Fullmetal Alchemist: The Sacred Star of Milos - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Fullmetal Alchemist: The Sacred Star of Milos Reviews

Top Critic
Colin Covert
Minneapolis Star Tribune
January 23, 2012
The incomprehensible back story didn't dim my enjoyment much. The movie is a crackerjack audio-visual thrill ride.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
Top Critic
Robert Abele
Los Angeles Times
January 20, 2012
Fans, go be with your people. Others, approach cautiously.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
Top Critic
Andy Webster
New York Times
January 19, 2012
The widescreen canvas is an improvement over television's limited expanse. But if you're not among the indoctrinated, don't bother.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
Top Critic
David Lewis
San Francisco Chronicle
January 19, 2012
This is a very intelligent, well-plotted story - and my hunch is that we have not seen the last of our heroes.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
Top Critic
Jeff Shannon
Seattle Times
January 19, 2012
At some point you have to ask: When are fantasy fans going to tire of heroes and villains throwing bolts of energy at each other? Give it a rest already!
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/4
Top Critic
Tom Russo
Boston Globe
January 19, 2012
Soporific exposition culminates in a visually chaotic final act that makes "Tintin'' look downright restrained.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/4
Top Critic
Rene Rodriguez
Miami Herald
January 19, 2012
Like a lot of anime, the movie remains entertaining even when you have no idea what's going on.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/4
Top Critic
Brian Miller
Village Voice
January 17, 2012
It's silly and excessive, but Fullmetal Alchemist occasionally strikes a note of adolescent truth, as when Ed wishes for "some way to get our bodies back."
Top Critic
Richard Kuipers
Variety
December 21, 2011
Pic upholds the series' trademark use of pacey action and well-defined characters struggling against oppression and seeking answers to spiritual questions.