Free Solo Reviews

Page 1 of 8
August 2, 2019
The film ends with an incredibly captured climbing sequence that is rooted in character.
June 3, 2019
Hannold's ultimately selfish act of recklessness is given a hagiographic treatment that feels both irresponsible and emotionally dishonest.
May 28, 2019
Free Solo's value relies basically on its technical difficulties, but without obstacles, fear or doubts, the narrative ends up in need of strength. [Full Review in Spanish]
April 19, 2019
Free Solo is a thrillingly entertaining film, filled with unexpected set-backs and triumphs, as well as an appealing personal portrait of a rare and supremely gifted human being.
April 15, 2019
Please go see Free Solo on the biggest screen possible, those of you who've climbed the Lions and the Chief, and yes, those of you who rarely leave the couch.
April 12, 2019
There were times during the film that I feared I was watching something like Werner Herzog's pathbreaking Grizzly Man. But Free Solo has none of that film's nihilism, although Alex Honnold in many ways is a Herzogian hero.
April 11, 2019
Expect stunning visuals, plenty of drama.
April 5, 2019
You get to experience all of the dangers inching up the granite wall without ropes...This is a revealing biography of what makes this free soloist climber tick.
April 3, 2019
Like Alex Honnold himself, Free Solo is straightforward, honest, humble and confident, with a grip of steel.
March 30, 2019
There's a lot of depth to the film. It's more than just a man taking on the impossible. We get inside Honnold's headspace, which, in turn, causes us to rethink our approach to our own obstacles in life.
March 12, 2019
Honnold's journey elicits audience-wide gasps, mixed in with an "Oh, my God" or two.
March 8, 2019
[Directors Elizabeth Chai Vasarhely and Jimmy Chin] have created something we can all buy into emotionally.
March 7, 2019
"An insane chronicle superbly photographed and edited".
March 6, 2019
Chai and Chin are smart, focusing on the pressure points that we've been hearing about throughout the movie and allowing us moments where the tension is alleviated (one involving a unicorn that offers the film's biggest laugh).
March 5, 2019
The visuals are stunning, offering head-spinning views with the comfort of total safety.
March 5, 2019
An emotional, irremediably human and essential work. [Full Review in Spanish]
March 4, 2019
Free Solo...is a jaw-dropper, both in what is documented and its visual impact.
March 4, 2019
Breathtaking photography.
March 4, 2019
There's something about a balls-to-the-wall movie that threatens imminent death being relatable on an exaggerated socio-political level in 2019.
March 3, 2019
Even the coolest of cool heads will find their palms sweating and heart racing as they watch Honnold's solo ascent.
Page 1 of 8