Flesh for the Beast - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Flesh for the Beast Reviews

Page 1 of 2
½ January 16, 2013
A crappy retread of a Shining or House on Haunted Hill, among many other similar themed movies. Flesh for the Best only offers an awesome Buckethead score that is a mix of Death Cube K sounding and his classic riffs and shreds. The acting is bad, script sucks, and the makeup is weak. Decent blood though. Only thing that works is the Buckethead score and the Deli Creeps song in the closing credits.
May 30, 2012
Awful acting in this thin-skinned splatter flick.
April 30, 2012
The good things about this movie (gore and nudity) are ultimately snuffed out by bad acting, forgettable characters, bad editing and too many moments that should have been scary, but were just awkward and dull.
November 5, 2011
This place makes Amityville look like a spinning tea cup ride

Six paranormal experts arrive at an old house to begin their studies. They have limited resources but an abundance of expertise. Shortly after arriving in the house they are confronted by a host of ghosts that utilize temptation to lure the experts to their deaths.

"It's a house. Nothing more."

Terry West delivers Flesh of the Beast in his major motion picture directorial debut. The storyline for this picture is fairly standard for the haunted house genre. There isn't anything overly original; however, the kill sequences and gore elements were entertaining. The quality of film and special effects is limited and the acting is well below average. The cast includes Jane Scarlett, Sergio Jones, and Clarke Beasley.

"Just lay back and enjoy the ride."

I watched this movie as part of a Grondhouse box set and was surprised with several aspects of this film. This definitely is not a "good movie," but it does have some "so bad it is good" elements that kept it entertaining. This is a movie worth watching if you are in the mood to watch a bad horror picture.

"Does a hallucination feel like this?"

Grade: C-
June 25, 2011
Just when I thought movies couldn't be so bad....this was hard to get through and not laugh and crack jokes at....
May 27, 2011
Dive head first into this campy low budget horror with plenty of humor and guts! As a men fall victim to a group of succubus' in a mansion. Stellar soundtrack from guitar genius Buckethead.
May 12, 2010
Last night was the fatal night, finally. I watched Flesh For The Beast.

It had been skulking around in the shadows of my to-watch pile for a very long time. Every time I'd considered putting it on, something had happened to stop me. Call it fate, call it coincidence, call it some shade of luck - something had stopped me. Until now.

I will summarise the film first, in neutral terms -

A group of psychic investigators are invited to cleanse a notorious haunted house by its reclusive wealthy owner. Many previous teams have tried and failed, at his behest (the trying, not the failure) - but this team is hopeful of success because of their newest member - a young woman with unusually powerful clairvoyant abilities.

The house's owner warns them that some of the manifestations of the spirit that infests the house have been remarkably harsh - perhaps worse than they might have had to deal with before.

It's a bit like Most Haunted.

Something else that I knew about it, that the casual viewer might not be privvy to, was that it was a low-budget horrorific splat-fest, from a production team previously known for ridiculous soft-core porn - titles including The Lord of the G-Strings: The Femaleship of the String and The Sexy Sixth Sense.

Undeterred (like a fool), I continued.

The film is officially 89 minutes long, and yet somehow watching it took about four hours. I cannot understand this at all - unless it is some insidious effect of the spiritual manifestations. Or because time seems to dilate and expand when under the influence of massive levels of tedium.

Flesh For The Beast is terribly, indescribably, dull.

The house is inhabited by a group of irresistibly sexy, wanton succubi - female demons who prey on idiotic men through manipulating their helpless sexual desires. The house's owner is in league with these evil creatures, providing group after group of psychics for them to feed on, under the pretence of ridding the house of its haunting.

Oh, that's a spoiler.

So is this: the young psychic girl is one of these she-demons too!

So, you make a low-budget horror film about irresistibly sexy devil women. You need them to seduce male characters and then rend them to giblets and bits. I suggest that you might not simply choose the first actresses prepared to get their fannies out and play in fake blood. Perhaps you might want to be patient during casting, and see if you could audition some actresses who were actually attractive. And if not attractive, at least not weirdly unpleasant-looking.

These evil women were annoying and unappealing. And preposterously, somehow became even less enticing once they'd thrown off their clothes to display the butcher's window to the hapless blokes. Really horrible.

Perhaps that's a little unfair to criticize?

Well, this isn't: Flesh For The Beast is badly-scripted, badly-shot, badly-edited, badly-lit, badly-acted, hopelessly dreary, non-frightening, ugly, irritating and just hard to watch.

There is a lot of blood and gore on display, but to be honest with you, by the time it really started spraying across the screen I was deep into fast-forward territory. Otherwise I feared the rotten film might simply never end. Ever.

Some truly bizarre scenes caused me to resume normal-speed playback on occasion though. Including one almost-indescribable sequence of naked ugly women with horrible tits carousing in the entrails and bits of some slain victims. It looked exactly how a video for the 80s rock band Heart would have looked, if they'd released a single called "I can't wait to repeatedly rub your spilled guts all up my tits."

Exactly like that.

This film is useless. Please don't watch it, anybody.

Proper shit.




The only rating appropriate is: 2
½ April 20, 2010
A film which describes its self as featuring "sexy demons", "a horde of slaughtering zombies", "Special appearances by Caroline Munro and Aldo Sanbrell" and "Music by Buckethead".

Some of the music is indeed by Buckethead. One song which gets repeated every so often and consists of Buckethead shouting "Flesh for the beast!" over and over.

As for the special appearances I had no idea who Caroline Munro and Aldo Sanbrell were but after a Google search I found out Caroline Munro is an actress that has played in many older horror films and a James Bond film. However in Flesh for the Beast she plays a very small role as gypsy lady. As for Aldo Sanbrell it turns out it's actually the actor of spaghetti westerns Aldo SaMbrell. It's rather shameful to misspell the name of your special appearance on your front cover.

Speaking of the front cover, despite it being obviously heavily photoshopped I'm sure the three women shown aren't actually in the film. There are three women in the film but they don't look anything like the women on the cover.

The story starts of a bit like House on a Haunted Hill. A creepy man invites a group of people (one of which looks a lot like the Candyman) to a house with a dark history. These guests are parapsychologists and set off individually to investigate the house. Soon enough they start getting killed off one by one. This is where the "sexy demons" appear. As succubus like creatures the seduce a man and then kill him. Sadly it's really not as arousing as it sounds. There is also a subplot about an amulet running through the story.

As for the "horde of slaughtering zombies" it's actually five ghosts which appear and disappear without doing anything.

The death scenes were all right. There were one or two plot twists which were fun but over all Flesh for the Beast is an average low budget horror film.
½ March 26, 2010
Bad cult classic gory soft-core horror flick. Owned on DVD.
November 30, 2009
Much better than I expected schlock that crosses Ghosthunters with naked demons and the occult in a very unique, Grindhouse-style presentation. Something spooky is going on at old Alfred Fischer's mansion (where he unleashed demonic succubi women years before) and now a bunch of parapsychologists go investigating throughout the house until, of course, they are ripped to shreds. Good for the never-ending amounts of titties, ass and bush that flows wildly beside massive amounts of gore and bad acting. Director Terry West specialized in crappy cinemax softcore porn (Lord of the G-Strings, anyone), but he really steps it up a notch (though this will not seem that more to the common moronic movie watcher) and really delivers a film that genuinely looks and feels as though it were made in the 70's era of devil films and had since been lost for a long time, until finally being uncovered in 2003. The acting is a bit shoddy, but is that really such a big surprise. It makes up for it with lots of unique and off the wall scenes. Kudos to the filmmakers for getting Buckethead (of all people) to do the soundtrack for this film. Fun stuff. If you aren't a fan of 70's Grindhouse-style horror films, please don't watch this or you'll bring the movies ratings down with your nonsensical rating.
August 9, 2009
Mmmmh le bon telefilm des annees 80 !

Une equipe de Ghostbusters se fait dessouder dans une maison hantee.

Tres vide, tres creux, tres chiant.
July 21, 2009
The acting ranges from awful to adequate, the production is clearly low budget, needlessly gory and very fake at that. It's just stupid.
½ July 21, 2009
The acting ranges from awful to adequate, the production is clearly low budget, needlessly gory and very fake at that. It's just stupid.
½ July 9, 2009
A NY Times reviewer gave this a positive review. Goes to show, you just have to make your own conclusions. I saw this back in 2003 and there's inexplicably a manga out that is loosly relataed to the film, so it made me look at this again. I wish I hadn't.
How they got classic italian/cult classic actors like Caroline Munro and Aldo Sambrell - I have no idea.
This is your basic group of supernatural investigators come to a old mansion and get off'ed one by one, only here its flesh eating succubi. It just doesn't entertain enough, and I can't see the comparisons to Fulci movies that I've been reading about in certain reviews. The DVD does have a trailer for Blood Feast 2 by Herschel Gordon Lewis (40 years later!), which I now want to see!
May 27, 2009
A haunted house film set in an old occult brothel that fuses gore together tons of nudity due to demons of former hookers that inhabited the house. Ultiamtely, not a very good film, but somewhat entertaining in its awfulness. A terrible looking film filled with terrible acting, but still kind of fan for fans of crappy horror films.
February 21, 2009
Terribly disappointing.
½ February 18, 2009
Ugh, one of those five dollar movies that looks promising but disappoints. This is no different from any of those other crappy haunted house, demon type movies.
November 19, 2008
I have been wanting to see this forever.
½ November 9, 2008
A crappy retread of a Shining or House on Haunted Hill, among many other similar themed movies. Flesh for the Best only offers an awesome Buckethead score that is a mix of Death Cube K sounding and his classic riffs and shreds. The acting is bad, script sucks, and the makeup is weak. Decent blood though. Only thing that works is the Buckethead score and the Deli Creeps song in the closing credits.
½ October 5, 2008
I really enjoyed the score by Buckethead, but other than that, there wasn't much else to enjoy. The nudity was good, but it felt too soft core porn-esque. I liked the succubi stuff, but it was just done wrong.
Page 1 of 2