Flirting With Disaster - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Flirting With Disaster Reviews

Page 1 of 3
June 2, 2016
An immaculately constructed Rube Goldberg device that accumulates comic energy and speed as it reaches its finale, built from social and emotional hypocrisies we use to try and paper over our vices. It's what Russell does now, only far less serious.
Full Review | Original Score: 4.5/5
April 9, 2016
It's a road movie, and a family comedy, and neurotic Woody Allen-style rom-com, but none of those crisp, compact boxes can properly contain this wild, strange, unruly picture.
September 7, 2011
David O. Russell has a twisted mind; I like that in a man.
Full Review | Original Score: B
March 26, 2009
This whacked-out road comedy about a young man's search for his real parents takes any number of unexpected turns, most of them bitingly funny.
February 13, 2008
Entertainment for the whole dysfunctional family.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
June 27, 2006
Boasting a clever title, this is an inspired piece of lunacy about sociology versus biology, with terrific performances from Ben Stiller and his two sets of parents.
Full Review | Original Score: B+
May 26, 2006
When I caught this modern-day screwball comedy in theaters I didn't think much of it, and it's even less appealing now.
Top Critic
January 26, 2006
The neurotic frenzy threatens to annoy, but Russell's edgy, abbreviated style generates farcical comic friction without sacrificing character.
August 14, 2004
One Stiller movie I actually enjoyed.
| Original Score: 3/5
July 30, 2004
If Russell is erratic with plot and the slightest bit smug in attitude, he makes up for these flaws by drawing fun, inspired performances from his ace cast.
Full Review | Original Score: B-
July 1, 2004
Avoiding the safety of the PC blanket, David O. Russell has crafted a canny, crafty and altogether adorable little misfit of a movie.
Full Review | Original Score: 4.5/5
June 5, 2004
Sounds like a French farce, you say? Well, you got that right. And it's just as entertaining.
April 2, 2004
Outstanding, uproariously funny dark comedy
| Original Score: 5/5
March 9, 2004
Um elenco afiado, personagens atípicos e situações bizarras contribuem para tornar este filme uma comédia surpreendentemente eficaz.
| Original Score: 4/5
July 25, 2003
Excellent comedy. You can just feel how good intentions turn disastrous.
| Original Score: 4/5
April 11, 2003
Not exactly bad. Actually, an okay way to spend 90 minutes of your life.
| Original Score: 3/5
April 4, 2003
A brilliant, underrated comedy, featuring one of the more inspired comic screenplays in recent years. It established David O. Russell as a major voice in Hollywood.
Read More | Original Score: 4/5
February 3, 2003
Stiller's never been better as an actor.
Read More | Original Score: 4/5
September 18, 2002
A riot from start to finish. You'll laugh so hard you'll cry!
| Original Score: 3/5
September 10, 2002
The film isn't particularly deep, but it's well written, well acted, and often laugh-out-loud funny.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
Page 1 of 3