Reviews

Feb 18, 2021
Gloria Bell could have played as a glorious showcase of a woman being true to herself in spite of the world trying to hold her back. Instead, it's a slog that wastes the talents of Julianne Moore and her many recognizable co-stars.
Jul 21, 2020
A remake that is too subject to the subterfuges and the conventional formulas. [Full review in Spanish]
Jun 30, 2019
Once her dating life blossoms after meeting Arnold, played by John Turturro, the film constantly weaves in and out losing it's cohesiveness.
Jun 24, 2019
Lelio relies too much on his original script and traces it with absolute reluctance in this new version that occurs on the other side of the planet and that consequently is broken down irremediably for sad and obvious reasons. [Full Review in Spanish]
Jun 21, 2019
Sadly, Gloria Bell and Julianne Moore's persona, did not work their uplifting magic on me.
May 30, 2019
Who needs an American Gloria Bell when we had the wonderful Chilean Gloria? And I say this with all the respect Ms. Moore's work deserves.
Apr 30, 2019
What Lelio and Moore offer here is repellent both in its banality and it's obscurity.
Apr 18, 2019
The film [is] less involving and less satisfying than the original, despite Moore's luminous performance.
Apr 6, 2019
This remake doesn't fit it's place or time, and even Julianne Moore can't save it. Older women in America now have an independence and inner strength that didn't jibe with this portrayal -- the character looked 50 but played a sad, desperate 85.
Apr 2, 2019
This movie had me falling asleep..."uneventful" is the one word to describe Gloria Bell
Apr 1, 2019
I was left wondering why this engaging character's life had to be understood only in the context of the man who is unworthy of her.
Mar 31, 2019
So specifically tailored to Julianne Moore's strengths that it offers room for basically no surprises of any sort
Mar 26, 2019
Moore rises above the material to spin her magic.
Mar 21, 2019
Moore does what she can with this character, but it's a lackluster performance due to Lelio's avoidance of any characterization other than martyrdom.
Mar 20, 2019
Moore's performance is undeniably exquisite, but any character study must bring us on a full journey. That's where Gloria Bell, for all of its assets and acclaim, stumbles.
Mar 20, 2019
The woman getting her groove on on the screen in front of me might as well have been a complete stranger.
Mar 14, 2019
The problem, which marks all his movies, is that Lelio clearly cares about his characters, and actors, but can't quite be bothered to fit them into fully convincing narratives.
Mar 14, 2019
Gloria Bell lives her life in all caps, and bless her for that. The material put into play needed to have more connective tissue.
Mar 8, 2019
The film's open-ended narrative tends to be undermined by the simplicity of its thematic signifiers.