Flags of Our Fathers - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Flags of Our Fathers Reviews

November 30, 2007
Eastwood's two-film project is one of the most visionary of all efforts to depict the reality and meaning of battle.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/4
December 30, 2006
Here, the feelings run very deep, and dark as dried blood, with Clint aware that some things don't need to be said and others shouldn't be shown.
October 23, 2006
Flags of Our Fathers is an accomplished, stirring, but, all in all, rather strange movie.
October 23, 2006
[Flags] fits into Eastwood's late-in-life agenda -- to make violence, even in self-defense, seem soul-killing, and to expose the gulf between reality and myth. After this, how can we ever again make our peace with the iconography of war?
October 23, 2006
It feels disrespectful to say it, but this kind of war movie, like war itself, is starting to feel sickeningly familiar.
October 21, 2006
The full weight of a lifetime's experience has been brought to bear in the unobtrusive staging, the delicate score (by Eastwood himself), and a thoughtful, honest accounting of World War II's bloodiest and most iconic battle.
October 20, 2006
Clint Eastwood's Flags Of Our Fathers seems like a potent piece of revisionist history, boldly examining what heroism really means and how it can be manufactured for the "greater good."
Read More | Original Score: B-
October 20, 2006
If the larger vision in Flags is somewhat out of focus, there are many small glimpses and grace notes that show Eastwood's well-developed sense of the particular in revealing a larger truth.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
October 20, 2006
Once this World War II drama finds its footing -- and much of the film goes by before it does - it's extremely moving. At the end, a flag dances quietly in a whispering breeze, celebrating the film's real-life heroes as eloquently as any words.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
October 20, 2006
Flags of Our Fathers is as painstaking as a documentary but without the satisfaction of a documentary or the impact of a drama.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/4
October 20, 2006
Symbols can be moving and powerful summations of feelings. But they should never take the place of the truth.
Read More | Original Score: 5/5
October 20, 2006
The clichés undermine the power of the story.
Read More | Original Score: 2.5/4
October 20, 2006
Eastwood storms Mt. Oscar again with Flags of Our Fathers, a stirring ode to American heroism during the battle of Iwo Jima - which also pointedly dissects how that heroism was cynically packaged for public consumption.
Read More | Original Score: 4/4
October 20, 2006
In his no-nonsense style, the 76-year-old filmmaker is merely telling the story he was given.
Read More | Original Score: 3.5/4
October 20, 2006
If Flags of Our Fathers lacks human dimension, though, it certainly succeeds as an exploration of the nature of heroism.
Read More | Original Score: 2.5/4
October 20, 2006
Flags of Our Fathers may well be an accurate depiction of war-zone tumult and its psychic wounds, but that does not make for a cogent narrative.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/4
October 20, 2006
The case is strong; it's the casing, the film, that is uneven and redundant.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/4
October 20, 2006
There's some slight, indefinable lack to Flags of Our Fathers, some piece of missing brimstone that keeps it from setting the heart afire, leaving it a wholly admirable piece of filmmaking, but nothing more.
Full Review | Original Score: B-
October 20, 2006
Clint Eastwood has played his share of heroes in the movies. Yet when he directs, his films tend to look at the American legend-making machinery through a critical, squinting eye.
Read More | Original Score: 4/4
October 20, 2006
At 76, Eastwood continues to turn his back on his early image as one of the screen's meanest butt-kickers.
Read More | Original Score: B+
October 20, 2006
Some movies and their makers are essential to our understanding of ourselves. Eastwood has become such a director. With Flags, he once again proves he is filmmaker for what ails us but also for what can make us extraordinary.
Read More | Original Score: 3.5/4
October 20, 2006
Flags of Our Fathers is as handsome and gutsy as we want all our soldiers to be. That they can't always live up to our needs has more to do with us than with them.
Full Review | Original Score: A-
October 20, 2006
An American masterpiece. It is a searing and powerful work from a 76-year-old artist who remains at the top of his game.
Read More | Original Score: 4/4
October 20, 2006
It's a monumental subject, and this heartsick but diffuse movie only occasionally glimpses its entirety.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/4
October 19, 2006
The flaws in Flags of Our Fathers are at least partly attributable to Eastwood's attempts to do too much. Still, even when he overreaches, he somehow hits the mark.
October 19, 2006
His is a deeply affecting account, admittedly a sometimes muddy one, of the band of brothers in THE iconic photograph of World War II.
October 19, 2006
It is one of the year's best films and perhaps the finest modern film about World War II.
Read More | Original Score: 4/4
October 19, 2006
It can and will be seen as 'patriotic,' a tribute to the armed forces. But it is also, in its clear-eyed depiction of the chaos and carnage of battle, of the soldiers' quaking fear, and the cruel finality of a bullet or a bomb, very much an antiwar film.
Read More | Original Score: 3/4
October 19, 2006
Eastwood's skeptical film is respectful of the patriots who gave everything in the service of their country, but it pointedly leaves the flag-waving to others.
Read More | Original Score: 4/4
October 19, 2006
his sad true story wrings you out emotionally because it's concerned with both the deaths of young men in battle and what happens when the needs of those who survive clash with what society expects and politics demands.
Full Review | Original Score: 5/5
October 19, 2006
Clearly Eastwood wants the story of what happened to these men to resonate as much for our own era as for theirs. It's a movie about the toll that heroism extracts in a wartime culture ready-made for heroes.
Full Review | Original Score: B+
October 19, 2006
You could argue that the story is as much about the aftermath as the battle, but Eastwood still jumps around too much.
Read More | Original Score: 3/5
October 19, 2006
In his new film about the battle for Iwo Jima, Clint Eastwood says something new and urgent about the uses of war and of the men who fight.
Read More | Original Score: 3.5/5
October 19, 2006
Flags of Our Fathers stands with the best movies of this young century and the old one that preceded it: It's passionate, honest, unflinching, gripping, and it pays respects.
October 19, 2006
There's a tremendous amount of material here, and the script covers too much of it, often confusingly.
Read More | Original Score: 2.5/4
October 19, 2006
This is underimagined and so thesis ridden that it's nearly over before it starts.
October 19, 2006
As a storyteller, Eastwood has rarely seen a period that he couldn't transform into an ellipsis or exclamation mark.
Read More | Original Score: 2.5/4
October 19, 2006
Flags is classic Eastwood, filmed with weighty purpose and, often, skilled precision.
Read More | Original Score: B
October 18, 2006
In Flags of Our Fathers, Eastwood is here to tell us that the reality of World War II was scarier and darker than any inspirational photograph.
Full Review | Original Score: B-
October 18, 2006
In Flags of Our Fathers, the story behind that Iwo Jima image, Clint Eastwood has crafted a bold and meticulous epic.
October 18, 2006
An epic both raw and contemplative.
October 18, 2006
[Captures] the spirit of our time with its mixture of cynicism and idealism, irony and conviction, satiric skepticism and red-blooded patriotism.
October 18, 2006
Brilliantly conceived, articulately written, sensitively acted, filled with deeply penetrating emotions and breathtaking action, it is the greatest cinematic canvas of war since Saving Private Ryan.
October 18, 2006
Consistently the film is, while not exactly patriotic, at least respectful. And even though it focuses on a battle and a war that took place some 60 years ago, it remains all too resonant and relevant today.
October 18, 2006
At its best, Flags of Our Fathers is eye opening and though provoking.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
October 17, 2006
With Flags, Eastwood has made one of his best films -- a searching, morally complex deconstruction of the Greatest Generation that is nevertheless rich in the sensitivity to human frailty that has become his signature as a filmmaker.
October 16, 2006
Flags of Our Fathers is a film of awesome power and blistering provocation.
Read More | Original Score: 3.5/4
October 10, 2006
A pointed exploration of heroism -- in its actual and in its trumped-up, officially useful forms -- the picture welds a powerful account of the battle of Iwo Jima... with an ironic and ultimately sad look at its aftermath for three key survivors.
October 10, 2006
A complex, fascinating take on the concept of heroism in war.