Minn‚-yatteruka! (Getting Any?) - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Minn‚-yatteruka! (Getting Any?) Reviews

Page 1 of 3
Super Reviewer
½ July 3, 2013
Before directing Takeshi Kitano was well known in Japan as one half of the incredibly popular stand up comedy duo 'The Two Beats'. Upon the disbanding of the duo Kitano moved on to more serious filmic ventures, creating a range of dark, nihilistic yakuza films between the years of 1989 and 1993. In 1995, however, following his suicide attempt Kitano returned to his "beat" roots, and released the slapstick comedy 'Getting Any?'.

Received incredibly well in it's home country 'Getting Any' was the biggest success of Kitano's first 5 features. The plot follows Dankan, a social loser obsessed with the idea that if he is to have sex he must first own a car, as no woman can resist a man with a car. The narrative is incredibly episodic, with Dankan jumping from one ridiculous situation to another; in this sense the film feels like a feature length sketch show, with some of the jokes landing and others not.

As the film continues it moves more and more into the realm of stupidity, leaving any semblance of character development and believability far behind. Dankan becomes an actor, a hit-man and half fly over the over-long 100 minute running time and, although never completely boring the film begins to feel tiresome as it nears its finale.

Overall 'Getting Any?' is the weakest I've seen Kitano and puts an end to the director's spree of touching, brilliant cinema (which thankfully later returns). I'd only recommend this if you're a big Kitano fan.
October 24, 2011
WTF Japan strikes again. Many of the jokes already seen in cartoons.
October 10, 2011
Hrpa slabo povezanih skeceva od kojih je vecina bas glupa. Znam da sam u zivotu gledao i glupljih filmova, ali ovog trena ih se ne mogu sjetiti.
October 1, 2011
Loved this fucking movie, it actually made me laugh dozens of times -- awesome Takeshi, I'm glad I tracked this fucker down.
½ July 22, 2011
Japan's answer to Monty Python, albeit weirder.
½ March 2, 2011
"Minna, Yatteruka?" is the very best "Beat Takeshi" movie, not a "Kitano Takeshi" movie. All of his comic sensibility is right here, about sex, violence, slapstick, toilet humor, and craziness that is just... Beat Takeshi. I know everything about this movie is hysterical, but I know a lot of other people will find it strange and incomprehensible. I know the story makes absolutely no sense, but that's the fun in watching it. Definitely an artistic change for Takeshi, as his later films had more of the wild and absurd style frequent in "Getting Any?".

Oh, so the story? A mid-30's lone guy decides it's finally time to have sex. But how? Buying a car? Flying first class on an airplane? Becoming an actor? Becoming a Yakuza? Becoming an invisible man? Becoming a human fly? Why not?
½ June 4, 2010
I just wanted some car sex.
½ May 1, 2010
A poorer version of American Pie... the end makes no sense, but I'm wondering if most of it's reference were just lost in translation...
½ April 10, 2010
unik sekali diawali ide gila car sex sampai jadi monster lalat... sayangnya film2 komedi Kitano bukan tipikal komedi selera saya
December 20, 2009
One of the funniest Japanese movies I've seen directed by the legendary Takeshi Kitano. It's wild and wacky with some completely random gags based on one man who's desperate for sex. There are many parodies including that of The Fly and some kaiju movies. I loved it and laughed a lot watching it.
½ February 15, 2009
More of a "Beat" Kitano but still retains the Takeshi Kitano. Predicts the future.
The first film to accurately portray car sex.
super cartoon!
January 6, 2009
Weird comedy. The first 30 minutes are quite fun, the rest is not that good if you don't dig japanese TV and so on.
October 5, 2008
One of the funniest Japanese movies I've seen directed by the legendary Takeshi Kitano. It's wild and wacky with some completely random gags based on one man who's desperate for sex. There are many parodies including that of The Fly and some kaiju movies. I loved it and laughed a lot watching it.
½ August 31, 2008
pocetak je bio obecavajuci... na par scena smo svi umrli od smijeha, ali kasnije je malo postalo prenaporno i zapetljano...
japanska verzija americke pite :)
July 16, 2008
Dal genio di Takeshi Kitano un racconto visionario, quasi surreale, di un giovane e delle sue avventure strampalate. Assurdo.
½ July 14, 2008
Hmm guess I must review this one again. Getting Any? starts out really funny and does a good job at keeping up that wacky tone throughout the movie. Kitano is funny as the mad scientist and the lead guy does look like the type who isn't good with the ladies but wishes he was. His journey to have car sex takes him across all different types of vehicles and assorted jobs/criminal attempts which he thinks will land him the big bucks to be able to do it. It's a classic slapstick comedy, but is totally unique to Japan. Sometimes a little dumb and boring, but overall enjoyable. In the end this movie is asking you Minna Yatsuteruka!!! :P
½ May 24, 2008
The most time-wasting, random, senseless, and stupid film ever?
½ April 30, 2008
A hilarious little trip from one of the many faces of Kitano. Every time you think it goes far enough, it goes a little further.
March 31, 2008
- "Mevrouw, wilt u instappen?"
- "Waarom?"
- "Autosex."

Kitano heeft een film gemaakt in de traditie van ‚??Top Secret‚?? en ‚??Return of the Killer Tomatoes‚??; een film vol kurkdroge absurde grappen, gebruik makend van typische Japanse tradities en clich√©s. In deze komedie vormen de sexuele fantasie√ęn van het hoofdpersonage de motor voor een aaneenschakeling van absurde gags. De dodelijk ernstige manier waarop die in beeld worden zorgen de hele film door voor hevige lachaanvallen.

Voor alle fans van ‚??Buiten de Zone‚??.
Page 1 of 3