First Man - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

First Man Reviews

Page 1 of 18
October 30, 2018
First Man starts grippingly but soon becomes crushingly orthodox, betraying Chazelle's tendency, as per his previous films, to want to over-literalise the moral of his stories
Full Review | Original Score: 2/5
November 7, 2018
As Chazelle peels back the layers of Neil's personality to expose his anguished headspace, the director simply has very little insight to share.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/5
October 8, 2018
... a scattershot examination on loneliness and American exceptionalism that can sometimes be thoughtful, sometimes dull, but mostly feels hollow.
October 12, 2018
The cinematic equivalent to a professor giving a creative art student a history assignment when you know good and well that he's better off doing art.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/5
November 5, 2018
The movie is okay, but I wanted a lot from the film...I don't want to take away from what they did, but I just couldn't get into it.
October 16, 2018
I'm a great admirer of the work and efforts of everyone involved in this film. I just don't think this is their finest moment-or 138 overly drawn out moments, to be exact.
October 9, 2018
It feels as though there's been a tonal misstep; someone didn't read the room properly. We don't need apolitical platitudes.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/5
October 12, 2018
The movie, with its apathetic whimper of a final scene reunion between Neil and Janet, is both grandiose and underwhelming. I left First Man less certain than ever about the actual practical worth of the U.S.'s moon landing.
October 12, 2018
The result is a film that replaces humanity with a cold nothingness, and unfortunately nothing fills that vacuum.
November 6, 2018
First Man bears the familiar curse of the biopic-it somehow feels both overlong and unsatisfying-and never quite escapes the shadow of The Right Stuff.
October 12, 2018
Everything about the story and presentation is big, so it's a bit disappointing that it all comes off a bit lifeless.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/4
September 12, 2018
The film can be best summed up as "bland": with bland performances in a bland looking film, it is blandly entertaining, and blandly inspiring
Full Review | Original Score: 2/5
September 15, 2018
First Man is a strange film to review because, on the one hand, I want to praise it for being a technical masterpiece but on the other, it lacks character development and emotion.
Full Review | Original Score: 6/10
September 19, 2018
Maybe twenty years ago, in the age of Titanic and Apollo 13, it would've been seen as groundbreaking. Nowadays, it's all a bit too stuffy and proper.
October 11, 2018
First Man has trouble balancing the toll it takes on astronauts with everything else and where there should be emotion, a sense of urgency, and some sense of pride, there is an emptiness.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/5
September 14, 2018
Gosling's natural charm, often on display in comedies, is again underutilized in favor of a macho blankness, and Chazelle's style is just as uninspired and detached, to often distasteful and manipulative effect.
September 14, 2018
Fails to launch.
Full Review | Original Score: C
September 11, 2018
May be gorgeous to look at, butthe film fails to capture how awe-inspiringsomething as epic as a trip to the moonmust have been.
Full Review | Original Score: 5/10
October 25, 2018
I left the IMAX theater with a splitting headache and took immediately to bed.
October 12, 2018
Ryan Gosling's impassive visage must have the gravitational pull of a black hole, because Chazelle can't seem to keep his camera from being pulled loose from its moorings and drawn in thisclose for more than one or two scenes at a time.
Full Review | Original Score: 1/5
Page 1 of 18