Fly Me to the Moon - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Fly Me to the Moon Reviews

Page 2 of 4
Wendy Ide
Times (UK)
October 3, 2008
No matter how superficially amusing the title or how appealing the animated characters (not very, to be honest), the fact remains that we are expected to empathise with flies. The animators even try to make maggots cute.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/5
Top Critic
Derek Adams
Time Out
October 3, 2008
And while it may not teach sprogs anything about insects - these ones have human eyes and four limbs - director Ben Stassen has made a fair fist of portraying the Apollo mission with some accuracy.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/6
Nick De Semlyen
Empire Magazine
October 3, 2008
Believe the bad buzz on this houseflies-become-astronauts CG animation, which is lousy with lazy jokes and irritating characters.
Full Review | Original Score: 1/5
Anton Bitel
September 26, 2008
Few would claim there are no flies on this one, but at least the outstanding 3D effects are some compensation for the dumbed-down inanity of everything else.
Jim Schembri
The Age (Australia)
September 19, 2008
3-D has yet to shake its cheese factor, though, to the credit of director Ben Stassen, an Imax movie pioneer, the new digital process often works with popcorn-dropping effect.
Full Review | Original Score: 3.5/4
Loey Lockerby
Kansas City Star
August 22, 2008
Fly Me to the Moon is the first animated feature made specifically for the 3-D format. If this were not the case, it would have gone straight to DVD. Everything else about it is as lazy and dull as the latest cheap Pixar knockoff.
| Original Score: 1.5/4
Gary Thompson
Philadelphia Daily News
August 21, 2008
The story is inoffensively wholesome, and there may be enough goofy antics to engage young, indiscriminate viewers, but the level of creativity in the animation is serviceable at best.
Full Review | Original Score: C
Jim Lane
Sacramento News & Review
August 21, 2008
The 3-D effects are nice enough, but they can't make up for a dull story, stock characters (making them flies doesn't make them any more original) and cheap-looking animation.
| Original Score: 2/5
Top Critic
Nathan Lee
New York Times
August 19, 2008
Fly Me to the Moon bills itself as the first animated feature created expressly for 3-D. Too bad it wasn't created expressly for, you know, pleasure or art.
| Original Score: 2/5
Top Critic
Richard Roeper
Ebert & Roeper
August 18, 2008
You can skip it in all three dimensions.
Top Critic
Amy Nicholson
Los Angeles CityBeat
August 16, 2008
Has two advantages over rival Space Chimps: it's marginally smarter and in 3-freaking-D. These are watery compliments for a pleasant, unassuming film.
| Original Score: C+
Sean P. Means
Salt Lake Tribune
August 15, 2008
The idiotic story and low-rent animation will bore children to tears.
| Original Score: 1/4
Brandon Fibbs
Colorado Springs Gazette
August 15, 2008
Fly Me to the Moon is not a great movie. It's not even a good movie. It some ways, it's barely passable. Yet my litany of criticisms will fall on deaf ears - so long as those ears are attached to children roughly 5 to 10 years old.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/10
Top Critic
Linda Barnard
Toronto Star
August 15, 2008
Adults used to animation that runs on two tracks -- the upfront stuff for the tykes and a witty subtext to entertain big people -- may grow bored with the kid-leaning sensibility of Fly Me to the Moon.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/4
Chris Hewitt (St. Paul)
St. Paul Pioneer Press
August 15, 2008
Even Space Chimps was better.
| Original Score: 1/4
Top Critic
Roger Moore
Orlando Sentinel
August 15, 2008
It's not accurate history and doesn't have enough funny lines or bits to hold most adults' interest.
| Original Score: 2/5
Top Critic
Tasha Robinson
AV Club
August 15, 2008
The cinematic equivalent of safety scissors -- all softened edges and no real point.
| Original Score: D
Top Critic
Rafer Guzman
August 15, 2008
The animation is so stiff it makes South Park look like Walt Disney's Fantasia.
Full Review | Original Score: 1/4
Top Critic
Linda Stasi
New York Post
August 15, 2008
If only the first-ever animated 3-D movie had as great a story line as it does 3-D animation, we could have all gone to the movies this weekend and had a wonderful time.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/4
Jackie Loohauis
Milwaukee Journal Sentinel
August 15, 2008
Delightful enough to earn the buzz.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
Page 2 of 4