The Forbidden Kingdom Reviews

Page 1 of 3
October 11, 2018
Is this Hollywood championing relativism, or is it just lazy writing?
November 24, 2011
May 17, 2008
When I say the movie is cheesy, I am talking provolone, American cheese, Swiss cheese; cheesy.
May 8, 2008
The story, which should be forbidden, keeps coming back for more. Whenever the plot pops up, from predictable love scenes to the villainess who hates men for no reason to the crypto-Confucian lines, you keep wishing for the next fist to fly.
May 2, 2008
(Minkoff) botches the film's fantasy elements, saturating these segments with cheesy effects.
April 30, 2008
Jason's relationship with Golden Sparrow stays pretty locked in first gear, such that the movie might attend to kung fu%u2014sort of.
April 27, 2008
All the martial arts movies have become clichés. This film is worse than stupid. Enough!
April 24, 2008
I'm totally in the target audience for this film, having long been a fan of both actors as well as the genre itself. But the fact is that this thing just didn't work for me, and I'm completely frustrated by that.
April 23, 2008
It's not an awful movie, but, although it has its moments, it is not a particularly good one either. [Still] every scene with the Monkey King in it is magical and mesmerizing.
April 21, 2008
It's simply tedious, butt-kicking, cliche-ridden, chop-schlocky action.
April 20, 2008
A slapdash but amiable crossbreed of The Karate Kid and The Wizard of Oz, The Forbidden Kingdom functions as a martial arts cinema primer for American youth.
April 19, 2008
If you're an adolescent boy and kung fu flicks are your bag, this convoluted one is probably watchable.
April 18, 2008
... a martial-arts variation on a middling musical with knockout dance numbers. It'll be tons of fun on DVD, when we can fast-forward to the good stuff and skip the plodding plot.
April 18, 2008
Every time the focus switches to Michael Angarano channeling his inner Ralph Macchio, The Forbidden Kingdom reminds you that it's primarily an act of occidental tourism.
April 18, 2008
It might take a Zen master to explain exactly what audience this is aimed at.
April 18, 2008
Assigning Chan and Li to supporting status underscores how ordinary this would-be- extraordinary film turns out to be.
April 18, 2008
I could just hear the producers in the board room, cigar smoke swirling around their fat heads as they barked into their speakerphones: "Those Hong Kong guys are too old! We need an American in here to capture the Western markets
April 18, 2008
The filmmakers come off like their protagonist, wide-eyed tourists in an exotic realm. If you've been looking for a martial arts film to take granny and the kids to, this might be the one, but a Jackie Chan-Jet Li collaboration deserves better than that.
April 18, 2008
What a waste. It's easy to see how Kingdom would have benefited from focusing on the interplay between its superstars. At times they're like kung-fu Ernie and Bert (minus the sexual tension).
April 18, 2008
The Forbidden Kingdom...offers the first-ever on-screen pairing of martial-arts legends Jackie Chan and Jet Li, but it's a bit of a bait-and-switch. Both stars get plenty of screen time, yet their fight scenes feel routine.
Page 1 of 3