The Gingerdead Man - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

The Gingerdead Man Reviews

Page 1 of 20
½ July 21, 2016
Whoever came up with the idea that there should be a movie about an evil gingerbread man voiced by Gary Busy is a genius! Producer/Director Charles Band is my guess as to who came up with that gem of an idea. The movie itself, as you would expect, is ridiculous, but the film wisely does not take itself seriously. However, this film doesn't really bother to do much more than let Busey spew one-liners (which are pretty funny when voiced by Busey) and let the evil gingerbread man kill the unsuspecting bakers. The humor isn't all that funny and the characters aren't all that interesting. I always kind of harken back to "Trancers" as a Band film that really did take the time to develop characters and story, while also being a low-budget genre movie. So this film gets a two and a half star rating for Busey being an evil gingerbread man. This movie made me wish they would release "I'm with Busey" on on video. Maybe it's time for a YouTube search.
June 3, 2016
With overlong opening and closing credits, the 70 minute runtime ends up being something like 55. With this and it's blatantly silly self-aware stupidity, there really isn't too much to get mad about especially for someone who can tolerate this kind of shock. I will say that they should have explored this further; go all out with the bad puns and wacky kills.
½ April 4, 2016
I understand B level horror movies are bad. I know their budgets are very limited. However, this movie is beyond terrible. The acting is horrendous. Gary Busey has the best performance in this movie. That's a sign this movie is doomed. Another thing, there's only one location and it has poor lighting throughout the movie. The cast doesn't have any chemistry together. They sleep walk throughout the movie. There were moments in this movie where I wanted to yell at it. This movie might become a cult classic, but it won't make my list.
February 1, 2016
Sometimes you've just gotta watch a stinker, and this undoubtedly fits that bill. It's the brief (but not quite brief enough) saga of a cold-blooded killer who's put to death, then somehow returns to life as a stabbin', laughin', wise-crackin', foot-tall slab of holiday confectionery. As if that premise needed a little extra kick, this monstrous devil-cookie also happens to be voiced by Gary Busey. The concept itself is hilarious for all of ten minutes, but burns out quickly as the plot tries, courageously but hopelessly, to make us care about his victims. It's atrociously acted of course, the equivalent of D-grade porn stars who keep their clothes on, so those misguided storytelling efforts don't even have a fighting chance. A moment rarely passes without some manner of absurd stupidity. If it isn't a particularly bad pun, a wickedly awful special effect or a pathetic dash of vacant dialog, surely there's a glaringly obvious editing mistake in view. We're talking night-becomes-day-becomes-night, several times in the same scene. Removing a baking pan from the oven with bare hands, commenting on how its contents are freshly scorched, then casually setting it aside. Firing seventeen times from a six-shooter. Though it runs for just an hour and ten minutes, that seems about twice as long as it should've. I had almost as much fun glancing at the cover art as I did watching the entire thing.
½ October 20, 2015
Gary Busey, that's it.
July 11, 2015
A film that sounds so absolutely shit, I have to see it.
½ October 18, 2014
Not as good as you'd think it would be.
½ April 19, 2014
The great Charles Band from Full Moon productions made this little snoozer about a killer who is reincarnated as a Gingerbread Man. This idea and movie in general was a piss poor attempt and even with it's low budget it still didn't try to do anything clever. It's like they wanted to make a movie with an idea so stupid just because they wanted to. They succeeded. Gary Busey's screen time is only a few minutes. He then voices for the duration of the movie The Gingerdead Man itself. There's not much gore here or even any nudity. It's just one long meandering film meant to be bad to begin with. That's about it.
March 19, 2014
Gary Busey at his best
January 18, 2014
yes, it's just as stupid and idiotic as you'd expect
the filmmakers actually went with the idea to make Gary Busey voice a killer Gingerbread cookie
you want to laugh at just the first scene they use black magic to bring back a serial killer
these actors are so boring and their arcs are not the least bit enthralling, I was really wondering where the damn cookie was this whole time just to get things rolling
the acting is just as bad
I was just slapping my forehead so many times at the sheer stupidity of this comedy
that's what it is, a bad comedy and not horror
I supposed though if you want to laugh yourself silly to pass some time then this should be ok
trying to do emotional depth with a premise this asinine is never easy
½ December 28, 2013
A convicted robber and murderer is executed/cremated. His mom puts his ashes in gingerbread dough, delivering it to the bakery he robbed. Blood mixes with it, it is cooked in the oven when a power surge occurs. He turns into a gingerbread man bent on furthering his killing. Pretty damn stupid. There are many other little monsters who kill films worth watching (just look for my reviews down further).
October 15, 2013
0 stars. couldnt even flip through it for 5 minutes
September 9, 2013
This cookie might be a little half-baked, but it is far from stale. Like an edible Chucky, the Gingerdead man, voiced by Academy Award nominee Gary Busey (who also provides a cameo role as the killer who comes to inhabit the deadly dessert) is a delightfully evil little bastard hell set on revenge. The entire film, that of which clocks in at a little over an hour, takes places entirely, and appropriately, inside a small town bakery after dark. It is in this ideal setting that the Gingerdead man goes on a homicidal rampage, well, to be fair, only about two people die, but an old lady does get her finger cut off, so the gore is still significant enough to warrant a recommendation. That being said, there were one or two missed opportunities for gleeful depravity, but thanks to its supremely lean running time, the film never drags, and the one note joke never gets old. Suffice it to say, The Gingerdead Man is not one of your grandma's cookies.
August 6, 2013
The Ginderdead Man is as stupid and badly written as film can be. That being sad, it is also an idiotically fun ride that is funny and little insane.
June 18, 2013
I was looking for an out of the ordinary film for my friend's Holiday party when I came across The Gingerdead Man and the title alone was just outrageous enough for me to rent it. THIS IS NOT YOUR TYPICAL CHRISTMAS MOVIE. Lots of blood, profanity and cheesy dialogue plus it looks like it was made for about 3 bucks. Still, the film was hilarious and just what my weirdo friends and me were looking for. There is nothing better than getting drunk on eggnog (believe me, the drunker you are the better this movie is) and watching a crazy gingerbread man with a big knife trying to kill people.
March 22, 2013
I obviously don't care for this film, mainly because the killer is a cookie that you kids really loved to eat, but this film, not in my mind.
March 10, 2013
Not the best horror film but what do you expect. A low budget film that involves a gingerbread man killing people. Although the effects are not so good and the acting was mediocre at best, the gingerdead man is the one that stole the show. Gary Busey did pretty well as both the killer and as the cookie. The killing spree of the Gingerdead man along with the humor he possess was good. A one time watch just to see what this is all about and nothing else.
½ February 16, 2013
A serial murderer returns as a killer cookie. Not worth watching.
February 5, 2013
HAHA I forgot that i saw this movie!
Page 1 of 20