Garden Party - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Garden Party Reviews

Page 1 of 8
½ September 11, 2015
One of the worst movies I've ever seen that wasn't intentionally trying to be terrible. I kept waiting for the joke parts. There is nothing to see, no characters to watch, no real story. I'm not sure I really blame the actors, but no other's associated with the upper levels of making this movie should ever work again.
December 10, 2013
A lovely little film, definitely a well deserved break for all the box office stupidities. I understand I would be in minority for liking this, but if you are looking for something little different and if you like very character oriented dramas, go for it. I just kind of had very good feeling watching it.
October 5, 2013
I think the only reason this is playing on cable is that Jennifer Lawrence is briefly in it.
September 9, 2013
Coming of age story about a set of young wannabes who are seeking fame and fortune..Unoriginal story plus stilted acting hurt this what really could have been an interesting movie.
August 22, 2013
I will be skipping this.
July 28, 2013
A very interesting beginning that shows great promise but slowly leads to a disappointing ending that leaves you feeling empty and bored.
May 29, 2013
Its an interesting movie but the problem is the story never goes anywhere. Just some people thrown together and there paths intertwine.
½ February 6, 2013
A pretty mediocre movie about a group of people whose lives just happen to intertwine with the other characters. Definitely not a new concept in that respect but there was enough going on to keep my interest, just wasn't the greatest film.
June 10, 2012
Es más para ver por tv pero me gustó.
April 9, 2012
Two stars is still being gracious. Weed, porn, underage drinking, porn, weed, kinky pictures and weed.
½ February 8, 2012
I liked how fun this movie was but hated all the teasing. The movie is jokes, i'd watch it again, its not great doh.
December 2, 2011
This movie was about nothing so I really have nothing to say about it.
Super Reviewer
November 23, 2011
Garden Party has the feel of a made-for-TV look at life in Los Angeles. The actors and actresses that we've grown accustomed to seeing in the passenger seat are given semi-leading roles. Vinessa Shaw is sexy and sultry, allowing for the possibly the only stand out performance of the film, though Willa Holland of The O.C. fame stands her ground comfortably.
½ June 9, 2011
Willa Holland plays April who runs off to Hollywood to escape from her sleazy step-father. There, she is introduced to an even sleazier fellow, a photographer who offers her cash to pose naked for the camera. She does what she has to in order to survive, as do Nathan, a farm boy from Nebraska who dreams of being a dancer, and Sammy, an aspiring singer.

The only person to make this film interesting is the gorgeous Vinessa Shaw. She plays Sally St. Clair, Internet nudie turned tough-as-nails real estate agent who has a soft spot for teenage drifters, especially ones who will tend to her marijuana plants. The other characters seem to wander through life aimlessly, casting shame and good sense aside while avoiding, entertaining, or humoring their predators.

Garden Party is a plain movie with equally plain characters that starts off painfully slow. It never fully satisfies. Certain vignettes end abruptly and new ones are introduced haphazardly. If anything, this film serves as a warning to young people with dreams of making it big in Hollywood. It isn't a fairytale journey and the Big Bad Wolf is lurking around every corner.
½ May 3, 2011
pretty good film ,but mostly forgettable.
May 3, 2011
not the greatest movie, not the greatest acting, and not nearly as gritty and graphic as it seems to attempt to be this very raw kinda movie, the story however feels almost as if there is no story other than lets see six peoples lives just convinently intertwine with one another and how life is just a one vicious cycle. the problem with this is that is without a doubt a good premise maybe one that has been done to death but good none the less, the problem here is that it needed to be a more aggresive, raw, and dark film with a sense of hope at the end even when the evil cycle was prepared to start again. that is the true flaw of this movie. it did however hold my interest and it can hold most peoples but this is one that if you hadnt seen it its really just ok im sure youll find a similiar movie that is most likely better than this one.
½ January 24, 2011
A low budget film that tried to pretend it wasn't. No real redeeming plot either.
January 18, 2011
Una movie interesante !!
November 11, 2010
This isn't a great movie. The story is alright but for the most part it falls short. Definitely not worth the rent.
Page 1 of 8