Glory Daze - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Glory Daze Reviews

Page 1 of 5
½ March 2, 2016
I've been on a kick to pad out the IMDB ratings numbers that I have noticed are lacking, which means revisiting some stuff from the '90s and the various slacker dramas that proliferated at the time, and I wasn't surprised to find that this was one that hadn't aged well. It has a few moments and I like the cast, but more than anything it plays like Animal House for the Grunge set and I wasn't blown away by my 2nd viewing as a middle aged guy.

Rental?
August 24, 2014
Rancho Grande

Jack is overwhelmed by the idea of leaving college and moving on to a life of responsibility. As he talks to his other friends, some of which have already planned their future, others plan to drop out, and others just hope to have the guts to talk to their crushes, Jack decides it is in everyone's best interest if he stays at college as long as possible.

"Now you fucked up!"

Rich Wilkes, who worked on Airheads, xXx, xXx: State of the Union, Iron Fist, The Jerky Boys, and The Stoned Age, delivers Glory Daze in his directorial debut (and his only major motion picture directed to date). The storyline for this film is just okay and reminded me of a cross of Animal House and Van Wilder. The cast was more impressive in name more than by performance and includes Ben Affleck, Matthew McConaughey, Alyssa Milano, Sam Rockwell, Sean Whalen, and Megan Ward.

"You going to start hassling me already?"

This was a random movie I came across on Netflix and had to see because I had never heard of it despite the great list of cast members. I will say the story was only so well written and the characters could have been better developed (and Affleck's hair was scary bad). Overall, I'd probably skip this picture.

"He was a professional student."

Grade: C-
½ July 21, 2014
Thank God Ben Affleck is a good director/writer, because he sucks as an actor. The movie overall shows some grat ideas, but lacks development of some storylines...and the dialogues at times are atrocious.
November 17, 2013
This movie practically got me through college. It exemplifies the late 90's perfectly and has an awesome punk rock soundtrack to boot. I still put it on when I want to smile. Sure the acting sucks and the plot is thin but it brings me back to a time when life was all in front of me and the thought of "growing up" really was scary as hell!
September 16, 2013
who doest like looking back at the good old times good high school movie
July 5, 2013
This would be a mostly unmemorable frat house comedy if not for the amazing soundtrack that ties it all together. Still, it's a good, easy watch and actually a pretty accurate and authentic feeling representation of Southern California mid to late 90's University life.
½ May 12, 2013
Ben Affleck. French Stewart. Sam Rockwell. Kristin Bauer. Alyssa Milano. John Rhys-Davies. Matthew McConaughey. Sean Whalen. Brendan Fraser. Leah Remini. Matt Damon. Megan Ward.
A movie about college, mostly partying.

So why is this movie no fun at all???

I have no idea. Five friends are coming to terms that their epic house set up is coming to an end with three graduating, but Affleck wants to party for an year and convinces them all to stay, but it doesn't really work out ever.

The five guys seem like they could be true friends, but all the drama around them really goes nowhere. Milano and her man never seem to resolve anything by the end of the film, but at least we kind of know where the other four went. Ward is completely wasted.

I will say that McConaughey, Remini, Damon and Fraiser are all basically cameos. The one involving two of them on the bus was just a mess of a scene.

And the music they use is very...odd...at times.

I will say that the main reason to see this, mostly for guys mind you, is that Affleck made a sex tape with Pam from True Blood...and wow, she does not dissapoint!
½ November 13, 2012
It has a good soundtrack...
October 19, 2012
Funny yet pathetic...
½ August 23, 2012
Overly angst ridden growing-up-and-what-do-we-do-now story most notable for it's cast, not just the main characters, but the cameos are full of well known faces.
August 12, 2012
A punk rock Animal House
½ July 17, 2012
A lot along the lines of Dazed And Confused...no point whatsoever. There were a few funny parts, and of course Ben Affleck is indeed in it, but otherwise it's a waste of time.
½ May 12, 2012
Lots of pre-famous faces but not much else. Just your typical college humor about not wanting to grow up. Glory Daze has a week storyline and really doesnt provide viewers with anything worthwhile.
½ January 5, 2012
Group of graduating college roomates look to avoid responsibility a bit longer. Not as resonating as it aims to be. Alyssa Milano prominently displayed on the cover but plays only a minor role. A couple amusing cameos.
½ December 16, 2011
It grew on me a little bit. I intially watched it due to the now famous cast. It reminded me of a real college house. This was before american pie which set a standard that every college movie had to be slapstick humor. I didn't feel like the guy with dreads fit and it would have been better with out him. On netflix streaming.
½ October 5, 2011
Lots of pre-famous faces but not much else. Just your typical college humor about not wanting to grow up. Glory Daze has a week storyline and really doesnt provide viewers with anything worthwhile.
getshort78
Super Reviewer
½ August 28, 2011
It's two days before graduation, and Jack is having serious doubts about the future. The old gang is breaking up - Rob is moving to L.A. with his girlfriend; Dennis is finishing his third degree and going to grad school in Michigan; Slosh has dropped out of school and stays drunk all the time; and Mickey, who still has a year of school to go, seems tired of the scene and wishes he had the guts to tell his friend Chelsea how he feels about her. As Jack looks out at his four years in Santa Cruz, he wonders if this isn't the best time of his life, and he wonders whether it might be a mistake to let it all go just because of graduation. As his pals also get glimpses of life after college, he decides he's not going to leave, that he's going to live his glory days a little longer.
June 18, 2011
Decent movie, godawful title.
½ March 29, 2011
Pretty stupid but lots of young famous faces.
½ March 4, 2011
Lots of pre-famous faces but not much else. Just your typical college humor about not wanting to grow up. Glory Daze has a week storyline and really doesn't provide viewers with anything worthwhile.
Page 1 of 5