Get Real - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Get Real Reviews

Page 1 of 19
½ August 10, 2016
Get Real is a excellent portrayal of homosexuality in high school. This is a dramedy that is both engaging, and memorable.
½ April 2, 2016
A closeted gay teen falls into a romantic relationship with a popular jock who is afraid to even openly admit that they are friends. A pretty decent coming-of-age story from England.
February 21, 2016
Why is the trailer for GET REAL is not matching the real trailer and some PHOTOS
September 27, 2015
Can't believe I saw it for first time tonight
Where have I been
Was great to see how much has changed
Good to meet cast and crew tonight
½ March 28, 2015
One of the best coming of age gay films!
September 11, 2014
Great feel good Brit movie
March 15, 2014
love the story line very relatable.
½ March 13, 2014
In my Top 10 of the genre; Absolutely loved this movie !
January 1, 2014
Um filme agradável sobre confusões e descobertas. A duração poderia ser um pouco mais curta, mas as boas atuações do elenco e a construção multidimensional dos personagens prendem até o fim.
½ November 10, 2013
A rather melodramatic and hackneyed coming out story. Had potential, but never really hits it. Shame.
September 4, 2013
Get real is brilliant in so many way mixing drama and comedy to make a engaging dramedy. Its plot is genious a serious subject on coming out of the closet. Get real is really self-briliantly sends a pleasent message (if your gay dont hide it, period.)


Performance was great, Ben Silverstone being the openly gay did a outstanding performance. Brad Gortan a eye-candy, and his performance was very believable in the closet gay. Overall a great dramedy with male eye candy and great performance by Ben Silverstone, and Brad Gortan.
½ July 19, 2013
"Get Real" is a simple yet sweet tale of suppressed teenage love. 16-year-old Stephen (Ben Silverstone) has known he was gay since he was eleven, and satisfies his hidden urges by meeting men at a discreet park public toilet. However, after a misunderstanding of identity in the toilet cubicles, school sporting stud John (Brad Gorton) accidently reveals that he is curious about men. Stephen instantly falls for John, where as John is still confused and scared about his feeling and what they mean. Stephen helps John through the pain and they develop an intimate and secret relationship.
We witness Stephen's pain of wanting to be with John at all times while John wants to keeps their feelings under wraps and won't even look at Stephen at school.
Also this film is very domestic and low-key, it perfectly portrays to the audience the struggle that many teenagers feel when attempting to please your family and friends and lying to yourself simultaneously. Therefore I think many people will be able to relate to this film and perhaps gain some confidence from its messages.
Throughout the film we are reminded of the pressures of society to conform and to be "normal," with John calling Stephen "dodgy" when he finds out that he is gay; furthermore John's reaction to almost being caught kissing Stephen reveals just what teen etiquette expects. I feel this film slightly clings to the cliché of the supporting mother and distant and naive father; they should have made him more conscientious to add some originality to the mix. The climax of the film is extremely cathartic, and due to Silverstone's convincing performance we really feel the happiness of the truth being out, and also the fear of what the consequences may be.
December 30, 2012
A great and authentic portrayal of what it's like to grow up and be gay. A brilliant score matched with "down to earth" acting but lacking in depth with certain characters.
Super Reviewer
½ December 23, 2012
It's not perfect, but the film features an interesting plot and generally strong performances, especially from the lead character.
December 19, 2012
This is one of the best gay themed films ever!
December 7, 2012
Want to see it! Will have to take into account!
November 1, 2012
Great movie. Its heartbreaking, but inspiring at the same time. Not sure if that makes sense.
July 12, 2012
Convincing performances and a smart script highlight this supremely "real" depiction of teenage-self discovery, first loves, and the confusion of sexuality.
July 9, 2012
Buena pelicula. Aborda con mucho respeto el tema de la homosexualidad.
Page 1 of 19