For Your Eyes Only - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

For Your Eyes Only Reviews

Page 1 of 89
½ January 7, 2018
Bond getting old, lacks the intensity of other Bond's, does have a great ski chase scene.
Super Reviewer
December 31, 2017
I remember having fond memories of this James Bond but on return it wasn't the classic I remembered. The best Roger Moore, James Bond is The Spy Who Loved Me but this film is no dud. The no gadgets and take no prisoners style is brilliant, the action scenes are great, the chase on foot by Bond is a classic. The pacing is a little off and the bad guys just seem happy to let Bond run all over the them with a crazy amount of luck. The henchman of the film never misses a shot but can't shoot Bond? The film suits the Moore era but in the crazy gadget period this film stands out as one that stood apart. 26-12-2017.
December 27, 2017
A Welcome attempt to get back to a grittier Bond with his first outing in the 80s but Bond is looking long in the tooth as is the franchise.
The film is just average just lacks the bang of previous films.

Gadgets 2/5 too much skiing
Girls 2/5 forgettable and seeing Bond cosy up with Lynn-Holly Johnson is a little creepy
Villain 2/5 forgettable
Bond Theme 2/5 also forgettable
½ December 16, 2017
One of the better Bond films, and definitely one of the top of Roger Moore's.
½ December 5, 2017
this movie was awful. it was unlike any of the other James Bond movies I have seen. no major battle sequence and it was low in giving you the thrilling of suspence, and thrill. Roger Moore was a terrible James Bond
½ November 7, 2017
It can't compare to some of the previous films, but For Your Eyes Only is an extremely entertaining addition to the franchise. The action is fantastic, and the opening credits sequence is underrated.
October 21, 2017
Despite my unabashed love for Moonraker, I acknowledge that it took the series as far in the comedically absurd direction, plot-wise, as it could really afford to go, and so a soberly underplayed spy thriller was really in order. In that respect, For Your Eyes Only delivers with thrilling action, solid one-liners, a taut plot, and a solid showing by Roger Moore and vengeful Bond Girl Melina Havelock. However, the film is let down by an utterly forgettable villain.
September 30, 2017
A spy working with a revenge lusted gal to take down an arms dealer. Quite entertaining. Especially since we don't know who is a good guy or a bad guy.
½ September 26, 2017
"For Your Eyes Only" is Roger Moore's best outing as Bond as the film gives a straight ahead, stripped down, story line with plenty of gritty action in another Cold War vs 007 thriller.
September 5, 2017
kinda boring, but one of the best in the Moore era
½ August 25, 2017
Some enjoyable scenes, good action, great theme song. Stands the test of time just drags on a little bit too much.
½ July 15, 2017
There is a distinct lack of gadgets, one-liners and just over-all cheese that make up part of this franchise's appeal, however, there is some tense and exciting action to make up for that. This is definitely the most "realistic" representation of the character from Moore, who continued to put out solid and entertaining Bond films (minus Moonraker) up to this point.
June 26, 2017
The villain is not that great and the film is nothing special but I can really enjoy watching this movie.

7.7/10
½ June 24, 2017
A half-baked attempt to get back to realistic spy thrillers. While the plot is more down to Earth than the last couple of Bond adventures, it retains too much of the cartoon style of the Moore era to work as a serious movie, yet it's not as fun as the more extravagant films; it's inability to fully commit to being one thing means it doesn't quite work as either. In accordance with this being a mixed bag of a movie there's some good ideas, such as one Bond girl, and some bad, such as the other, but nothing totally great or utterly terrible. The result is one of the more middle-of-the-road Bond entries.
June 19, 2017
Excellent stunts and super underwater sequences.
June 15, 2017
For Your Eyes Only wrangles a terrific plot, and has lots of fun and dazzling action scenes throughout.
½ June 13, 2017
James Bond 007 is at it again. This time he's trying to figure out who is the bad guy. One of my favorite Bond films because of the action scenes. Drags in many area's though. But most of these movies do. Good but not great.
June 3, 2017
Personally, how Moore's era of James Bond should've ended. It begins with a bang with 007 going up against a man who resembles Blofeld, finally giving Bond much needed vengeance after a 12-year wait. It's a start that makes you wonder if he could outwit Blofeld in what once was the final matchup betwixt the two for 34 years.

Besides that awesome moment, the cast features impressive performances from Julian Glover and Topol, who pose as rivals to each other, along with a somewhat unique relationship with Bond and Melina Havelock, and two impressive Bond escape chases; one involving a small Citroen 2CV, the other in Italy's snow. There's a reason why this movie, along with The Spy Who Loved Me, are considered Moore's best outings as 007.
May 28, 2017
...this next one was better since I saw it first...and that would have been the best Moore outing...but...
May 28, 2017
Third and final favorite film from the late Roger Moore during his time as James Bond and although it doesn't reach the height of The Spy Who Loved Me or isn't as memorable or iconic as Live and Let Die this is still my second favorite from Moore. Tonally it balances the humor of the lighter entries in the Bond series while taking the serious elements from my favorite Moore entry. Moore is joined by another strong female lead in the form of Carole Bouquet who is as deadly as she is intelligent and good looking. The stunt work and action is by far the best part of this film and that is despite the film being generally a lot more grounded and less bombastic. The pre-credit sequence, the 2CV car chase, the ski chase (which involves Bond being chased down a bobsled run on skies by a motorbike) and the shootout at a warehouse are all utterly fantastic. The score and theme song are once again brilliant, the rest of the cast is decent (apart from Lynn-Holly Johnson who is ear achingly bad) and the plot is engrossing enough despite not having the usual grandiose villain.
Page 1 of 89