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Final Fantasy: The Spirits Within Reviews

Page 1 of 242
October 12, 2016
Fun watch. Deep movie at times.
August 16, 2016
This film is lacking a soul, and it's religious approach won't sit well with many. Stays bleak with few respites and leads to too many logic questions. Not impressed by the ending.
August 11, 2016
I felt different game and movie. And, I felt good to that found in the majority of sci-fi films.
July 26, 2016
What the hell was this
July 22, 2016
Great cast...gotta see this.
½ June 30, 2016
boring the main voice actress is just awful the story is unnecessarily dumb and confusing the animation is still semi impressive but is starting to become less and less neat
April 3, 2016
While Final Fantasy: The Spirits Within bears no resemblance to the video game series it's based on, the computer animation and visuals are so breathtaking to look at, dull plot or not, this flick looks incredible, but the overall film is just average
½ February 22, 2016
I love video games and animations and sci fi...this wasn't great, maybe because it's like an actual video game that it's slow and not enough dialogue like a game would be...but it's not the greatest sci fi film I've seen
February 14, 2016
Tutto sommato un esperimento ben riuscito dal punto di vista della realizzazione e di certo sarà un punto di partenza per chi in futuro vorrà  realizzare dei lungometraggi 3D fotorealistici.

La trama è un po' troppo semplicistica e l'adattamento italiano vi "spoilera" subito che i Phantom sono Fantasmi... :)
November 13, 2015
there is a reason why this the only video game movie to get a high rating it may not be like the video game we know from final Fantasy but it's a movie thats good on its own
November 6, 2015
Anyone else wondering where the chocobos are? Nevertheless the swords and other paraphernalia and lore that goes hand in hand with the RPG universe of Final Fantasy? I'll tell you where... No where. Why? It seems clear to me this movie wasn't made for Final Fantasy, but to push the lies and ideas of belief in Gaia and in pantheism spirituality that can not save. So millions of FF fans went and saw this crap and had their heads filled with false ideas, albeit, while wondering, "Where are the chocobos?" I first saw this film as a teen in the 90's when it hit theatres, and I must say, the CGI is INCREDIBLE for the time. But still, that can't change what this movie really was. And it also wasn't that enticing to watch and had a blandness to it throughout, in spite of so many big name actors doing voices. No need to watch again.
October 16, 2015
Just to see how bad it is!
August 13, 2015
I wouldn't normally review it with a perfect score, but I stand the critic Ebert here. This film is great, and while it's plot has some weaker points, I think it's still great. Most of the complaints feel unfounded here and it's a beautiful film. To paraphrase the main character in "Life is Strange" despite what everyone says, it is one of my favorite science fiction films ever.
½ July 10, 2015
Neither in the spirit of the video games nor entertaining in its own right.
June 23, 2015
this movie to that what is all final fantasy not so post to be, they could done better
June 7, 2015
Impressive animation, more so considering this was done in 2001, while the story is a let-down, bit too spiritual for a sci-fi.
June 3, 2015
It got a better story line other than "Game-based" movie i ever see, i watch this just a moment ago, this is really great, well, altough, the story isn't so great, and so anti clamatic, but there is a great teaching inside it (#WiseWord, lol), and yeah, the story line is known widely, but please do note, this was made in 2001, technology isn't at the peak like now days, with that animation, that was an epic movie back then, and one other thing i want to give not about,

If you look from the story, of course, story are all like this, drama,etc, BUT ! From a visual stand point, it is never seen before, i never saw a movie with this kind of view point, just to let you guys know my mind
May 21, 2015
Pasable y entretenida, discrepando de la saga videojugabilistica, claro.
Sin embargo, tiene un ritmo irregular y momentos tediosos de ver.
Aún así, es entretenida y tiene sus momentos memorables, o al menos, uno.
½ May 1, 2015
The movie raises the bar for computer effects and is yet another reason I question why people were so impressed by Avatar. It's very pretty but has nothing to do with the video game franchise which is sad because there were ten games of source material to use. It's long, dull and uninteresting so much so I just woke up from it and wrote this review.
April 25, 2015
Un gran paso para la animacion, pero un pasote hacia atrás de ser una cinta memorablemente recomendable.
Los personajes, siendo topicazos, son bien llevados a cabo, una OST bastante impecable y una accion espectacular.
El problema es la historia, que empieza bien, pero que desarrollándose, se va por direcciones cuestionables, siendo por momentos pretenciosa.
Como Película independiente, está OK.
Page 1 of 242