Footloose - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Footloose Reviews

Page 1 of 9
Billy Tatum
We Got This Covered
February 11, 2013
FEMA can take a day off because Footloose is one remake that won't be called a natural disaster, in fact, it's one hell of a good film.
Full Review | Original Score: 8/10
Roger Moore
Tribune News Service
January 6, 2013
Director Craig Brewer has Southernized the story...made it lighter on its feet.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/4
Ben Kendrick
ScreenRant
October 2, 2012
It's unlikely that Brewer's Footloose will persuade many remake skeptics but the film does deliver surprisingly enjoyable character drama and exciting choreography.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
Michael Dequina
TheMovieReport.com
March 4, 2012
I can easily imagine this FOOTLOOSE being looked back on down the road as the film that launched these names much like how the '84 film is reflected on in terms of Bacon.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
Linda Cook
KWQC-TV (Iowa)
December 22, 2011
It's taken me a long time to come to grips with this cinematic weakness - or maybe it's a blessing. I like dance movies, especially if the music is bouncy and it makes the characters happy. That's an infectious film sequence for me.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
Roger Tennis
Cinemaclips.com
November 4, 2011
The latest Footloose is a step up from recent dance flicks.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
Neil Pond
American Profile
October 28, 2011
The characters, the scenes, the dancing, even much of the dialogue are all plugged into a rigidly prefabricated storyline that treats its 1984 predecessor more as holy writ instead of perishable Reagan-era cheese.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/5
Top Critic
Bruce Diones
New Yorker
October 24, 2011
An unnecessary, though enjoyable, remake of Kevin Bacon's 1984 breakout hit.
Dan Lybarger
MovieMaker Magazine
October 21, 2011
The makers of 'Footloose 2.0' can be faulted for actually sticking too closely to the original.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
Lori Hoffman
Atlantic City Weekly
October 21, 2011
While the 2011 version of the film doesn't suck, it isn't as good as the original ...
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/4
Jackie K. Cooper
jackiekcooper.com
October 19, 2011
Better than I thought it would be, but not as good as I hoped it would be.
Full Review | Original Score: 6/10
David Nusair
Reel Film Reviews
October 19, 2011
...the film's overlength ultimately prevent[s] it from becoming the propulsive piece of work Brewer has clearly intended.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/4
Jim Schembri
The Age (Australia)
October 18, 2011
The dancing sequences are terrific - even the line-dancing is tolerable - but what really sells this quality reboot are the dashes of reality missing from the original.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
Brian D. Johnson
Maclean's Magazine
October 18, 2011
It's a rare remake that improves on the original. But the new Footloose does just that. The dancing is better, the drama grittier, the stars sexier -- and the music and the cast are more energetic and diverse.
Mark Dujsik
Mark Reviews Movies
October 17, 2011
Brewer can ... stage and shoot a dance sequence in a way that the movement can be wholly appreciated, and those scenes become infectiously entertaining.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
Betty Jo Tucker
ReelTalk Movie Reviews
October 16, 2011
With his delightful learning-how-to-dance sequence, Miles Teller almost steals 'Footloose' from fantastic dancers Kenny Wormald and Julianne Hough.
Kevin Carr
7M Pictures
October 14, 2011
Footloose is completely harmless, and quite enjoyable at times. Like any good pop song, it's got a beat, and you can dance to it.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
Jolene Mendez
Entertainment Spectrum
October 14, 2011
I was not impressed by the original and was pleased to find a slight satisfaction in the refreshed model.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
Steve Persall
Tampa Bay Times
October 14, 2011
Footloose is fancy-free, an iconic movie's tribute that could stand on its own two, tapping feet.
Full Review | Original Score: B+
Top Critic
Tom Long
Detroit News
October 14, 2011
In terms of empty-headed exuberance, it's hard to top Footloose.
Full Review | Original Score: B-
Page 1 of 9