Ghostbusters (1984 Original) - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Ghostbusters (1984 Original) Reviews

Page 1 of 4
May 15, 2017
Despite the flaws I've dwelled on here, I feel real affection for Ghostbusters. How could you not? It's goofy, funny, homey - it's genuine comfort food
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
July 15, 2016
...an erratic yet consistently entertaining summer blockbuster...
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
June 8, 2016
"Ghostbusters" is like romping through Disneyland's haunted house with Bill Murray.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
June 16, 2015
Ghostbusters is primarily a showcase for Murray, who slinks through the movie muttering his lines in his usual cheeky fashion and getting off an occasionally hilarious crack that proves he's thoroughly enjoying himself.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
June 16, 2015
The plotting may be primitive, but it's all carried off with far more style and finesse than one might expect from the creators of Animal House and Meatballs.
June 16, 2015
It's almost impossible not to smile while watching it.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/4
October 31, 2014
Part of the sheer joy of this movie -- aside from the comic timing of Bill Murray -- is the cartoonish crapness of its apparitions and their placid acceptance by the Ghostbusters team.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
October 29, 2014
What you realise about Ghostbusters thirty years on is that Bill Murray is a comedy genius.
Full Review | Original Score: 7/10
October 27, 2014
It speaks to its entire audience, without ever seeming to joke over children's heads in a snide or overly knowing manner.
Full Review | Original Score: 5/5
October 27, 2014
The elastic structure provides ample room for inspired surrealism, yet the looseness never compromises the film's tongue-in-cheek love letter to pre-gentrification Manhattan or its piercing satire of Reaganite go-getting ...
Full Review | Original Score: 5/5
August 30, 2014
Thirty years later, there are still rumblings of making another sequel, but no one would dare suggest a reboot or re-imagining; Ghostbusters is perfect exactly as it is.
Full Review | Original Score: 4.0/4.0
August 29, 2014
If you've never experienced GHOSTBUSTERS on the big screen, you really need to go see this. If not I'm afraid you'll have to turn in your geek card.
Full Review | Original Score: 10
August 19, 2014
On balance, Ghostbusters is a hoot. It's Murray's picture, and in a triumph of mind over matter, he blows away the film's boring special effects with his one-liners.
June 12, 2014
A fantasy, but with no touches of reality at all, to be enjoyed for its zany humour typical of the "National Lampoon" school from which several of its contributors are drawn.
June 9, 2014
Ghostbusters thrives on the fine line between taking it all seriously enough to be scary, then poking fun at it in the most creative ways possible.
Full Review | Original Score: A
May 22, 2014
GHOSTBUSTERS is a movie that I've seen well over a hundred times and I'm still not sick of it, nor do I think I ever will. It's an iconic comedy that I think has held up very well over the past 30 years.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/4
March 1, 2014
If for nothing else, deserves to be fondly remembered for bringing the Stay Puft Marshmallow Man into the world.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
October 16, 2013
An exciting and fun genre hybrid rarely mastered.
July 29, 2013
Director Ivan Reitman keeps the Aykroyd-Ramis screenplay zipping right along, creating something like Abbott & Costello Meet the Exorcist. Aykroyd and Murray make the perfect summer tonic for raising spirits.
May 6, 2013
In both the funny and the (mildly) scary moments, the cast does itself proud.
Page 1 of 4