Flags of Our Fathers - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Flags of Our Fathers Reviews

Page 1 of 10
Burl Burlingame
Honolulu Star-Advertiser
July 5, 2011
Possibly the richest testament Hollywood has yet made about the paroxysm of World War II ... an astounding movie on every level, not the least of which is its common humanity.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/4
Fernando F. Croce
CinePassion
August 28, 2009
A human-sized contemplation of propaganda and fame
Top Critic
Roger Ebert
Chicago Sun-Times
November 30, 2007
Eastwood's two-film project is one of the most visionary of all efforts to depict the reality and meaning of battle.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/4
Joe Lozito
Big Picture Big Sound
July 14, 2007
Full Review | Original Score: 3.5/4
Dan Jardine
Apollo Guide
June 18, 2007
Reminds us of the great damage that can be done to society's most vulnerable by those blustering war mongers who are so very far away from the combat they are inciting.
| Original Score: 73/100
Anton Bitel
musicOMH.com
June 15, 2007
carefully dismantling one heroic archetype only to replace it with another, more nuanced one
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
Scott Weinberg
DVD Clinic
May 25, 2007
A pretty darn good, but not completely great, war movie that pays overdue homage to the WWII veterans who never made it home.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
David Nusair
Reel Film Reviews
March 10, 2007
...entertaining yet strangely forgettable...
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
Enrique Buchichio
Uruguay Total
February 12, 2007
Una fuerte y conmovedora película de guerra que es todo un alegato contra la irracionalidad, sobre todo la de los gobernantes que mezclan heroísmo con propaganda. Una nueva culminación de Clint Eastwood como director.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
Luis Martinez
Cinenganos
January 27, 2007
No hay tal cosa como los héroes...
Full Review | Original Score: 3.5/5
Ted Murphy
Murphy's Movie Reviews
January 11, 2007
Who would have thought that Clint Eastwood would emerge as one of the best and most interesting filmmakers of the early 21st Century? Given his track record, I certainly wouldn't have. But with FLAGS OF OUR FATHERS he has made a superb, if uneven, film.
Full Review | Original Score: B+
Jay Richardson
Future Movies UK
January 6, 2007
Full Review | Original Score: 7/10
Peter Bradshaw
Guardian
December 30, 2006
Flags of Our Fathers is touched by greatness. It argues that soldiers may go into battle for country and glory but they always end up fighting for the survival of themselves and their comrades.
Top Critic
Geoff Andrew
Time Out
December 30, 2006
Here, the feelings run very deep, and dark as dried blood, with Clint aware that some things don't need to be said and others shouldn't be shown.
Matthew Turner
ViewLondon
December 30, 2006
Impressively directed, superbly written and featuring strong performances, this is a compelling, thought-provoking and ultimately moving drama with a timely message.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
Peter Calder
New Zealand Herald
December 30, 2006
This elliptical structure demands and rewards close attention for the powerful ironies it illuminates: seeing actions lionised before we see the actions themselves, we confront the contrast between heroism's reality and its hokey facsimiles.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
Paul Arendt
BBC.com
December 30, 2006
It's an intelligent and sincere movie, if a little stodgy.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
Michael A. Smith
Nolan's Pop Culture Review
December 13, 2006
But it is Beach that gives the award worthy work here. As the tour goes on, Hayes begins drinking to the point of self destruction, anxious to get back to his unit and unsure why he has been selected to be away from the men he so badly wants to fight side
Full Review | Original Score: 4/4
Ian Nathan
Empire Magazine
November 29, 2006
Not as emotional as Million Dollar Baby, nor as astounding as Saving Private Ryan, but Eastwood remains the most astringent American filmmaker around.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
Stuart Klawans
The Nation
November 25, 2006
Flags of Our Fathers happens to be very good: intelligent, compelling, lovingly made and strikingly appropriate to our present moment in history.
Page 1 of 10