Ghoulies IV - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Ghoulies IV Reviews

Page 1 of 2
½ April 29, 2014
Ghoulies were never great movies although the first two are watchable schlock. This one doesn't even have ghoulies in it save for one flashback scene from the first film!
October 12, 2013
Pretty terrible, even by B-movie standards. Other than the hot, scantily clad ladies, this has absolutely nothing going for it. The titular Ghoulies are either children or little people (people mcnuggets?) in awful costumes and have nearly anything to do with the events of the story. They were thrown in to capitalize on the franchise name. Avoid this.
August 5, 2013
A absurd film that manages to be un-funny and has dull-action. The ghoulies are different and have nothing to do with the film, and most of the time it focuses on some girl in leather for no reason. The plot is scrambled, the characters suck, and the effects are laughable. It doesn't feel like a Ghoulies film, although it does tie back to some of the characters and reuses some of the footage from the original.
January 22, 2013
Movies used to be about something. That something was midgets in troll costumes running around a movie that has nothing to do with them. Scotty is my hero. Can't wait for the sequel: Ghoulies IV Part 2.
October 27, 2012
I was very disappointed they did not use the same Ghoulies as the previous films. The two in this film stunk. On the plus side, Stacie Randall has a prominent role. Poor film that proves I could watch her in anything.
½ August 5, 2012
i liked the brought back Jonathan...but no real Ghoulies? The two slapstick things were more trolls. But the villian in her leather number was a hottie.
Super Reviewer
½ June 10, 2012
Last 'Ghoulies' outing? who knows but the franchise ended on a flat note with this mess that's for sure. I'm not really sure what the plot was all about to be frank, some catsuit clad female is after an amulet to free some big demon fella. Also for some reason two Ghoulies are set loose in 'our' world and cause havoc trying to get back to their own world.

The main issue here is of course the fact the Ghoulies have been replaced with little people in shitty looking costumes, gone are the endearing little puppets folks. It wouldn't be so bad but these outfits really do look terrible, their mouths hardly open despite them speaking clearly which sticks out like a sore thumb. Sticks out like really badly designed costumes.

The other horrific problem is the quite awful attempt at comedy in this film. The Ghoulies try for a double act with slapstick and tomfoolery which is just dreadful, whilst their voices are provided by some guys trying their best to be hip and Chris Rock it seems.

Peter Liapis is back in this film which does offer a little continuity and the only plus point within the film really, the other is Stacie Randall in her amazingly gorgeous tight catsuit hehe. There is one reasonable stunt car sequence involving a reasonable explosion at the end but apart from that this film is cheap dross and brings down the 'Ghoulies' franchise (which wasn't that good in the first place).
½ February 23, 2012
Not only the worst in the series but one of the worst movies I've ever seen without the likes of MST3K. Just awful and the ghoulies looked NOTHING like Ghoulies!
½ January 21, 2012
When movies are this bad I tend to really enjoy them! I would not recommend this to anyone who is not a fan of the "terrible movies." Also, this movie is the reason why there never was a Ghoulies 5 even considered! Ha.
DrStrangeblog
Super Reviewer
July 25, 2011
Jim Wynorski w/ BA Woods, so....
½ July 1, 2011
You can't get more crap than this!
May 27, 2010
I was very disappointed they did not use the same Ghoulies as the previous films. The two in this film stunk. On the plus side, Stacie Randall has a prominent role. Poor film that proves I could watch her in anything.
May 9, 2010
The Ghoulies franchise will never go down in history as a good horror series. It's dopey and dumb. However despite this who knew that the this series could fill the toilet more with ghoulie excrement. In comes Ghoulies fucking IV just to show that a shitty franchise can get even shittier. All I have to say is you know the film is going to be bad with B-movie master Charles Band doesn't even return to produce!

We have a smart-ass cop who investigates a satanic ritual. It happens to be connected to an ex-girlfriend who wants to resurrect some demon with an amulet. While doing so she accidentally releases two ghoulies from hell and the plot meanders boringly to a climax to free the demon.

The main problem with this fucking film is the damn ghoulies themselves. When I envision a ghoulie, it's a crappy puppet that looks melted in the sun. That's the way ghoulies are supposed to look damn it! Here our "ghoulies" are midgets in costumes. These aren't ghoulies! What's even more annoying is that these "ghoulies" don't even factor into the plot! It's like the screenwriter wrote a film about a cop with an ex-satanist girlfriends, connected it to an "established" franchise and sloppily wrote in some "ghoulie" characters. You could cut the ghoulie sequences out completely and it wouldn't affect the "plot" one iota. The film also tries to make a connection with the first film by having actor Peter Liapis return "supposedly" as the same character he played in the original. He was a geeky occultist in the original and now he is some smart mouthed, ego centric cop? I don't buy it and it's another lame attempt to make a connection. Our two "ghoulies" even have a clunky flashback sequence to the first film to reinforce to the audience that our cop is the same character. I call BULLSHIT!

What I don't get is this is directed by schlock master Jim Wynorski, who usually makes fun of genre films like this and makes them extremely entertaining (see Deathstalker II for example). However here he makes this cheap looking junk almost unwatchable. It does load the film with sexy women and nudity but that's only to hide the fact this film is a complete waste. What's ironic is that that all promotional art to this film doesn't feature the trademark toilet with a ghoulie or two coming out of it like the first three entries. If any film the series belongs in the toilet, it's this one!
March 28, 2010
Why an r rated movie in the us while its 12 years and over in my country? i mean, seriously. and the effects are pretty cheap.
½ October 20, 2009
A silly movie. Not as entertaining as Ghoulies 2 or Ghoulies Go To College. However, it is a more faithful sequel to the original Ghoulies than either of the other installments. Peter Liapis returns to his role as Jonathan Graves. Unfortunately the ghoulies are replaced by two midgets in costume (one of which happens to be Tony Cox, the guy from Friday and Bad Santa). Go figure, this film was directed by the same guy who did Munchie and Munchie Strikes Back. Jim Wynorski seems to not care what puppet creatures look like before he gets his hands on them, and he always makes them less in number (Munchie looks nothing like the Munchies and Wynorski's ghoulies look nothing like the originals). However, instead of ignoring back stories set up in previous installments, as he did with Munchie when he turned the horror film into a children's comedy, Wynorski instead relies heavily on the original Ghoulies. He even recycles footage from that movie. Not a totally failed attempt at sequel movie making, but I can't really recommend this to anyone other than Ghoulieheads.
½ June 22, 2009
Ghoulies IV is, without question, the worst in the series, and of course, it comes from the silly-minded of Jim Wynorski who's made hundreds of low-budget crap (Munchie, The Bare Wench Project) and has only ever made like 1 good movie (Chopping Mall). Anyways, this abomination follows along the same lines as the first film (big mistake) as demonic guy Johnathan Graves (returning from the first film) tries to break into earth with the help of a semi-hot babe in leather(Stacie Randall, whose better suited for amatuer porno). Also, there are two midgets (Arturo Gil and Tony Cox) in terrible costumes (NO ANIMATRONIC GHOULIES??? HUGE MISTAKE) walking around, really doing nothing to help the plot other than try and be funny, but their not funny...their not funny. This film is just plain terrible. Completely destroys the series.
½ April 30, 2009
This is terrible and i would only recommend watching if youve seen the others. Even though it relates to the original they really fucked the Ghoulies up. Quite annoying!
½ April 26, 2009
A pointless entry in the series
December 14, 2008
Jonathan from the original returns to take on some psycho mental patient.
November 5, 2008
Barely a sequel. What happened to the real fuckin' Ghoulies? These fake ass imitations are barely even in the movie. Their more of a background to the story.
Page 1 of 2