Fly Me to the Moon - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Fly Me to the Moon Reviews

Page 1 of 5
August 30, 2011
It is a family story meant for younger viewers, and passes by without too much effort.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/5
August 17, 2017
Fly Me to the Moon represents a leap forward in 3-D moviemaking. Let's hope the next completely 3-D animated movie picks a more exciting tale to tell.
Full Review | Original Score: C
August 15, 2008
It's not accurate history and doesn't have enough funny lines or bits to hold most adults' interest.
Read More | Original Score: 2/5
August 15, 2008
If they can put a man on the moon, why can't they tell a better story about sending some flies along for the ride?
Read More | Original Score: C
August 15, 2008
The vocal characterizations aren't the problem here; the script and the animation are the problems, and in feature animation, you can't arrange more significant problems than those.
Read More | Original Score: 1/4
August 18, 2008
You can skip it in all three dimensions.
August 15, 2008
Even Space Chimps was better.
Read More | Original Score: 1/4
September 26, 2008
Few would claim there are no flies on this one, but at least the outstanding 3D effects are some compensation for the dumbed-down inanity of everything else.
October 3, 2008
This 3D animation about a trio of pesky houseflies hitching a ride on Apollo 11 will give you a buzz only if you've missed the last 15 years of superior animations.
Full Review | Original Score: 1/5
August 12, 2008
Fly Me to the Moon is in 3D because, without the glasses-required effects, not even a three-year-old would sit through it.
Full Review | Original Score: 1/4
August 14, 2008
Dull dialogue, a dull story, and dull animation. What's left?
Full Review | Original Score: D+
August 15, 2008
[On 3-D effects] I heard more than one gasp from the audience and then embarrassed laughter. The next sound I heard was half an hour later. It was snoring. My own.
Full Review | Original Score: 1/5
August 10, 2008
If your kid has never seen a 3D movie, this isn't a bad start, especially if they're younger. The look is great, but the movie is just bland.
Full ReviewRead More | Original Score: 2/4
August 7, 2008
this celebration of a giant leap for mankind is really just a small, insignificant step for film fans.
| Original Score: 1.5/5
August 12, 2008
While it's hard to recommend it on purely creative merit, I suppose it would be a wonderful thing if these silly flies ended up pushing kids to investigate space travel and the legacy of NASA. Unlikely, but it's more comforting than fart and burp jokes.
Full Review | Original Score: C-
August 21, 2008
The 3-D effects are nice enough, but they can't make up for a dull story, stock characters (making them flies doesn't make them any more original) and cheap-looking animation.
Read More | Original Score: 2/5
August 13, 2008
Not even very young kids will be over the moon.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/5
August 14, 2008
These flies drift lethargically from place to place, and the movie bogs down in their lackadaisical pace.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/4
August 15, 2008
The film's respect for its source material goes only so far before reducing everything to the level of an old-style Saturday-morning cartoon, complete with stock characters finding themselves in stock situations.
Read More | Original Score: C
August 14, 2008
A disgracefully vapid and horrendously ugly work that makes the likes of "Doogal" or "Happily N'Ever After" look like "Pinocchio" and "WALL-E" by comparison.
Full Review | Original Score: 1/5
Page 1 of 5