Find Me Guilty - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Find Me Guilty Reviews

March 31, 2006
It's hard to do anything in court that hasn't been done before. It's a static situation, and points are scored in tiny increments. No big witness-stand breakdowns, no tearful confessions. Thus, boredom creeps in.
Read More | Original Score: 2/5
March 31, 2006
If you didn't know you were watching Vin Diesel in Find Me Guilty, you wouldn't know you were watching Vin Diesel. And that's a compliment.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/4
March 29, 2006
[Lumet's] crowning masterpiece.
March 25, 2006
As Vin Diesel plays him in a likable, image-adjusting turn -- prosthetically fat, thick of Jersey accent -- Jackie (who died in 2004) was about as sweet as a career criminal can be.
Full Review | Original Score: B-
March 25, 2006
A film guilty off moral stupidity and misguided hero worship.
March 25, 2006
This movie by its nature is not thrilling, but it is very genuinely interesting, and that is rare.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
March 25, 2006
This may be the most Brechtian thing Lumet has ever done -- a movie that repeatedly challenges us to think and then to reconsider.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
March 24, 2006
Sitting through the belabored courtroom drama Find Me Guilty feels like a particularly prolonged session of jury duty.
Full Review | Original Score: 1/4
March 22, 2006
Excellent, polished, meticulously researched and entirely galvanizing.
March 20, 2006
For the first time in years Vin Diesel has a project that reminds us why he was tabbed to be a movie star in the first place.
March 20, 2006
Minor but well-crafted.
Read More | Original Score: 3/4
March 17, 2006
It falls short of vintage Lumet while playing to his strengths as an actor's director who's built a career on themes of moral ambivalence.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/4
March 17, 2006
Lumet is back on top of his game -- Find Me Guilty is his first feature after the awful 1999 remake of Gloria, and the reason is his strong grasp of characters who have a point of view.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/4
March 17, 2006
You can't build a modern-day Crucible out of one crook's refusal to rat out a bunch of pimps and loan sharks.
Read More | Original Score: 2/4
March 17, 2006
Belongs to the odd couple of Dinklage and Diesel, whose volatile performance finally proves he is much more than an action star.
Read More | Original Score: 3/4
March 17, 2006
It's one thing to project sympathetic qualities onto fictional gangsters like the Corleones and the Sopranos; it's another to make protagonists out of actual members of the Lucchese crime family.
Read More | Original Score: 2/4
March 17, 2006
As the case grinds on and we follow Jackie from his cramped cell to the airless courtroom we begin to feel as confined as the prisoner himself.
Read More | Original Score: 2/4
March 17, 2006
To the charge of squandering credibility despite being based on a true case: guilty.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/4
March 17, 2006
A pleasing return of sorts to Lumet's training in the early years of TV.
Read More | Original Score: 3/4
March 17, 2006
Lumet, who also has been in better form, tends to let the movie drag through a script that asks us to cheer the acquittal of 20 members of the Luchese crime family.
Read More | Original Score: C+
March 17, 2006
Slow, repetitive, flat and altogether wrongheaded, using suspect editing of a true story to make us celebrate a bunch of vicious crooks.
Full Review | Original Score: 1.5/4
March 17, 2006
Although Find Me Guilty presents Mr. Lumet and company in top form, the film does not belong in the top tier of the director's work. But in important moments, it touches that tier, and for that audiences will be grateful.
Full Review | Original Score: B
March 17, 2006
Starting in 1987, the Lucchese trial crawled on for a historic 21 months, and the movie feels like it lasts twice that long.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/4
March 16, 2006
Diesel isn't amusing, so he merely comes off as a showy actor in a bad wig.
Read More | Original Score: 2/5
March 16, 2006
Find Me Guilty, Mr. Lumet's first feature film in seven years, catches him near the top of his game.
Read More | Original Score: 4.5/5
March 16, 2006
It's best to approach Find Me Guilty as a showcase for Diesel, who is finally beginning to prove he's more than the next-generation Van Damme.
Read More | Original Score: 2.5/4
March 16, 2006
For all its ripped-from- the-headlines verisimilitude, Find Me Guilty sometimes feels like it should have been called Find Me My Cousin Vinny.
Read More | Original Score: 2.5/4
March 16, 2006
As Jackie, [Diesel's] the real surprise in what otherwise is a less than electrifying courtroom drama.
Read More | Original Score: 2.5/4
March 16, 2006
Peter Dinklage is excellent as the mob's chief lawyer.
Full Review | Original Score: B-
March 16, 2006
Diesel infuses the Lucchese family made man with a convincing cocktail of sweetness and rage.
March 16, 2006
Character-rich pic plays like vintage Lumet, mining the grim comedy from life-and-death legal wranglings in the manner of Dog Day Afternoon, Prince of the City and The Verdict.
March 16, 2006
Not the best work Lumet has done, but it's worthwhile viewing for anyone who likes gangsters, courtrooms, and what happens when the two are brought together.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
March 16, 2006
[Diesel's] groping around in the role, as with Jackie's clumsy attempts at courtroom decorum, gradually wears away resistance.
Read More | Original Score: 2.5/4
March 16, 2006
The whole thing might backfire were it not for Diesel's commanding performance, a tribute to Lumet's storied magic touch with actors if ever there was one.
March 16, 2006
A few good performances can't carry a sluggishly written and directed movie that you may want to rename Find Me an Exit.
Read More | Original Score: C-
March 15, 2006
It takes some time to accept the miscast Diesel in a role that even he'd probably concede would be a better fit for Pesci, but Diesel delivers his liveliest and funniest performance in ages.
Full Review | Original Score: B-
March 14, 2006
Find Me Guilty is overlong and often sitcomy, but it's also pleasantly old-school, with a tone, soundtrack, and even a title-card font that suggest a mellow but not senile Woody Allen.
March 9, 2006
Except for a scene with the electrifying Annabella Sciorra as Jackie's ex-wife, Diesel cuts up when he should cut deep.
Read More | Original Score: 2.5/4