Frozen II Reviews

Page 1 of 4
July 28, 2020
Frozen II may sing about change, but that progress is what you project onto it.
July 5, 2020
They try to throw a lot at you, but very little is focused.
June 30, 2020
There's a whole lot of charm in this, but it follows the original's winning formula a little too closely that it feels almost repetitive.
February 1, 2020
A distressingly unnecessary (and fairly tedious) sequel...
January 10, 2020
It makes the world of Frozen feel infinite, even if the characters and the story make it feel like it's a small world after all. Perhaps I should just let it go.
January 4, 2020
With no surprises, without looking for its female characters stand out, Frozen 2 disappoints, and misrepresents the magical sense that the first installment had. [Full review in Spanish]
December 20, 2019
The result is just a discombobulated mess.
December 10, 2019
A waste of beautiful animation.
December 9, 2019
The storyline overall feels forced and clunky.
December 9, 2019
...a torturously convoluted extension of an already complicated narrative.
December 3, 2019
There's magic here, and elemental spirits, but no magic and nothing elemental, metaphorically speaking. Rote and smaller than its predecessor. Even the songs are bland and forgettable.
November 30, 2019
Frozen II often doesn't feel like a movie as much as a chess match, with the characters being shoved all around the board with studied precision.
November 27, 2019
Yes, the characters are still charming, and yes, the animation is stunning. But you know there's a problem when the movie includes three different sequences that either just describe favorite moments from the previous movie or straight-up re-runs them.
November 27, 2019
Throughout it's entirety, in fact, the plot is such that you can see the grouting, you can see the screenwriting glue between the much-mulled-over ideas.
November 26, 2019
Anna ends up singing "hello darkness, I'm ready to succumb" and "this grief has a gravity, it pulls me down." Like much of the rest of the film, it's a bummer.
November 26, 2019
There's so much affection for and investment in the original characters...people will be excited...but I just didn't get the magic. It's fine, but Frozen I was so much more than fine...
November 26, 2019
This movie is so confusing that even talking about it is confusing.
November 26, 2019
Your kids will love it. But if you're like me and you love the original for its depth and how well thought out its thematic strengths were, you will find this one sorely lacking.
November 25, 2019
Frozen II is infinitely less transcendent and it is also solemn, leaden and of a feathery magic. [Full Review in Spanish]
November 25, 2019
Too bad Frozen 2 doesn't so much chart a new path as echo the one previously laid out.
Page 1 of 4