Flags of Our Fathers - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Flags of Our Fathers Reviews

Page 1 of 10
October 20, 2006
Full Review | Original Score: C
October 16, 2006
Clint creates a fascinating topography of hell here, and the amphibious landing is unrelenting... but the treacle is just as unrelenting, and takes up more screentime.
Full Review | Original Score: 6/10
October 19, 2006
There's a tremendous amount of material here, and the script covers too much of it, often confusingly.
Read More | Original Score: 2.5/4
October 23, 2006
The absence of a definable cinematic style in 'Flags of Our Fathers' goes hand in hand with a reluctance to say anything daring or controversial.
October 20, 2006
Flags of Our Fathers may well be an accurate depiction of war-zone tumult and its psychic wounds, but that does not make for a cogent narrative.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/4
October 16, 2006
A rambling mess of random war images mixed with sentimental recollections ... delivers a generic retelling of events, sampling liberally from other sources without offering anything new.
Full Review | Original Score: 5/10
October 19, 2006
Clint Eastwood is a great filmmaker, and the public relations campaign that helped turn around World War II is a great story, but the movie is deeply flawed.
Read More | Original Score: 2/4
October 19, 2006
A creaky history-class lecture.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/4
December 29, 2006
A 21st Century version of the state-sanctioned, pro-war propaganda designed to instill a sense of patriotism in the Baby Boom Generation back when they were still impressionable babies.
Full Review | Original Score: 1/4
October 21, 2006
A patriotic anti-war movie. Listening old men talk about war is not visually engaging.
Full Review
October 21, 2006
Despite handsome production values and a worthwhile subject, Flags of Our Fathers ultimately falls victim to the very hero worship it wishes to debunk.
Full Review | Original Score: C
October 22, 2006
A film that I expected to enjoy strikes me as 132 minutes of little more than diatribe and violence.
Full Review| Original Score: 4/10
October 19, 2006
This is underimagined and so thesis ridden that it's nearly over before it starts.
July 3, 2007
Witness to a great director's vision being slowly strangled by the work of a hired hack.
November 13, 2006
full review in Greek
Full Review | Original Score: 2/5
March 24, 2007
A quest to find the humanity behind the imagery of Iwo Jima that never gets beneath the skin to the real men who became heroes with a single camera shot.
January 13, 2007
Writers William Broyles Jr. and Paul Haggis believe that they are contrasting the men's lives with their heroic image. Sadly, what they present to the viewer is yet another fabricated image, and one that is equally false.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
October 19, 2006
Half bitter and harsh, half propagandistic and hagiographic, this is the love child of Saving Private Ryan and Pearl Harbor, too sentimental to be intellectually satisfying but too tart to serve as melodrama.
October 19, 2006
The insistence on the proliferation of jumping back and forth at will cuts through the heart of these men's stories and leaves us with only a dead horse that's beating.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/4
December 3, 2006
The movie ... debunks the [government's] use of the boys as symbols and then turns them back into symbols, though of something else. There's not a fully realized personality in 132 minutes.
Page 1 of 10