Genghis Blues - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Genghis Blues Reviews

Page 1 of 4
October 31, 2015
One of the most unique documentaries out there.
November 12, 2014
Es una gran historia aunque no muy bien llevada por los realizadores. Aún así es una permanente sorpresa, una vuelta por lo desconocido para casi todos. Pudo ser mejor es verdad, y hay evidentemente escenas que sobran, pero la sola intención vale la pena.
½ May 3, 2014
It's unfortunate that the only two highlighted reviews here on RT are from ignorant assholes with zero empathy. It's one of the most heart-felt documentaries I've ever seen. I question the authenticity of those who apparently have never experienced sadness and true joy.
December 9, 2013
Genghis Blues es un documental de dos mundos que jamás debieron encontrarse. El de un músico ciego americano, cantante de blues, que en tardes de ocio descubre una de las mayores manifestaciones artísticas humanas. Se trata de la música proveniente de la pequeña Tuva, una region al sur de Rusia, cerca de Mongolia, donde con el poder de la voz construyen una serie de sonidos que nada envidian a instrumentos occidentales. Desde entonces, Pena buscará conocer la cultura, y tendrá el viaje de su vida. Recomendable.
March 20, 2013
A low budget production, but an interesting story about a blind blues singer from San Francisco who teaches himself the almost inhuman sounding techniques of Tuvan throat singing, and which takes him on a very unlikely journey. Immensely human. Worth watching.
½ February 19, 2013
An extraordinary tale of music, acceptance and personal drama, it shows signs of being made of amateur filmmakers but the human drama is undeniable.
August 12, 2011
Watching right now-such a cool tradition !
November 17, 2010
Je devrais me mettre à tenir une sà (C)ance hebdomadaire de documentaires d'outre-tombe à la maison, ça a toujours l'air moins bizarre de regarder des films obscurs quand on n'est pas seul. Genghis Blues raconte la rencontre improbable entre un bluesman aveugle et le chant diphonique de Tuva, une contrà (C)e situà (C)e en Russie, juste au nord de la Mongolie. L'histoire est touchante et la qualità (C) de la musique fait fonctionner ce documentaire fascinant qui hà (C)las pèche par deux grosses lacunes.

L'aspect pà (C)dagogique est hà (C)las dà (C)laissà (C), on nous dit par exemple qu'il existe sept types de chants mais on ne nous nomme que les deux ou trois styles maitrisà (C)s par les protagonistes. Ne pas avoir une seule minute pour au moins nommer et dà (C)crire brièvement les autres est extrêmement surprenant. De même, on apprend qu'un des plus important chanteur a à (C)tà (C) mis en prison pour agitation politique mais on n'en saura pas plus.

Niveau visuel, on aurait aussi là (C)gitimement pu s'attendre à plus d'audace. Les paysages semblent superbes mais ne sont pas mis en valeur. Nà (C)anmoins il y a quelque chose de và (C)ritablement magique dans cette rencontre improbable entre deux musiciens que tout oppose.
August 14, 2010
Can't believe someone Flixsters thought this wasn't stellar. They probably hated YOU'RE GONNA MISS ME, too. Genghis Blues is low-budget true, but it's also inspiring without flash. I watched with again with friends last night and thought it was even better than when ten years ago.
July 2, 2010
it's a crazy ride...
December 29, 2009
I met kongar ol ondar, very cool.
½ September 29, 2009
I a fan of Tuvan music any way, Good documentary, good people.
September 27, 2009
swell guy, mediocre documentary.
April 20, 2009
A moving and truly interesting documentary of the unlikely combination of blues legend Paul Pena and traditional throat singing of the people of Tuva, a small and remote Asian country sandwiched between Russia and Mongolia. As I've also felt the awkwardness and panic at being an American in a very foreign land, the situations hit a strange chord with me, if you'll pardon the slight pun.

Though the cinematography is admittedly of inferior quality (though this is excusable given the circumstances) it's really the quirky story, the joy and pain of the real live characters, and most of all the intriguing music that drive this film along. An intriguing story, and one that I take a certain pride in because it goes a ways in countering the stereotype of Americans being hailed as Gods in foreign lands, simply because they are Americans. Rather, Pena is a true ambassador to the strange land and is honored not because of where he's from but because of the respect, interest, and love that he has for Tuva, its culture, and its people. The joy that crept across people's faces as the two cultures intertwined was very inspiring.
½ January 26, 2009
Very interesting, but could have been much better. The music and the culture was wonderful. Wish it could have focused more on that than Paul Pena and the crew. There's a lot of things that could have been done better.
½ January 17, 2009
blues mashed up with tuvan throatsinging? amazing!
December 1, 2008
A story that no one could have dreamed up, so it HAD to be a documentary. Wonderful stuff.
½ October 27, 2008
Completely fascinating and unlikely story that is uplifting without being hokey. I really enjoyed this one and would definitely recommend it.
October 23, 2008
What an amazing documentary. Such an unusual cultural combination. Touching, intimate, poetic.
½ September 13, 2008
Though largely composed of amateur video shot earlier in the nineties, this doc is driven forward by the riveting story and music of that it documents. Fascinating and heartwarming.
Page 1 of 4