For a Good Time, Call... - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

For a Good Time, Call... Reviews

Page 2 of 27
½ May 2, 2015
A charming little movie with a quirky twist on the rom-com formula, For a Good Time, Call... is elevated by the breakout performance of Ari Graynor, while at the same time pleasantly balancing heartfelt moments with raunchy humor.
April 1, 2015
FOR A GOOD TIME CALL is one of those buoyant lovely films about friendship that just totally thrill me. It's also really dirty and funny. Try to ignore the 3rd act required conflict moment and you'll love it!
February 14, 2015
Entertaining and funny.
½ February 8, 2015
A fast paced, hilarious and underrated girl power comedy that deserves to be seen.
February 7, 2015
Meh. Cameos by Kevin Smith and Seth Rogen are fun, otherwise it's average.
½ February 7, 2015
This comedy has some good character moments, especially when involving the zany customers, but other than that its more a drama and not as funny as you would expect. Some of the plot lines are never addressed, such as Lauren`s relationship with her parents, or Katie becoming a writer, but its a undemanding drama with some small comedic bits.
January 24, 2015
When I read the synopsis it didn't sound appealing at all, so you can imagine my surprise at finding it sweet, funny, strangely intelligent and dizzily raunchy in the best ways imaginable. The leads are adorable and it's well made. Recommended.
January 21, 2015
I don't know there were some funny moments, but they were mostly the cameos. Seth Rogen, and Kevin Smith were great in their spots. All in all though I think I would skip this one. Just not all that funny to be honest.
January 12, 2015
What an odd, raunchy little movie. Not without its moments, however.
December 26, 2014
A great little chick flick gem.
December 3, 2014
"For a Good Time, Call..." is an explicit and gross comedy, putting sex (and sex toys) in your face to make you laugh. It has got many jokes, over the top phone sex and a somewhat contrived emotional subplot. The ending of how the two girls end up is rather unexpected, even though there are hints to it earlier. Justin Long is quite unconvincing as a gay character though. He tries hard to be camp but he is not quite there. I am a little surprised to see actresses put toys into their mouths for a non-porn film, as a screen cap of that with the wrong caption can send an entirely different message. It's a light hearted and fun comedy, just don't take it too seriously
November 15, 2014
Barely watchable, but Ari Gaynor is fun in her antics. She is on my watch list for future breakout success.
September 15, 2014
For a silly movie, watch. I don't really know if there was anything about this movie that I liked. I mean, does it really deserve one of my sweet stars? guess not. I hate the cast, the plot even the acting. I just felt it would be like this but I had it for so long, I had to watch.
September 1, 2014
Stop watching Bridesmaids, give this one a chance.
½ August 6, 2014
I'm not saying it was Oscar worthy or anything, but for what it's worth, it was surprisingly funny. Heavy on the raunchy side (but who really minds that?) and it has a nice touch of sweet that celebrates a beautiful friendship. Although Justin Long's acting as a gay man was a bit over the top/cliche type, the movie is definitely worthy watch for a nice girls night in!
August 4, 2014
Quite an interesting premise, which unfortunately, fell a tad flat in the final act.
July 27, 2014
Funny, unexpected twists.
½ July 24, 2014
This was a non-moving movie. I felt empty when it was over, because I wasn't entertained
½ July 16, 2014
A funny but predictable female drive raunch-fest.
½ July 15, 2014
Although a touch sickly sweet, the cast are charming enough the end result is a thoroughly entertaining watch.
Page 2 of 27