Dr. Frankenstein's Castle of Freaks (Terror! Il castello delle donne maledette) - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Dr. Frankenstein's Castle of Freaks (Terror! Il castello delle donne maledette) Reviews

Page 1 of 2
October 19, 2017
Every October as part of my Halloween binge I try to watch something super trashy. This certainly did the job. It's kind of like if someone turned Scooby-Doo into a softcore porn, that's really the best way I can describe it. It's got a big castle, those paintings where the eyes move, some extremely cheesy monsters (namely some mostly unexplained Neanderthals) and actually some spooky atmosphere and grungy quality, but it also has tons of gratuitous nudity like an extensive scene of two women bathing and a pretty awkward rape scene. It's a bad movie, no doubt, but it's sort of charming in its badness. The plot makes no sense, Frankenstein himself is wholly forgettable, but the sets are pretty cool and a lot of the minor characters are actually pretty fun. There's a little person playing one of Frankenstein's assistants who's sort of the eventual bad guy of the movie, and he's pretty memorable and clearly having a lot of fun. But I realize now I'm putting way more thought into this movie than it deserves. It's garbage, but if you like garbage, it's fairly entertaining garbage to watch with friends and make fun of.
½ March 5, 2015
Colorful. Uses the basic Frankenstein story but centers it more around his servants and throws in some cheap thrills and a fun style. The characters are nasty, the plot is loose, and the ending is stupid- perfect.
January 31, 2013
What horrors will the nefarious Count Frankenstein unleash upon the world now? Why, re-animated cavemen, of course... Frankenstein hopes to prove his worth to the scientific community with this final experiment, but a distempered dwarf and his hulking sidekick look to stop him! When it comes to bottom of the barrel Italian exploitation, DR. FRANKENSTEIN'S CASTLE OF FREAKS is at the top of the list. Dick Randall haphazardly tosses together an awful plot with ridiculous characters in the hopes that the sleazy sex and gore will distract from his own artless direction. Rossano Brazzi brings nothing to the role of the questionable Count Frankenstein (?), whose ramshackle laboratory doesn't even seem fit for a back alley abortion. DR. FRANKENSTEIN'S CASTLE OF FREAKS doesn't pose the slightest bit of entertainment for any Gothic or B-movie fan in all of its self-inflicted boredom.
½ January 22, 2013
Hilarious hodge podge of characters, henchmen, sexploitation, and movie monsters. Saw this with Cinematic Titanic, a true tour de force then.
½ April 1, 2012
This thing is horrible. Seriously bad. Frankenstein is a terrible kisser, first. Second, all he does is restart life with some pegs and electricity. Third, there are cavemen. The good things about this movie? A young Emma Stone plays Krista. There are at least two bath scenes - one of which involves hot springs and mud while the other is in some very disappointing milk. There is a great grave robbing scene, tho, it is never clear why they steal that young lady's corpse, other than to show how the midget is a total pervy perv. Oh yeah and there is a midget. At the end, I am pretty sure everyone dies, but I am not really sure. Everyone except the evil horny midget that started all this nonsense.
January 25, 2012
This was one of those movies with Elvira doing commentary before the commercial breaks. From the looks of it, I think it may have been from the 70s or early 80s. Tho there‚(TM)s a bit of a twist on the story it seems.. When did Frankenstein become a count? It was somewhat funny as I said that to myself after he was called Count Frankenstein‚¶ & I was like what? Since when‚¶? Then Elvira came on for when there would have been a commercial & She said the same thing.. He‚(TM)s always been a Barron. Kind of cheesy to me but it just may seem so because of how old the movie was. Dad thought it wasn‚(TM)t too bad, but he watched it without Elvira coming on. For this review tho‚(TM) I‚(TM)ll give it a C
½ October 15, 2011
Hilarious hodge podge of characters, henchmen, sexploitation, and movie monsters. Saw this with Cinematic Titanic, a true tour de force then.
½ November 14, 2010
Utterly ridiculous, but also very entertaining B-movie creature feature. The production values and and storytelling are barely above total incompetence - but it's an energetic romp packed with brutish Neanderthals, murderous hunchbacks, leering dwarves, and gratuitous nudity. A terrible film, but great fun for cult movie fans.
July 2, 2010
While it is almost impossible to hate on a movie featuring a caveman named (no joke) "Ook," and his former mad scientist assistant midget friend (again, no joke), this is still a painful movie. The plot really doesn't matter as a "monster" is created, townspeople fight a caveman (in what is easily one of the best so-tragic-it-is-inspiring fight scenes ever) and random nudity keeps the audience hooked (say what you will about the inadequacies of the production crew on this film, but someone was honest enough to realize sex sells... even if it is in a random spring in the cave habitat of a neanderthal and his savage lifestyle). Of course, none of this is good and coupled with a bad English dubbing makes everyone involved feel even dirtier, somehow. Still, it may be worth watching just to see the sheer eagerness of our female lead who desperately wants to love Dr. Frankenstein just like she wants audiences to love this disaster.
July 2, 2010
Alright. Take the classic Frankenstein story and take out the monster. Replace the monster with a caveman. Add another caveman for variety. Then wonder why you watched the movie.

(Cinematic Titanic's version is brilliant)
½ July 2, 2010
Who knew a movie with some hot chicks, a caveman, a midget and Frankenstein could be so incredibly fucking boring.

Fuck you, Something Weird
May 6, 2010
Frankenstein's Castle of Freaks has the dubious reputation for being one of the worst, if not the worst, Frankenstein films ever made. Despite its reputation I always wanted to see the film with the outrageously bad title to see just how bad it was. I finally got my chance when I scored a brand new copy at a pawn shop for a measly $1.25. The price was golden for me to see the film with such a retched reputation.

Well, the reputation was correct. I can't say this is the worst Frankenstein film ever made but it is by far the worst Frankenstein film I have ever seen. I knew I was in for a mish-mash of shit when I saw it was directed by schlock meister Dick Randall, the cash & grab filmmaker who went all over the world making band-wagon films (most notably some Bruceploitation films in Hong Kong). I can't say I don't enjoy some Dick Randall productions (his Spanish slasher "Pieces" has to be one of my all time guilty pleasures) but this is a real huge turd on his resume.

The film opens with a Neanderthal getting lynched by some villagers. He of course dies and in comes Count Frankenstein...what a minute. Hold that thought. COUNT Frankenstein? I'm sorry but every other version of Frankenstein in film and book form has Frankenstein as a Baron. Did the filmmakers get this confused with Dracula? Okay, so COUNT Frankenstein decides to bring the Neanderthal back from the dead with the help of Ygor and numerous other lab minions (I guess that is where the title comes from because of his weird helpers). After bringing him back from the dead the COUNT dodges accusations from local authorities and his daughter, while in the mean time falling in love. It wouldn't be a Frankenstein film without his creation breaking out and causing havoc and he does, with the help of a midget. What's a film like this without a midget?

This film's plot meanders everywhere. We even have our dead Neanderthal kill another caveman over a women while in the company of his midget friend. Where the hell did the filmmakers come up with some of these sequences? This is another film which I like to call "Alternative Cinema". Like I've mentioned in other reviews it means it's sort-of horror, sort-of exploitation, and all shit. I really can't recommend anything about this movie as it is even hard to watch for people who like bad movies. It's poorly shot, poorly directed, poorly scripted, poorly edited, and among all thing it's just fucking boring. The version I own is the Elvira's Movie Macabre edition which allows you to watch the film with or without Elviria's humorous intermissions. Her intermissions are a welcome relief from the film and like alcohol they helped me get through this mess. If you must see this film, make sure you get the Elvira Movie Macabre version. It will help...trust me.
½ February 28, 2010
There have been too many Frankenstein movies released over the years to count and while this one wouldn't qualify as the worst (that honour would probably go to the terminally boring "Jesse James Meets Frankenstein's Daughter"), it is undeniably the goofiest! If nothing else, the movie really does live up to its "Castle of Freaks" moniker as it not only features a Frankenstein monster (imaginatively named Goliath), but a sleazy midget, a hunchback and a caveman named "Ook"! Incidentally, the caveman is played by an actor credited as "Boris Lugosi" and is randomly hanging around the grounds of Dr. Frankenstein's estate for reasons that are never explained; there are many occasions when you can clearly see the tennis shorts he's wearing beneath his fur! It all leads to a climax where the Frankenstein monster is burned alive by an angry "mob" (i.e. about seven extras with torches) and closes with a character making the profound insight: "There's a little monster in all of us". The whole thing is such an hilarious mess and may also feature the most gore and nudity you will ever see in a PG-rated film.
April 15, 2009
I'd like to rate this higher but I just can't. The raw b movie power is huge with this movie having the star studded cast of a mad scientist, hunchback, little person (arguably the most evil little person ever), two cave men one name Uuk sic and the other called Goliath who is really huge and has the brain of a pretty young townswoman dug up from the graveyard implanted by said mad scientist. Female nudity cave grotto style. Lots of violence against women in a gratuitous b-movie way. A horrible horrible film, but fairly entertaining, two cave men a hunchback and a little person how can you beat that?
January 24, 2009
This gets a high rating because I saw it via Cinematic Titanic. It a series of DVD's that has almost all of the cast members of MST3k riffing on the movie. The movie was awful but the riffs are brilliant. Only see it in that variation.
January 2, 2009
Boris Lugosi best movie...hahaha!! damn whatta creep of a movie for Rossano Brazzi, famous italian ex-latin lover!
Worth for Frankenstein's maniacs only.
November 4, 2008
I wouldn't even know how to rate a movie like this. It has one of the craziest, stupidest plots I can think of. (Why are there two neanderthals??) It also the horniest, most perverted dwarf in the history of cinema (Take that Busby Berkeley and David Lynch!). Hey, it had me teary eyed at how absurd it is.
½ October 4, 2008
hahaha... a neanderthal, a horny midget, nekkid ladies, & an Italian COUNT Frankenstein.
Page 1 of 2