Flaming Creatures - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Flaming Creatures Reviews

Page 1 of 1
March 16, 2015
For those interested in experimental filmmaking, Flaming Creatures can be called one of the most unorthodox ever made, its images ranging from the application of lipstick, to mass sexual violence, to vampirism.
½ January 15, 2015
Um. Best after a good smoke.
½ June 13, 2013
Historically important but extremely dated.
Super Reviewer
September 16, 2011
An ugly, tedious, amateurish film, composed of cavorting drag queens, random breast-squeezing and, oh yes, something resembling a tongue-in-cheek, tongue-in-pussy gang rape. The filmmaking is more about editing than direction -- a chaotic collage of handheld close-ups. Though "Flaming Creatures" is only 42 minutes, I can't imagine sitting through it without taking at least one cleansing break. I needed about 10, myself.

If you automatically applaud any movie that depicts the homosexual lifestyle, shows genitals or looks like it was made for $20, don't miss this.
½ December 6, 2010
Enormously controversial film at the time of its release, Flaming Creatures will certainly still stir a few eyebrows and is definitely not for the whole family. However, Jack Smith's surreal tale of transvestites and women is truly an interesting piece of experimental filmmaking. What there is of a story depicts the creatures (various men in drag and ladies) who practice putting on lipstick, then an orgy of sorts ensues - Oriental music turns to screams. There is also a dance sequence. Smith's camera operates depending on the frenzy of the situation and will often be reminiscent of the overhead Busby Berkeley shots from the 1930s musicals. There is just about every body part scattered on the screen of these free spirits - living life far differently than the expected norm at the time. Not for everyone, but very much worth seeing for any cinephile.
Super Reviewer
November 24, 2010
I hated this stupid experimental movie, I had to watch it for a class. That's an hour I'll never get back. Anyway, it's slow and boring and annoyingly redundant. I don't recommend it.
October 12, 2010
If you can make sense of this movie, you've gotta be a weirdo! Okay, I'll admit, I created a story in my head while watching it, but that doesn't mean I enjoyed this movie. I hate experimental movies, I watched this for a class. I found this movie slow, annoying, and repetitive. For some reason some people like that.
July 21, 2010
Jack Smith's infamous 42 minute barrage of transvestites, drag shows, hermaphrodites, breasts, flaccid penises, drug orgies and a cunnilingual rapist that influenced a slew of filmmakers from John Waters to Guy Maddin. Most people call it pretentious and pointless. I found it to be sexually absurd, so therefore quite brilliant.
March 14, 2010
Ha, ha... they really have this ... gosh, whatta bad cult film. To say its "weird, experimental & homocentric" is putting it lightly lol. See it to say you have.
February 4, 2010
Manages to feel like both a life-affirming pagan celebration and the end of civilization as we (plain folks) know it.
December 20, 2009
WEB. Hay una que otra imagen o composición interesante, y es interesante en su reto a las convenciones y reinvención de algunos símbolos, pero, en general, es una pequeña tortura. / There are interesting images and compositions here and there, and it's interesting how it challenges conventions and reinvents some symbols, but, in general, it is a bit of a torture.
September 22, 2009
Well, it saddens me actually that there might have been a period in human history that this thing could be called ART.

It's all fine and in track with the "psychedelia of the '60s" but that died a horrible death and so should the copies of this film :PPPP
February 27, 2009
What a fascinating film. Though it's hard to tell what was intended and what was "ineptitude leading to brilliance," some of the compositions are incredible and the music choices are inspired. It's playful - though the rape scene was a little uncomfortable - and I'm always a fan of films considered obscene by court officials.
February 25, 2009
It's art! It's porn! It's penises and lipstick!
September 13, 2008
"Is there a lipstick that doesn't come off when you suck cock?

John Waters definitely loves this film, with its transvestite vampires, drag queens, and grotesque orgies of flaccid penises and bouncing breasts, all shot on poor filmstock.
August 3, 2008
very wanky and random, but very enjoyable at bits. i particularly like the scene where everybody is applying lipstick... you can imagine how transgressive films like this could have been in those days. apparently the police came in to stop the viewing!
Page 1 of 1