G.I. Joe: The Rise of Cobra - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

G.I. Joe: The Rise of Cobra Reviews

Page 1 of 1859
January 2, 2018
Idk why the reviews are so bad, but I thought it was great, actually. I was just expecting more to happen and more to the plot, but it was great otherwise. People must be on drugs if they don't like this movie.
½ January 1, 2018
There is a certain type of movies which are made to hurt people like me - that's how aggressively stupid they are. Let's just say that at some point of this "movie" there is a guy who needs to yell a secret Celtic word to drive a stolen jet and to destroy two missiles with nanowarheads sent to blow up Moscow and Washington...
Super Reviewer
½ December 30, 2017
G.I. Joe. Where to begin. Take a wildly popular and entertaining cartoon, top selling toy line, and give it a massive following that crosses a number of generations. Twist it, warp it, mutate it until it's unrecognizable. Now take a big dump on it, and put it to nonstop, irritating music along with cheesy CGI, bad acting, and a REALLY bad story, and you have G.I. Joe: Rise of Cobra.
I would call it laughably bad, but there is nothing humorous about how absolutely stupid this movie is. They could have given the characters different names and called it something else so they could have taken another crack at it.
G.I. Joe. G.I. JOE!!! You have one shot to get it right over the next few decades, and THIS is what we get? It's pathetic. I can usually at least get SOME entertainment value from it that the complete lack of physics and reality are forgivable. G.I. Joe made it stupid. It was ridiculous in every way.
The actors and acting were sad. Street Fighter with Jean Claude Van Dam was better than this. What a simple movie.
Unfortunately there is no way to give this lump of crap less than half a star.
Ever wonder why a movie has one, maybe two different previews? One reason is that they don't budget the money for advertising, and another is because it's so BAD they can't come up with more parts of the movie to put together to make a decent trailer.
At least while I was watching XXX with Vin Diesel, I thought it was really good. As soon as I started watching G.I. Joe I wanted it to be over. I told my wife that I'd go see it again, and as soon as she got home I begged her to spare me that pain again.
They spent $175,000,000 dollars to make the most..... visually insulting movie I've ever seen. I would have paid it to Dr. Evil as ransom if he would have threatened to make me watch this. Forget the nuclear missile.
Don't go see it just because it's G.I. Joe. Don't even go see it. You have been warned.
August 6, 2017
Mindless fun. Lots of ridiculous action and explosions. Acting is pretty paper thin with very little characterization and the script lays out the plot at every step. Yet..I still enjoyed it. Lots of silly gadgets and some great fight scenes..and literally everyone's in it. :)
½ July 11, 2017
Yes the writing is absurd, the acting is overall just as silly, and the directing is overconfident and overstuffed, but I'd be lying if I said I didn't have fun watching this movie. The action was a lot of fun, and the plot was just formulaic enough to pass for a genuine G.I. Joe plot.
June 17, 2017
A great, fluent action movie.
½ May 31, 2017
A goofy plot and bad acting define G.I. Joe: Rise of the Cobra.
½ March 25, 2017
excellent visual effect~
February 1, 2017
It's good movie to watch
January 1, 2017
looks silly but its GI Joe
½ December 25, 2016
piece of horse dung.
November 16, 2016
Amazing movie. Love Channing Tatum. Love the ending.
October 6, 2016
G.I. Joe: The Rise of Cobra is exhilarating and action packed! Stephen Sommers directs an all star cast in one of the best movies ever!
September 17, 2016
Another addition to the list of guilty pleasure films I would gladly enjoy watching.
August 27, 2016
Really Good Movie, My Favorite Movie Of The 2000s And One Of My Favorite Movies Of All Time.
August 15, 2016
G.I. Joe was better than what the critics were saying. It serves as another reminder that you shouldn't listen to critics and see the movie for yourself. If you want nonstop action this is the movie for you. It basically is a live version of the cartoon which makes the visuals that had to be done a major feat to be achieved by the film. For me I thought it was a movie that ILM should have done the effects. Digital Domain was the lead visual house with alot of subs pitching in to pull off a visually ambitious movie. Nonstop entertainment. Definitely worth seeing in the theater.
½ August 12, 2016
With horrible CGI and over the top performances, Rise of Cobra ranks right up with some of the worst movies of all time.
½ August 6, 2016
A fun movie with a lot of action, but really nothing else.
½ July 22, 2016
G.I Joe is a terrible movie, but its so terrible that I enjoyed nearly every minute of it. It's one those entertaining bad movies I put with The Room and Dungeons and Dragons as entertainingly bad movies. If you can enjoy it like that or just want a movie to riff on MST3K style, this won't disappoint.
Page 1 of 1859