Gargoyle (Gargoyle - Wings of Darkness) - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Gargoyle (Gargoyle - Wings of Darkness) Reviews

Page 1 of 2
September 15, 2014
I'm at the 15 minute mark and cannot contain myself.
½ November 30, 2012
ok film, I thought it was an ok film but I don't want to see this movie again though, it starred Michael Pare, Sandra Hess, Kate Orsini, Tim Abell, I've got it on DVD, it was ok but could have been better
October 30, 2011
This looks like a cheesy sequel with equally awful visual effects.
August 13, 2011
This was an alright movie placed in Bucharest, Romania. Kind of follows the path of Dracula in Romania. The Gargoyles have a steaming proof plan that is ready for action. Slow starting out but it then picks up in the middle of the movie. If you are into the horror flicks like this then you will like this I think!!!
Super Reviewer
January 18, 2011
Great mix of Legend and reality.
June 23, 2010
Bad CGI and bad acting equal a Sci Fi Channel movie NICE!
February 20, 2010

First, this is a B-Movie. If you go in expecting a "film" or some piece of art, you're going to be seriously disappointed. This is something you watch because it's on TV at 2:30 in the morning and you can't get to sleep. (or because you love B-Movies as much as I do... and you found it on DVD for 2 bucks like I did).

Michael Pare has NEVER been an effective actor. Pare is so "wooden"... he makes Keanu Reeves look like Laurence Olivier. I don't think there's been another actor in Hollywood who's ever been as consistantly robotic from film to film as Michael Pare.

Don't watch GARGOYLE for Michael Pare's performance (unless you've followed the man's career for some reason).

Moviemakers without a budget need to stay away from movies where budget is imperitive. A movie called GARGOYLES needs to have enough cash in the kitty to give me... GARGOYLES. The effects in this film are awful. It's that horrible, early 90's-era computer generated FX stuff we used to watch on XENA or HERCULES on TV...(where FX like that belonged).

The story is no dumber... no goofier... than any other concept for a horror movie that you might imagine. GARGOYLE is different from other horror films because it simply didn't have a decent buget. Keep that in mind when watching it and you might be surprised at what was actually accomplished for so little money.

In fact, GARGOYLE has alot to recommend it! Because of the sub-standard acting and the laughable "made-for-TV" special effects... you're almost always aware that you're watching an easily dismissable piece of fluff..... but thanks to it's incredible set locations and the beauty of Bucharest, Romania as a backdrop, I ocassionally found myself admiring certain little flourishes and stretches where the director showed some real promise and talent...

Sometimes, for whole stretches of movie... it felt like I was watching a real film. Scenes set in the Romanian countryside are nicely shot and any filming that took place inside the beautifully lit, ancient Eastern European church, achieved an effect that closely approached "film".

The cinematographer for GARGOYLE has a future in Hollywood. He knows how to frame a shot, he just needs a better vehicle.

Speaking of "vehicle"..... There's a "car chase" towards the beginning of the film for example, that is shot so well... so tightly... you can't believe they'd be able to do such a good job with it while doing so poorly in other areas. Unfortunately (and very much in keeping with the films' constant "excellent/poor" standards dichotomy)... the scene is shot using some really shitty, stereotypically Eastern European cars. They're super-boxy, unimpressive and non-memorable automobiles... Ladas and Skodas no doubt.

GARGOYLE suffers from inconsistancy in it's production but as far as B-Movies go... I recommend it. (If you can find it).
½ February 3, 2009
ok vampirish movie with Michael Pare in the leading role. i would`nt say this film was gory, but there are some pretty nasty beheadings to behold. another b-grade horror movie is just what the world needs. no, i am not being sarcastic.
½ January 27, 2009
I just couldn't give this movie any attention it was that dull the gargoyles acted better from the actors. o.o ; ) ; P I may have to re-watch this another time to determine a better rating as I was not into this the first time around.
August 17, 2008
The acting in this movie is reminiscent of Cinimax or Showtime late night soft core porn, in fact there were many scenes where i expected them to have sex. It was overly dramatic and tried to be a movie it wasn't. A recommended title for a Bad-Movie night
½ June 24, 2008
HAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHA. what a bad movie. I want my 5$ and 97mins back.
May 19, 2008
there's a difference between b-movies and crap.
½ March 8, 2008
I did not like this movie at all.
February 4, 2008
Made for DVD crap, but the crap i like
½ October 20, 2007
Look at it, just look at it.
April 6, 2007
Set in Romania, my home country. The only reason I started watching it, but it was very good.
February 28, 2007
I liked the animated series...this movie probably sucks though
½ December 10, 2006
Quite a poor movie to say the least..... Certainly not worth the time to watch it.
December 8, 2006
I want to see this film!
October 26, 2006
loved the tv show of gargoyles, but not a fan of movies about them
Page 1 of 2