Ghosts of the Abyss - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Ghosts of the Abyss Reviews

Page 1 of 6
May 30, 2003
Ghosts Of the Abyss is an interesting experiment which fails to take full advantage of the real opportunity granted in its inception - to utilize emerging technology to explore terrain that has never been witnessed by humans. . .
April 29, 2009
What's the point of this documentary?
April 7, 2003
It's frustrating that Cameron couldn't make a proper documentary, because the footage is astonishingly beautiful, the subject matter is compelling and the timing is eerily relevant.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/4
March 16, 2004
As seqüências rodadas nos destroços do Titanic são estupendas, mas o filme constantemente perde o foco e gasta muito tempo com a narração pouco inspirada de Paxton.
| Original Score: 3/5
April 17, 2004
The picture's beauty and Cameron's amazing photographic work provide much pleasure. It's just that...there is the feeling we've been there and seen it all before.
Full Review | Original Score: 6/10
September 12, 2012
I wouldn't call "Ghosts of the Abyss" a compelling documentary or even an artistic one. It's more like a visit to a museum-in this case, one that's 12,500 feet below the surface.
Full Review | Original Score: 6/10
April 26, 2003
Ghosts of the Abyss isn't emotionally engaging or even all that interesting.
April 14, 2003
If you've seen one rusticle-encrusted antique armoire, you've seen 'em all.
Read More | Original Score: 2/4
April 11, 2003
Like its subject's fateful voyage?, Ghosts of the Abyss makes it about two-thirds of the way to its port before sinking.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/4
December 30, 2006
Despite Paxton's whooping every time a new artefact comes on screen, it's hard to be constantly excited about watching a bunch of rusty, decayed junk -- historic and three-dimensional though it may be.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/5
April 18, 2003
Might as well be titled: James Cameron: What I Did On My Holidays.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/5
April 10, 2003
Rivaling only George Lucas as Hollywood's reigning tech-obsessed gadget wizard, Cameron (who is never introduced, he's just there) seems pretty fascinated by this stuff, but as a filmmaker he has a hard time letting anybody else in on the appeal.
July 16, 2003
Cameron is forever associated with the fateful ship, and I think it's time he moved on.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/4
April 18, 2003
Do we really need to see Cameron and his team of scientists blown up to such nauseating proportions?
April 10, 2003
A trip to the bottom of the sea that has no real purpose save to flog the wreck of the Titanic, Cameron's cash cow.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/4
April 22, 2004
Cameron has gone from shaping the zeitgeist to spoonfeeding it
Full Review | Original Score: 1.5/4
April 9, 2003
If I wanted to have Bill Paxton's face in my lap... I'd move to Hollywood!
Full Review | Original Score: 4/10
April 6, 2003
What his expedition finds is less interesting to me than how he finds it. The tiny submarines, the 6 foot model, the video robots - these are all innovative, curious.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/4
April 11, 2003
We're watching a kid playing video games at a tomb.
April 15, 2003
Aside from his CGI ghostcraft unwittingly co-opting Pat O'Neill's last feature, Cameron is entirely predictable in a marines T-shirt, exhorting, 'Next stop, Titanic -- rock 'n' roll!'
Page 1 of 6