Funny Face - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Funny Face Reviews

Page 1 of 2
February 28, 2014
What is startling here is the eye-popping colour, the self-reflexive photography and visual effects, the dance sequences (Fred Astaire with his umbrella), and the witty and ingenious use of the Paris locations.
Full Review | Original Score: 5/5
February 28, 2014
If you're prepared to do a bit of revisionist thinking, it all makes sense.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
February 27, 2014
Astaire could still dance up a storm, no doubt about it, and this has its moments.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
February 27, 2014
It's an intermittently charming trifle with directorial style to burn in the place of any kind of satisfactory substance.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
February 24, 2014
A timeless musical treat and the most fun you can have with really elegant clothes on.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
February 24, 2014
One of Hollywood's funniest, most stylish musicals, this breezy satire from 1957 thrives on the pairing of Fred Astaire and Audrey Hepburn.
Full Review | Original Score: 5/5
November 19, 2012
...a sporadically engaging yet hopelessly erratic old-school musical.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/4
June 26, 2012
Sensation trumps cogitation-unsurprising in a Hollywood production-which doesn't negate the enduring allure of this beautiful bauble.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
December 15, 2010
Bubbly, fashion-crazed Hepburn-Astaire musical.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
March 5, 2009
Of her iconic films, Hepburn shines the most in Funny Face by focusing on what makes her beautiful.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
February 2, 2009
...can clunk like a tin can in the dryer. But hey, we're talking Audrey Hepburn and Fred Astaire, so that's some mighty elegant slack we're willing to cut here.
February 1, 2009
Despite some memorable musical numbers, gorgeous sets and energy galore, there's something about Funny Face that wasn't working for me, and it wasn't just the absurd idea about Audrey Hepburn being a frumpy bore.
January 4, 2009
I didn't appreciate every song-and-dance sequence, yet I could hardly keep my eyes off the screen for all the showy merriment going on.
Full Review | Original Score: 7/10
January 1, 2009
One of Stanley Donen's most stylish and enjoyable films, this musical is a triumph for Astaire's spectacular dancing, Audrey Hepburn's elegant appearance, and the Gershwins splendid score.
Full Review | Original Score: A-
December 28, 2008
one of the finest movie musicals of all time.
Full Review | Original Score: 5/5
September 29, 2007
The Devil may wear Prada, but the rest of the fashion world wears pink, at least according to Stanley Donen's endearingly naive Funny Face.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/4
August 14, 2003
At once more naturalistic and more stylized -- with Donen pushing Technicolor to the very limits of color saturation.
Full Review | Original Score: 5/5
July 30, 2003
A film crucial to understanding Hepburn's glorious gamine appeal and one of Astaire's best musicals of the 1950s.
Full Review | Original Score: 4.5/5
May 20, 2003
Funny Face...teams Fred Astaire and Audrey Hepburn in a delightfully balmy romance.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
July 26, 2002
I could watch this classic over and over again
| Original Score: 5/5
Page 1 of 2