Fly Me to the Moon - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Fly Me to the Moon Reviews

November 16, 2011
Read More | Original Score: 1/5
September 7, 2011
Full Review | Original Score: B-
October 18, 2008
Full Review | Original Score: C
October 18, 2008
It's clear that animators can now achieve levels of visual depth that were previously impossible.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
October 18, 2008
As for the space stuff, well, George Lucas need not lose any sleep.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/4
October 18, 2008
A tougher endurance test than anything NASA could cook up.
Read More | Original Score: 2/4
October 3, 2008
And while it may not teach sprogs anything about insects - these ones have human eyes and four limbs - director Ben Stassen has made a fair fist of portraying the Apollo mission with some accuracy.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/6
August 19, 2008
Fly Me to the Moon bills itself as the first animated feature created expressly for 3-D. Too bad it wasn't created expressly for, you know, pleasure or art.
Read More | Original Score: 2/5
August 18, 2008
You can skip it in all three dimensions.
August 16, 2008
Has two advantages over rival Space Chimps: it's marginally smarter and in 3-freaking-D. These are watery compliments for a pleasant, unassuming film.
Read More | Original Score: C+
August 15, 2008
Adults used to animation that runs on two tracks -- the upfront stuff for the tykes and a witty subtext to entertain big people -- may grow bored with the kid-leaning sensibility of Fly Me to the Moon.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/4
August 15, 2008
It's not accurate history and doesn't have enough funny lines or bits to hold most adults' interest.
Read More | Original Score: 2/5
August 15, 2008
The cinematic equivalent of safety scissors -- all softened edges and no real point.
Read More | Original Score: D
August 15, 2008
The animation is so stiff it makes South Park look like Walt Disney's Fantasia.
Full Review | Original Score: 1/4
August 15, 2008
If only the first-ever animated 3-D movie had as great a story line as it does 3-D animation, we could have all gone to the movies this weekend and had a wonderful time.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/4
August 15, 2008
Strictly one-dimensional in terms of characters and storytelling.
Read More | Original Score: 1.5/4
August 15, 2008
The 3-D animation work in Fly Me to The Moon is brisk and sweet.
Full Review | Original Score: B-
August 15, 2008
Mildly educational and not all that entertaining.
August 15, 2008
The superior effects in Fly Me to the Moon reflect the talents of its creator, director Ben Stassen, who has been doing 3D for 14 years, mostly for science centers and museums.
Full Review | Original Score: B-
August 15, 2008
For the first time in my experience, a 3-D movie felt bigger than my ability to take it all in.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/4
August 15, 2008
The vocal characterizations aren't the problem here; the script and the animation are the problems, and in feature animation, you can't arrange more significant problems than those.
Read More | Original Score: 1/4
August 15, 2008
If they can put a man on the moon, why can't they tell a better story about sending some flies along for the ride?
Read More | Original Score: C
August 15, 2008
Full Review | Original Score: 2/5
August 14, 2008
Viewers who are old enough to eat without a bib are unlikely to find much of interest in the procession of puns and generic zero-gravity gags that fill out the film's running time.
Full Review | Original Score: 1.5/4
August 13, 2008
These flies are meant to be one of a kind but they're just pop-culture magpies.
August 11, 2008
Fly Me to the Moon is an awkward mix of proficient 3-D animation, detailed technical recreation and strained storytelling that stalls on takeoff.
August 8, 2008
It's a wingless exercise, despite a rather heartening attitude toward space travel that will introduce young auds to the glory that was NASA in the '60s.