Gerry - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Gerry Reviews

April 11, 2008
The two stars...[Casey Affleck and Matt Damon]...both playing characters named Gerry, wander across the desert for some reason, and if you enjoy watching them on any pretext, you'll probably enjoy this; if you don't, you won't.
April 18, 2003
If you can get lost along with it, Van Sant's Gerry is actually anything but empty: At times it's tonically liberating.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
April 18, 2003
Fascinating, even if perversely so, and quite beautiful.
Read More | Original Score: 3/4
April 17, 2003
If nothing else, Gerry is restful, though I'm not sure that counts as a recommendation.
Read More | Original Score: C
April 4, 2003
Now we know what happens when director Gus Van Sant gets bored. He makes us bored.
Read More | Original Score: 2/5
March 28, 2003
There's a purity of purpose in Gerry -- a clean, unwavering focus -- that makes the movie feel strangely exhilarating, even when nothing is happening on the screen.
Read More | Original Score: 3/4
March 21, 2003
The result is focused, breathtakingly gorgeous and unexpectedly droll.
Read More | Original Score: 3.5/4
March 20, 2003
On the surface it may seem as barren as its desert, but underneath is a beautiful and surreal meditation.
Full Review | Original Score: B
March 14, 2003
Even though it is hugely self-indulgent, painfully slow and as repetitive as walking around in circles in the desert, the film has a sort of twisted charm by its end.
Read More | Original Score: B-
March 14, 2003
Directors are supposed to suffer for their art, but we're the ones stranded and craving sustenance.
Read More | Original Score: 2/4
March 7, 2003
An innovative and unusually artistic experiment.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/4
February 28, 2003
Ragingly bad art that contributes to a definition of independent film as something no one would want to sit through.
Full Review | Original Score: 0/4
February 28, 2003
The best way to approach Gerry -- perhaps the only way -- is to treat it as a sanctuary, a film to be visited the way you would a Buddhist temple or a piece of ambient music.
Full Review | Original Score: 3.5/4
February 28, 2003
After a while, you may start to feel like Gerry One and Two: a little fuzzy in the brain.
February 28, 2003
The movie is so gloriously bloody-minded, so perverse in its obstinacy, that it rises to a kind of mad purity.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
February 28, 2003
Zzzzzzzz. Zzzzzzzzzzzzzz. Zzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzz. Ulph. Umph. Ach. ZZZZZZZzzzzzzzz.
February 27, 2003
Deserves its own wing in The Old Curiosity Shop.
Read More | Original Score: 2/4
February 27, 2003
It's definitely one of the strangest films ever made by a major U.S. director -- yet I liked it.
Read More | Original Score: 3.5/4
February 24, 2003
Arty exercise that strands Matt Damon and Casey Affleck (both named Gerry) in a desert with little to say and do except lose themselves in an existential wasteland of doomed beauty.
Read More | Original Score: 1/4
February 19, 2003
This self-indulgent bilge is about -- absolutely nothing!
February 18, 2003
I could say for the first forty-five minutes or so it was funny and interesting and I got what he was doing, but it just becomes tedious ...
February 15, 2003
I'd be lying if I said it didn't annoy the hell out of me for most of its 103-minute running time. But I might watch it again sometime and try a little harder to get on its wavelength.
February 14, 2003
The results are part biblical allegory, part existential crucible, and remind one that anytime the meaning of life is questioned, it's positive -- because it presumes the possibility of meaning.
Read More | Original Score: 3.5/4
February 14, 2003
A series of images that have little meaning or emotional impact beyond their prettiness, and which become less compelling as time crawls slowly by.
Read More | Original Score: 2/4
February 13, 2003
With all its quirks, Gerry seeps into your pores like the wind-whipped sand that stings the faces of these disoriented hikers.
Read More | Original Score: 3/5
February 13, 2003
A tough, vigorous exercise in cinematic form and pure aesthetics.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
February 12, 2003
Van Sant ultimately reveals so little about this odd couple that we frankly don't give a damn what happens to them.
February 12, 2003
Gerry meanders, all right, but by the end of the movie, you know that you've been somewhere.
Full Review | Original Score: A-
February 11, 2003
An anxious movie-object that might well wonder whether its minimalist aspiration is a matter of ambitious purity or empty pretense.
August 21, 2002
The film wears you down in all the wrong ways.