Footloose - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Footloose Reviews

Page 1 of 9
June 30, 2013
This remake could have audiences tapping their feet... as they wait for it to end.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/5
October 13, 2011
The movie plays like a slightly degraded version of the original: the dialogue is a little lamer, the acting a little poorer.
October 15, 2011
Don't come with any high expectations.
January 4, 2012
I'm sure there was some great choreography and some great dancing that went into this movie. You don't see any of it.
October 13, 2011
While there's definite energy in the dance sequences, the hokum outweighs the exuberance.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/5
October 7, 2011
Is there any thing lamer than rebelling exactly the same way that your parents did? ... This is not to elevate the original Footloose beyond its modest, corny self, but the remake feels pointedly useless.
Full Review | Original Score: D
October 13, 2011
This 2011 version is so similar - sometimes song for song and line for line - that I was wickedly tempted to reprint my 1984 review, word for word.
Full Review | Original Score: 1.5/4
October 11, 2011
While it's true that few viewers will venture into a theater showing this remake for the story, the screenplay should not be a detriment to enjoyment. Less talking and more dancing would have made for a more footloose and fancy-free environment.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/4
October 13, 2011
When a film depends on feeling something between the photogenic but antiseptic Wormald and Hough, and you don't, you realize why that film may come up short in ways unrelated to dance training.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/4
October 16, 2011
I'm sure there are plenty of people who will say that the original version was so much better than this one and they may be right, but I'm certainly in no hurry to prove it.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/4
October 12, 2011
As far as acting goes, these kids certainly can dance.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/4
October 14, 2011
Following the script of the original as if it were an Arthur Murray dance diagram, Brewer's do-over is at its root a very capable display of painting by numbers.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/4
October 14, 2011
I never want to dance again.
Full Review | Original Score: D
October 14, 2011
"Footloose" has the look and feel of an OK basic cable movie."
Full Review | Original Score: 2/5
October 12, 2011
Wormald and Hough don't look or dance like adolescents letting off steam; their professionalism overwhelms what should be a simple pleasure. The film sometimes has the same problem.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/5
January 13, 2012
You either go all the way with it or simply roll your eyes when confronted by its terrible, cynical crassness.
October 5, 2011
This is a squeaky clean teen movie, really. I was amazed at how people don't know how to direct dance these days.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/5
October 14, 2011
Footloose is kind of like eating imitation crab. The taste is there, but it's just not quite right.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
October 7, 2011
It feels like a film walking in the shoes of its predecessor with a slightly sassier spring in its step. But at a certain point in the final act, this remake seems to forget why we're all watching.
October 12, 2011
It's startling how badly the dance numbers and action sequences are staged, shot and cut.
Page 1 of 9