From Dusk Till Dawn 2: Texas Blood Money - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

From Dusk Till Dawn 2: Texas Blood Money Reviews

Page 1 of 42
September 16, 2016
From Dusk Till Dawn 2: Texas Blood Money(1999)
Starring: Robert Patrick, Duane Whitaker, Bo Hopkins, Muse Watson, Brett Harrelson, Raymond Cruz, Danny Trejo, James Parks, Maria Checa, Tiffani Thiessen, Stacie Randall, and Bruce Campbell
Directed By: Scott Spigel
Review
Hello Kiddies your pal the crypt-critic here, with a somewhat enjoyable sequel you might be able to sink your teeth into. I saw the original From Dusk till Dawn with George Clonney and thought it was a very fun ride. This sequel still maintains the fun of that film which is good but also a little stupid.
A gang of bank-robbing misfits heads to Mexico with the blueprints for the perfect million-dollar heist, but when one of the crooks wanders into the wrong bar... and crosses the wrong vampire... the thieving cohorts develop a thirst for blood!
The film feels like it's own thing, so it's not really required for me to watch the first film but I myself just like to watch a film series in order either way. It has a pretty cool cast in lead Robert Patrick, Danny Trejo and Bruce Campbell cameo.
This is a sequel that brings in the goods especially at the climax but this vampire film did not quench my thirst. I'm giving From Dusk Till Dawn 2: Texas Blood Money a three out of five.
February 6, 2016
Garbage, I Dare Say #3 Is Better...
½ January 7, 2016
Arghhg-- again-- just because it's a B movie, it doesn't make it a cult classic.

Just because the actors are good actors, the first one was a hit, it doesn't make it revolutionary. Just repetitive. ?
November 17, 2015
Pros:
-Danny Trejo as a bartender... again
-Makeup isn't bad, but not great
-Bruce Campbell as Barry (don't get too attached though)

Cons:
-Sub-par acting
-Bland story and characters
-Bad special effects
-Blood is present, but not enough for my tastes

Conclusion:
From Dusk Till Dawn 2: Texas Blood Money is a bad film and an even worse sequel to an actual good film. Avoid it like bat guano, Gorehounds.
½ November 17, 2015
She sucked me dry.

A group of outlaws are planning to rob a bank in Mexico to obtain some valuable diamonds stored there; unfortunately, one of the crew members has been turned into a vampire. During the heist, the vampire crew member goes ballistic and the police arrive at the scene. Members of the crew will need to survive both the police as well as their crew members turned vampire...

"Come with me, Jesus, just in case I need to talk Mexican."

Scott Spiegel, director of Hostel 3, Intruder, My Name is Modesty, and the upcoming Spring Break '83, delivers Dust till Dawn II: Texas Bloody Money. The storyline for this picture was nothing special and reminded me of a vampire version of Assault on Precinct 13. The acting was also nothing special and the cast includes Robert Patrick, Bruce Campbell, Bo Hopkins, Duane Whitaker, Muse Watson, Danny Trejo, and Tiffani Theissen.

"This ain't the Olympics. It's fucking dog fighting."

I remember not liking this movie when it first came out but it has grown on me a little. This still isn't good but has some nice mindless violence/gore sequences that place this in a "so bad it is good" category for entertainment value. This is a huge step down from the first film, but not a complete waste of time. I would catch this on cable.

"...like we suck farts out of dead chickens..."

Grade: C
September 25, 2015
Not Even Close To How Awesome The Original FDTD Was!
September 7, 2015
Ugh, what a horrible sequel. Badly shot, dumb story.
½ June 15, 2015
greatly dissappointed. the first one was so much better.
½ May 27, 2015
One of the things that was really cool about "From Dusk Till Dawn" is that it wasn't shot like a horror movie. It looked like a crime thriller, and when the Vampires hit it was out of nowhere...totally unexpected (if you didn't read a synopsis that is). For the most part, this is shot like a cheap horror movie, and despite trying to start off with a whole heist plot, you know from the start it is a horror movie and you just want it to get to the point. It is hard to make a movie designed to have a major plot point come out of left field when you are a sequel. The music is also terrible and the movie just never clicked for me, not in the same way that the original did.
April 20, 2015
The directing is decent and Patrick tries. But it downgrades it's predecessor with a cheap plot, stale acting and lame dialogue.
November 27, 2014
The story isn't awful and Robert Patrick is pretty good but the terrible effects and the over-acting from the rest of the cast make it goofy.
October 25, 2014
Awful but in a good way. Very tongue in cheek and similar humour to the first one, tho no similarity in storyline whatsoever. Robert Patrick is clearly having a ball throughout!
½ August 31, 2014
It is a shame to say that From Dusk Till Dawn 2- Texas Blood Money is a huge disappointment and not just because it is a follow up of the amazing horror/action hybrid From Dusk Til Dawn, it a major disappointment because the film starts off promising with Robert Patrick taking the lead. Set in Texas, Buck rounds up a group of guys to head to Mexico for a bank job that will make them millionaires if everything goes right. The posse head to a motel in Mexico where they await their boss who is wanted by law enforcement. Their boss meanwhile encounters an accident with a giant vampire bat and ends up in the Titty Twister Bar. From here on is where the film proves starts to have trouble as we do nothing, but wait and watch porno with the criminals. It only gets worst when we get to the bank and wait some more. I was bored by then and could not be picked up by the action or the tension the film builds up right around the end. The vampires become less interesting and the special effects are dull especially when we see the vampires die. Half heart effort is what one critic said about this movie and I agree with it.
August 29, 2014
Holy cow, this was terrible. There are good B movies that just go bad and end up good but this just lingers on the bad side and doesn't waver at all. For a sequel for a good first this is awful.
½ August 22, 2014
Cause if there's two things vampires need it's cash money and to make themselves super conspicuous.

Some cool photography and gore but mostly bland... and pretty stupid.
August 16, 2014
This movie is just ridiculously stupid, like for example:

Who watches a porno movie with their buddies?
And also, that hot hispanic chick just came out of nowhere
Why would they still wanna rob a bank even when turned into vampires?
Super Reviewer
July 27, 2014
So judging by the films cover you could be fooled into thinking this film was set in the 'Twitty Twister' and that Danny Trejo was a large part of the story. Alas this couldn't be further from the truth, this isn't necessarily a bad thing of course but they are clearly trying to hook your attention.

The plots follows a group of criminals who are planning a bank heist. The group are to meet in a seedy motel somewhere in Mexico but through various circumstances are attacked and turned into vampires one by one. During the heist the main protagonist discovers his mates are vamps and must fend them off along with the police force which turn up. In the end the film merely becomes a vampire vs police escapade with the lone surviving criminal teaming up with the Texas Ranger that was on his tail.

This second splatter fest starts off really slow and quite dull if you ask me, we merely follow Robert Patrick as he recruits the old gang for the heist. The group itself are a mixed bag and you can see they have tried to create that iconic team of hardass oddballs we've seen many times before. You've got a fat guy with a ponytail and goatee (the homosexual sadistic porn shop owner from 'Pulp Fiction'), an aging cowboy, a young innocent looking guy (Woody Harrelson's brother) and the stereotypical tough guy played by Raymond Cruz who kinda feels like a male version of 'Vasquez' from 'Aliens'.

Once things get going on the road trip it still takes its time and feels slow. There is a pointless cameo for the 'Titty Twister' merely so they can shove in Danny Trejo with an aimless subplot and so the crooks can start getting bitten. I still have absolutely no clue how Trejo's character is suppose to have survived the first film after being reduced to mush. This also tends to bring up the continuity issue of where are all the other characters from the first film? If Trejo's 'Razor Eddie' is still alive then surely all the other main vampires and fallen bikers are still alive and well too (or undead and well). Plus the vampire bar is clearly a bad small set and doesn't really look like the original films set. This was a real let down for the film seeing as the bar is the main money shot of the franchise, where it all happens so to speak.

The film really picks up when all the cops turn up to stop the bank heist and the undead crooks all go berserk. The whole story takes a U-turn and goes from dark vampire splatter horror to an over the top action bonanza with the four baddie vamps gunning down hordes of policemen and S.W.A.T. teams amidst exploding police cars. Remember when Arnie takes down all the cops and cop cars with his minigun in 'T2'? well this is pretty much identical to that accept there is lots of blood and body parts flying around. I can't lie, I really did enjoy this part of the movie as it really changes the pace of the film upping it drastically. The action isn't the best choreographed action you've seen but it does the job and its pretty neat watching these invincible vampires leaping around and taking down various armed police.

Like much of the film the effects are all hands-on real time effects using fake blood, prosthetics, heavy makeup, puppets etc...and like the original film it works giving a much grittier 80's feel to the proceedings. There is a touch of CGI for the melting vamp shots which is a bit hokey looking but again like the original film it doesn't detract from the nicely handled gore.

I did like this film once things started to actually get going with the vampires, but boy does it take time for that. Much of the run time is a bit dull in all honesty...until the excellent shoot out with the cops. It is a bit frustrating at times too as some shots are badly edited, the sets are pokey, location work is visually unexciting and overall it does look very cheap and cheerful. I can overlook that but geez! here and there it really looks poor. There is a small Bruce Campbell cameo at the start which really feels like its there just to gain more interest with horror fans as again it pointless. Basically most of this film is very average but the violent finale makes up for most of it. The final bit of dialog between Patrick's criminal character and Hopkins' Texas Ranger was hinting to set up a vampire hunting team possibly for the third film, I thought...guess not.

Cute bit of info, the character of 'Deputy Edgar McGraw' in this film is the son of 'Sheriff Earl McGraw' from the original film. In the original film Sheriff McGraw is played by Michael Parks who is the real life father of James Parks who plays Deputy McGraw in this sequel.
½ June 17, 2014
(A western horror film that goes no where)
If there's without a doubt any film that's a western that's bad it's this one.
From Dusk Till Dawn 2: Texas Blood Money follows a group of men who plan to rob a bank. While on their way there and when they get there things don't go their way. When one man is turned into a vampire he turns almost all of his members into vampire except one, then they kill police officers when they arrive at the bank and the showdown begins. This film contains terrible acting, bad use of special effects and the storyline was just okay. There's nothing here to see, the vampires in this film are cheesy and lack the scariness that their supposed to have. Sadly but surely enough, this film does disappoint everyone and after watching the picture I can see why it got a low rating. The art form is okay and the way the characters are depicted in this film seems like the filmmakers where trying to hard. All in all this film lacks every element you can think of.
½ March 6, 2014
There is not a chill, a jolt, or a hint of enjoyment in this pseudo-sequel.
Page 1 of 42