From Dusk Till Dawn - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

From Dusk Till Dawn Reviews

Page 2 of 3
Luke Y. Thompson
New Times
January 9, 2003
A weird double-bill in itself: Part one's a crime drama, part two vampire splatter flick. It's an awkward pairing, but there's fun to be had.
| Original Score: 4/5
Kevin N. Laforest
Montreal Film Journal
September 10, 2002
You got to admire how Rodriguez balances elements of action, comedy, horror, thriller, road movie and Western in the same film!
Full Review | Original Score: 4/4
Top Critic
Mick LaSalle
San Francisco Chronicle
June 18, 2002
The picture shows what happens when a writer (Tarantino) and a director (Rodriguez) come together and reinforce each other's worst tendencies and misconceptions.
Full Review | Original Score: 0/4
Kim Williamson
Boxoffice Magazine
June 5, 2002
A drop-dead-erotic scene a seduction dance by the bar's featured performer, Santanico Pandemonium ... is one of the two reasons to see this movie.
Full Review | Original Score: 1.5/5
Leslie Rigoulot
Film Scouts
April 17, 2002
For those with a twisted sense of humor, it is entertaining.
Dennis Schwartz
Ozus' World Movie Reviews
July 25, 2001
The characters were as empty as the story.
Full Review | Original Score: C-
James Kendrick
Q Network Film Desk
February 27, 2001
This movie is just too much fun not to like.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
Ryan Cracknell
Apollo Guide
February 13, 2001
From Dusk Till Dawn is an hilarious piece of genre filmmaking.
| Original Score: 79/100
Top Critic
James Berardinelli
ReelViews
January 1, 2000
It's great fun, but certainly not great art.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
Top Critic
Desson Thomson
Washington Post
January 1, 2000
The movie, which treats you with contempt for even watching it, is a monument to its own lack of imagination.
Liz Braun
Jam! Movies
January 1, 2000
What we have here in From Dusk Till Dawn is Pulp Fiction with teeth.
| Original Score: 3/5
Cynthia Fuchs
Philadelphia City Paper
January 1, 2000
It's clever, brash and -- if you're into it -- entertaining movie-making that has it all ways, allowing you a stylishly cynical noninvestment, alongside an old-fashioned attachment to the regular guy.
Madeleine Williams
Cinematter
January 1, 2000
Fans of the genre will like it, especially in the no-holds barred second half. Others are advised to avoid this one.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/4
Marc Savlov
Austin Chronicle
January 1, 2000
This is horror with a wink and a nod to drive-in theatres and sweaty back seats. This is how it's done.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
Joe Baltake
Sacramento Bee
January 1, 2000
The sickest, most perverted movie within memory. Guiltily, I liked it. But what the hell is it?
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/4
Chris Hicks
Deseret News, Salt Lake City
January 1, 2000
The film is so flamboyantly gory and disgusting, so vulgar and in-your-face obnoxious, with so many offensive subplots and wacked-out elements that you may give up long before you need to reach for your second headache tablet.
Full Review | Original Score: 1.5/4
Top Critic
Andy Seiler
USA Today
January 1, 2000
As the bloodsuckers attack our 'heroes' again and again, you feel like you're watching a video game -- from dusk to dawn.
| Original Score: 2/4
Christopher Null
Filmcritic.com
January 1, 2000
The way-over-the-top campiness is so completely ridiculous, it's impossible to take anything in the film seriously. And trust me, that's not a bad thing.
| Original Score: 3/5
Bryant Frazer
Bryant Frazer's Deep Focus
January 1, 2000
I don't mean to dismiss his films, which I enjoy, or cast aspersions on his character, but I've got to admit -- when Tarantino plays his own sordid parts, he gives me the creeps.
Full Review | Original Score: C-
Walter V. Addiego
San Francisco Examiner
January 1, 2000
The filmmakers' references, their winks and nods to the audience, are far more diverting than the picture itself.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/4
Page 2 of 3