Flirting - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Flirting Reviews

Page 1 of 2
August 8, 2012
An absolute gem, and a treat not to be missed.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
August 8, 2012
An intelligently written and marvelously acted coming-of-age tale set in rural Australia in the 1960s.
Full Review | Original Score: 3.5/4
August 8, 2012
Truthful and compassionate.
August 8, 2012
Not only worthy of its fine predecessor, this tender, perceptive, and gorgeously acted memory piece may even surpass it in subtlety, feeling, and depth of characterization.
March 26, 2009
Miles ahead of the average teen film, Flirting is a most agreeable sequel to John Duigan's earlier pic The Year My Voice Broke.
June 21, 2007
Animation is used here clearly to allow the story to be told with a certain amount of distance, yet the constant shift in tone and introduction of video elements keeps the film intensely unsettling.
Full Review | Original Score: A-
August 30, 2004
Mr. Duigan avoids melodrama, which is all to the good. Yet his gift for the acutely observed commonplace detail is neither strong nor original enough to transform the movie into something comparable to so many similar, better films.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/5
December 27, 2002
A truly memorable coming-of-age romance.
| Original Score: 5/5
October 10, 2002
An offbeat charmer
| Original Score: 4/5
September 18, 2002
Nowhere near as novel as The Year My Voice Broke....but still worthwhile
| Original Score: 3/5
August 21, 2002
Puts on display director John Duigan's knack for conveying the universal anguish of adolescence
July 25, 2002
Surprisingly endearing and frequently funny.
| Original Score: 3/5
January 1, 2000
Flirting is one of those rare movies with characters I cared about intensely. I didn't simply observe them on the screen, I got involved in their decisions and hoped they made the right ones.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/4
January 1, 2000
This kind of emotional precision -- that is, this ability to make the subtlest psychological distinctions -- is a rare gift, and Duigan gets full mileage out of it.
January 1, 2000
If Duigan maintains the dark yet humanistic humor that has graced both films, we should all be back for more.
January 1, 2000
The formulaic script finally had something to say toward the end.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/4
January 1, 2000
If you're feeling nostalgic for the high of a first love, or you're just plain high on love, anyway, then see Flirting. It will give you the warm fuzzy that you've been looking for.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
January 1, 2000
Writer-director John Duigan has come up with witty, intelligent dialogue and elicits incredibly natural performances from his young stars.
June 29, 2005
Read More | Original Score: 3/5
March 2, 2003
Read More | Original Score: 3/5
Page 1 of 2