Flirting - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Flirting Reviews

Page 1 of 2
Phillipa Bloom
Empire Magazine
August 8, 2012
An absolute gem, and a treat not to be missed.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5

TV Guide
August 8, 2012
An intelligently written and marvelously acted coming-of-age tale set in rural Australia in the 1960s.
Full Review | Original Score: 3.5/4

August 8, 2012
Truthful and compassionate.
Top Critic
Jonathan Rosenbaum
Chicago Reader
August 8, 2012
Not only worthy of its fine predecessor, this tender, perceptive, and gorgeously acted memory piece may even surpass it in subtlety, feeling, and depth of characterization.
Top Critic
Variety Staff
March 26, 2009
Miles ahead of the average teen film, Flirting is a most agreeable sequel to John Duigan's earlier pic The Year My Voice Broke.
Jason Gorber
Film Scouts
June 21, 2007
Animation is used here clearly to allow the story to be told with a certain amount of distance, yet the constant shift in tone and introduction of video elements keeps the film intensely unsettling.
Full Review | Original Score: A-
Emanuel Levy
June 29, 2005
| Original Score: 3/5
Jeffrey M. Anderson
San Francisco Examiner
March 2, 2003
| Original Score: 3/5
Josh Ralske
All Movie Guide
February 2, 2003
| Original Score: 4/5
Philip Martin
Arkansas Democrat-Gazette
January 24, 2003
| Original Score: 3/5
Cheryl DeWolfe
Apollo Guide
December 31, 2002
Full Review | Original Score: 81/100
Jon Niccum
Lawrence Journal-World
December 27, 2002
A truly memorable coming-of-age romance.
| Original Score: 5/5
Rob Blackwelder
November 13, 2002
| Original Score: 3/5
James Sanford
Kalamazoo Gazette
October 10, 2002
An offbeat charmer
| Original Score: 4/5
Clint Morris
September 18, 2002
Nowhere near as novel as The Year My Voice Broke....but still worthwhile
| Original Score: 3/5
Frederic and Mary Ann Brussat
Spirituality and Practice
August 21, 2002
Puts on display director John Duigan's knack for conveying the universal anguish of adolescence
Scott Weinberg
July 25, 2002
Surprisingly endearing and frequently funny.
| Original Score: 3/5
Top Critic
Roger Ebert
Chicago Sun-Times
January 1, 2000
Flirting is one of those rare movies with characters I cared about intensely. I didn't simply observe them on the screen, I got involved in their decisions and hoped they made the right ones.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/4
Top Critic
Hal Hinson
Washington Post
January 1, 2000
This kind of emotional precision -- that is, this ability to make the subtlest psychological distinctions -- is a rare gift, and Duigan gets full mileage out of it.
Top Critic
Desson Thomson
Washington Post
January 1, 2000
If Duigan maintains the dark yet humanistic humor that has graced both films, we should all be back for more.
Page 1 of 2