Ghosts of the Abyss - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Ghosts of the Abyss Reviews

Page 1 of 5
Todd Gilchrist
FilmStew.com
May 30, 2003
Ghosts Of the Abyss is an interesting experiment which fails to take full advantage of the real opportunity granted in its inception - to utilize emerging technology to explore terrain that has never been witnessed by humans. . .
Felix Vasquez Jr.
Cinema Crazed
April 29, 2009
What's the point of this documentary?
Rich Cline
Shadows on the Wall
April 7, 2003
It's frustrating that Cameron couldn't make a proper documentary, because the footage is astonishingly beautiful, the subject matter is compelling and the timing is eerily relevant.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/4
Pablo Villaça
Cinema em Cena
March 16, 2004
As seqüências rodadas nos destroços do Titanic são estupendas, mas o filme constantemente perde o foco e gasta muito tempo com a narração pouco inspirada de Paxton.
| Original Score: 3/5
John J. Puccio
Movie Metropolis
April 17, 2004
The picture's beauty and Cameron's amazing photographic work provide much pleasure. It's just that...there is the feeling we've been there and seen it all before.
Full Review | Original Score: 6/10
James Plath
Movie Metropolis
September 12, 2012
I wouldn't call "Ghosts of the Abyss" a compelling documentary or even an artistic one. It's more like a visit to a museum-in this case, one that's 12,500 feet below the surface.
Full Review | Original Score: 6/10
Jennifer D. Wesley
PopMatters
April 26, 2003
Ghosts of the Abyss isn't emotionally engaging or even all that interesting.
John Beifuss
Commercial Appeal (Memphis, TN)
April 14, 2003
If you've seen one rusticle-encrusted antique armoire, you've seen 'em all.
Read More | Original Score: 2/4
Elias Savada
Nitrate Online
April 11, 2003
Like its subject's fateful voyage?, Ghosts of the Abyss makes it about two-thirds of the way to its port before sinking.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/4
Olly Richards
Empire Magazine
December 30, 2006
Despite Paxton's whooping every time a new artefact comes on screen, it's hard to be constantly excited about watching a bunch of rusty, decayed junk -- historic and three-dimensional though it may be.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/5
Nev Pierce
BBC.com
April 18, 2003
Might as well be titled: James Cameron: What I Did On My Holidays.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/5
Top Critic
Mark Olsen
L.A. Weekly
April 10, 2003
Rivaling only George Lucas as Hollywood's reigning tech-obsessed gadget wizard, Cameron (who is never introduced, he's just there) seems pretty fascinated by this stuff, but as a filmmaker he has a hard time letting anybody else in on the appeal.
Mark Dujsik
Mark Reviews Movies
July 16, 2003
Cameron is forever associated with the fateful ship, and I think it's time he moved on.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/4
Karl Schwabauer
Slant Magazine
April 18, 2003
Do we really need to see Cameron and his team of scientists blown up to such nauseating proportions?
Top Critic
Kevin M. Williams
Chicago Tribune
April 10, 2003
A trip to the bottom of the sea that has no real purpose save to flog the wreck of the Titanic, Cameron's cash cow.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/4
Bill Chambers
Film Freak Central
April 22, 2004
Cameron has gone from shaping the zeitgeist to spoonfeeding it
Full Review | Original Score: 1.5/4
JoBlo
JoBlo's Movie Emporium
April 9, 2003
If I wanted to have Bill Paxton's face in my lap... I'd move to Hollywood!
Full Review | Original Score: 4/10
Ross Anthony
Hollywood Report Card
April 6, 2003
What his expedition finds is less interesting to me than how he finds it. The tiny submarines, the 6 foot model, the video robots - these are all innovative, curious.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/4
Top Critic
Charles Taylor
Salon.com
April 11, 2003
We're watching a kid playing video games at a tomb.
Top Critic
Edward Crouse
Village Voice
April 15, 2003
Aside from his CGI ghostcraft unwittingly co-opting Pat O'Neill's last feature, Cameron is entirely predictable in a marines T-shirt, exhorting, 'Next stop, Titanic -- rock 'n' roll!'
Page 1 of 5