Le Couteau dans la plaie (Five Miles to Midnight) - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Le Couteau dans la plaie (Five Miles to Midnight) Reviews

Page 1 of 1
August 18, 2016
Anatole Litvak could not decide if he was directing a Hitchcockian Thriller about a mismatched couple with a bizarre get-rich-quick scheme or if he was directing a serious Drama with Thriller trappings about a mismatched couple and their deteriorating marriage. Lisa (Sophie Loren) married Bob (Anthony Perkins) when she was a young woman in economically-ravaged postwar Italy and he was an American GI who seemed to offer the world to her. Now the couple is in Paris and Lisa holds down a steady job at a high-end Parisian boutique while Bob drifts from job to job, listless and lacking the drive to succeed. Bob's boyish charms and good looks have opened a lot of doors but his immaturity, lack of resolve, and an irrational jealousy about his wife have closed a lot of doors. Lisa tells Bob she wants to leave him. Then he miraculously walks away from a plane crash whilst on route to Casablanca; the authorities think that Bob is among the dead and there is a life insurance policy that the widow can collect on and Bob convinces Lisa to do so, promising to get out of her life with the money. But Bob's anger, jealousy, and bad luck may sink the plan. A young American boy, Johnny (Tommy Nordon) spots Bob hiding in the apartment and an American reporter, David (Gig Young) becomes interested in Lisa and suspicious of her at the same time. Not a bad little film, but it wasn't anything I had not seen before in other Thrillers, I predicted the outcome well before it occurred.
½ October 31, 2015
OK crime drama rather sordid
jjnxn
Super Reviewer
January 27, 2013
Solid suspenser with a some surprises along the way.
March 11, 2012
i was kinda disappointed by this since it has the great sophia loren and anthony perkins. it's ok but nothing special
April 4, 2011
good thriller/drama sophia sparkles in B&W.
January 22, 2011
This was okay, i just couldn't accept the relationship between Loren and Perkins. I didn't find Perkins particularly intimidating either. This is a relatively well executed film but it feels more like a 'star vehicle' than anything else.
Super Reviewer
½ November 23, 2010
I was pleasantly surprised by this movie, it stars two of my favourite actors, and the story is really cool. It's dramatic, suspenseful, and exciting, but also funny. I highly recommend it.
November 4, 2010
Mismatched pair Loren and Perkins are not only mismatched as cast for this film but mismatched in their marriage. Black and white early 60's film. Still, a better movie than anything made after the year 2000.

Sophia Loren in her finest is made to act with limp, unromantic and anti-romantic Anthony Perkins, decidely the most love lost pair on the planet. Perkins is just about as weird and robot like a character it gets.


Set in Paris... A pushy, neurotic American (Anthony Perkins) convinces his terrified wife (Sophia Loren) to do a scam to collect his $120,000 life insurance when it's assumed that he has been killed in a plane crash. But there's a catch, of course...

Cast
Jean-Pierre Aumont
Sophia Loren
Anthony Perkins
Gig Young


Crew
Cinematographer: Henri Alekan
Director: Anatole Litvak
Producer: Anatole Litvak
Composer: Mikis Theodorakis
Screenplay: Peter Viertel
Producer: Louis Wipf
Screenplay: Hugh Wheeler
August 16, 2009
Great movie, great actors. An absolute must-see for fans of the genre, fans of Sophia Loren and fans of Anthony Perkins.
Super Reviewer
November 4, 2008
Wonderful cinematography and great acting from the beautiful Sophia. And Anthony Perkins was wonderfully eerie just like in Psycho... but a little toned down. This is a hidden gem! :)
Page 1 of 1