Foreign Land (Terra Estrangeira) - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Foreign Land (Terra Estrangeira) Reviews

Page 1 of 2
Super Reviewer
½ November 23, 2016
A decent film that holds our attention and keeps us always interested even if its attempt at being a combination of drama, thriller and (forced) romance is not that successful - not to mention how the characters' motivations are fuzzy especially in its third act.
October 14, 2015
Blend of Cinema Novo (New Wave) and film noir. The slow pace undercut the tense atmosphere, but it still managed to be an artful riff on feeling unmoored due to the failures of the "New World."
February 28, 2015
"Sim, eu estou tão cansado,
Mas não pra dizer
Que eu estou indo embora.
Talvez eu volte,
Um dia eu volto, quem sabe"

Vapor Barato (trilha sonora)
½ March 5, 2013
Story about a kid whose mother dies and he feels he has to journey to Spain where his mother grew up. A man offers him a chance to go to Spain if he transports a violin to one of his customers in Portugal. It ends up being a drug deal, and things go terribly wrong.

A good film, considering it is foreign and made in 1996.
July 25, 2012
"Eu estou tão cansado, mas não pra dizer que eu tô indo embora."
½ September 3, 2011
A superb film again from Mr. Salles & his co-director Mrs. Thomas
½ May 9, 2011
"28...30,40,50,60...tá passando tão depressa."
Super Reviewer
½ April 14, 2011
a interesting at times film, following a young brazillian taking on a job to deliver a pakage to portugal, getting payed so he can make his way to spain, but due to events not turning out the way its erxpoected. he meets a girl, whos also involved in the deal. a great look to the film, music and performances adding someting to overall story.
November 15, 2010
Good Brazilian movie from the director Walter Salles.
May 12, 2010
A very nice movie about the collateral damage of financial crises.Very nicely filmed, with several beautiful scenes. Especially the very last.
½ August 1, 2009
Nesta madrugada de inicio de agosto, eu assisti este filme que me impressionou bastante!!! Ainda escuto os acordes da musica "Vapor barato" cantada pela maravilhosa Gal Costa. Um filme preto e branco, belissimo, cruel, doce, amargo!! "...Eu nao preciso de muito dinheiro, gracas a Deus...." E o violino tao cobicado tocado pelo cego, que deixa cair na rua os diamantes que brilham em preto e branco e se espalham com o pisar, os anadares que os transformam em nada, quase poeira!! " Oh minha Honey Baby, honey baby... assim eu estou tao cansado mas nao pra dizer que eu estou indo embora, talvez um dia quem sabe eu volto..." E o carro roda numa estrada quase escura e de dia, levando a esperanca morta, o amor ainda quente, aflito, sangrando, vida se esvaindo. Ah os poetas, os artistas, tocam, cantam, criam imagens que tocam nossos sonhos e fantasias. "....Vou descendo por todas as ruas e vou tomar aquele velho navio... oh minha honey baby, honey baby..." me leva para o meu lugar, para minha casa, para qualquer lugar, deixa que o brilho das cobicas, dos ouros e das joias se desmanchem como meu sangue que agora jorra de mim, do que fui, do que ainda me resta...
A voz da Gal continua viva e adormecente, inebriante...
Este filme foi muito marcante....

"...oh minha honey baby, honey baby...."

************************************************************
Late night I decided to watch this movie. It was black and white,unusual for movies nowadays. The story happened in Brazil, when the president Collor decided to take money from everybody, freezing the bank accounts. It made people suffer a lot. Then,Paco,an young who was trying to be an actor, lost his mother and his life changed dramatically. He was so lost and one day He met a man who wanted him going to Europe to carry some diamonds illegally. He didn't know that. Then he gets involved in a bad criminal story. Already in Portugal he met a girl, Alex, who he is going to have an affair with. The movie gets so intense, and in the end the music sang by the wonderful Brazilian singer, Gal Costa, gives to the movie an special touch. You must watch that movie!!!!
" ....Oh minha honey baby, honey baby...."

The movie has caption!!
July 18, 2009
A bit slow though. Final scene takes it all.
June 13, 2009
"Eu estou tão cansado, mas não pra dizer que eu tô indo embora."
October 7, 2008
A fantastic black and white movie to describe the loneliness immigrants feel in a foreign land... The hope and the anguish to have a better life
½ May 19, 2008
Sad, nostalgic look at Portugal's landscape from a Brazilian point of view. The music by Gal Costa is probably one of the high points of the fim, but its heavy handed flirt with French Nouvelle Vague is actually interesting too.
May 3, 2008
watched this right after motorcycle diaries, as impressive as that, in a very different way tho'!
January 12, 2008
Fantastic, classy film from Walter Salles. A plot that brings together characters from Portugal and Brazil. Wonderful dialogue -- superb music.
December 7, 2007
hello, it's a walter salles! what's not to love?... in all truth, it's been a while since i saw this, but i do remember liking it.
½ December 3, 2007
Amazingly shot by the great Walter Carvalho.
November 26, 2007
the search of a mother's land becomes a path of desperado...
Page 1 of 2