Yuke yuke nidome no shojo (Go, Go Second Time Virgin) - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Yuke yuke nidome no shojo (Go, Go Second Time Virgin) Reviews

Page 1 of 1
May 6, 2015
Exercício avant-garde japonês lança algumas boas pistas sobre a morte e o trauma, mas aos poucos vai-se encaminhado para um estado de espírito arty que, neste caso, não resistiu muito bem ao tempo e é difícil de ser mastigado.
Super Reviewer
½ September 9, 2012
The title alone is enough to stoke anyone's curiosity. This Japanese New Wave gem doesn't quite live up to its billing, but it's smart enough to know its thin premise doesn't warrant more than 65 minutes. The script makes its statement and gets out quickly.

The story takes place almost entirely on a city rooftop. A girl is gang-raped while a mousy, enigmatic boy watches from the side. Afterwards, the two creep into a dysfunctional romance based on shared traumatic memories. But the boy holds the keys to the building, and so the whole crowd of scoundrels is also stranded on the roof for the night. The tense situation is detailed almost in real time, eventually turning violent in unexpected ways. The closing suggests the film is a tribute to the recently murdered Sharon Tate, so consider yourself warned.

"Go, Go Second Time Virgin" is dominantly black and white, but inserts a few flashbacks in color. The musical score is unusually Western-influenced and even includes an unlikely usage of the Mothers of Invention's "The Return of the Son of Monster Magnet" (wow). If you're a fan of foreign directors such as Nagisa Oshima and Jean-Luc Godard and would like to dig deeper, this is a good place to start.
February 12, 2012
This is a depressing tale of rape, revenge, teen angst and being alone. Given that this movie was shot in just 4 days in 1 location on a tight limited budget, what director Koji Wakamatsu has created is nothing short of amazing. The movie is mostly in black and white which is so beautiful but just occasionally there are bursts of color and blue sepia sequences inserted. It works really well when you see it. The subject matter of the movie isn't the most joyous, in fact it's really bleak and it doesn't end on a happy note either which I'm not going to spoil for you. This movie isn't sleazy as such and the rape scenes aren't too graphic but the violence when it happens is brutal. The 2 main stars are fantastic in their roles and Mimi Kozakura as Poppo is naked for a lot of the movie's 65 minute running time.

Go Go Second Time Virgin is an interesting pinku/art house movie with a fresh take on loneliness that I recommend.
August 19, 2010
Go, Go Second Time Virgin (1969) Yuke yuke nidome no shojo (original title) After being raped in an unknown rooftop, nineteen year-old girl Poppo meets a mysterious boy, & both share their sexual traumas & fears, with fatal consequences. Go, Go, Second Time Virgin is the story of two damned & abused teenagers who meet & fall in mutant love on a Tokyo rooftop. Their only hope is to cement their love with an escape into oblivion. Japan's most notorious underground filmmaker, Wakamatsu--a combination of Godard, Gregg Araki & Jesus Franco--has fashioned a haunting, unforgettable film. Between the 1960s & early 1970s, Japanese cinema literally exploded with some of the greatest genre filmmaking ever seen--a mindbending Cinemascope paradise of samurai swordfests, crazed yakuza thrillers & low-budget erotica. In conjunction with the American Cinematheque, Image Entertainment presents this rarely-seen Japanese cult film. This film is not easy viewing. 60+ minutes of sadomasochism, multiple rapes, one delirious orgy, some poetic dialogue on suicide, & the mass-murder He mixes an avant-garde sensibility with horrific & sexual themes that will make many viewers extremely uneasy, but this great looking film has a lot to offer more adventurous audiences. Calling Go, Go Second Time Virgin ahead of its time is an understatement, but there were very few films made before 1969 that dealt so directly & brutally with teenage sexuality & depression. Wakamatsu creatively uses shaky hand-held camera shots to give his film a realistic & gritty edge. He also mixes manga illustrations & photographs into his film that convey a dark pop art sensibility. Though conceived in the tradition of Japanese pink films, â??Go Goâ?? in fact, shares more in common with the French New Wave than it does with kinky soft porn. Its plot is very minimalist. Short 1 hour running time. â??Go Goâ?? is clearly a film that will enthrall some with its ultra-stylized perversions while horrifying nearly everyone else.
July 24, 2010
I?m not sure exactly what to make of this film, I?m barely sure if I even like it. It?s certainly a puzzling portrait of violence and unhappiness. It?s unclear how much of it is fantasy, or if any of it is. The film begins with Poppo (the Girl) being raped on a rooftop. By her own account, this is the second time this has happened, and now she wants to die. Tsukio lives in the building, and followed the other boys up to the roof and watched, though he didn?t partake. When morning comes, he tries to dissuade the girl from both killing herself, or at least from staying on the roof forever.

Though just an hour, the film is filled to the rafters. Focusing particularly on sexual trauma and fear, both characters reveal to each other their own violent and traumatic sexual experiences. They?re both quite young, teens, and do not understand the situations that surround them. When The Girl asks to die, the boy asks her why. She cannot understand, she says it isn?t because she was raped, but something else. Her answers change and shift as the film goes on, as do her recollections of her past and family. Nothing seems certain, or real. She lives in a disturb and diluted world of violence and unhappiness.

Is this film about purity? The loss of innocence? It could be. The treatment and abuse of children as sex objects. Or perhaps, their own diluted understanding of events beyond their understanding. Skewed views of events and experiences that they were simply not ready for.

The violence is greatly affecting, and really quite difficult to watch. It?s difficult for me personally to come to terms with it? obviously, it?s not meant to be enjoyed, but I want to look away and block it off. Is it an expression of male rage? The falling back on violence, and ?penetration?, a revenge in it?s purest right. The girl remains submissive, wishing away her pain through a sort of masochistic acceptance of her powerlessness. And yet, is she stronger? She does not seek revenge or violence, or in reality, she does. She gives many reasons why she wants to die, alll seem to be elusively skirting the truth, but finally she screams she wants to die because she wants to kill. A strong revelation, and one that I found to be quite powerful. She would not continue the cycle of violence, and though being completely resigned to her own destruction seems counter-intuitive, it was her way of engaging in a sort of moral pacifism that was motivated in part by fear, but more clearly by an inner strength.

The film finishes with the complete destruction of youth. There is nothing left for the characters but death.
½ March 9, 2010
Wakamatsu really has unique cynical sensibilities. I have watched this film a few times now and it still blows me away. The beautiful black and white imagery, the great jazz soundtrack. This film is pure nihilistic bliss.
June 17, 2009
The blurry still on the DVD cover does not reveal the surprising artistry behind this film! Starkly evocative with a minimum of means, and plenty of anguish, this is low-budget film-making brought to perfection!
March 20, 2009
Wakamatsu le punk pornocrate realise avec ce film (quel titre!) un brulot contestataire, le coeur au bord des levres plein de grace (N&B sublime) et de gravite pdt 1h30, sur un toit, a la limite... Un bemol: le jeu des acteurs.
March 8, 2009
Amazing movie with a killer soundtrack to match.
May 31, 2008
Nihilistic, stark and mostly incomprehensible. This is just about one of the greatest little films I've ever accidentally stumbled across. From the gorgeous black and white imagery to the bizarrely jazzy soundtrack; this film is (and I hate myself for using this terminology) a gem.

Edit* After a third viewing, I'm bumpin this up to 5 stars. Not only that, after seeing a few more Wakamatsu films he's certainly become one of my top directors. This has got to be one of the most hypnotically beautiful films I've scene. Everything from the strange poetry like dialogue to the visuals is stunning. I love it.
May 1, 2008
excellente director.
April 19, 2008
½ March 26, 2008
Shocking and very thought-provoking... it's actually fun trying to understand the message of the movie after watching it. The song sung by the guy was weird but kinda touching too. But I can't say I like it very much... I guess it's because I find the nude scenes (of the girl, who's not pretty actually) excessive...
March 26, 2008
The story sucks but the cinematography is rather stylistic

a rather special Japanese porn cult
March 6, 2008
The movie that inspired the legends of filmmaking. And is still inspiring. A masterpiece of cinema. This is how you make a movie.
½ March 5, 2008
A mesmerizing, starkly beautiful and deeply unnerving picture. This was my first pink film and the genre apparently has more to offer than I'd expected.
February 1, 2008
lovely in all its ways
Page 1 of 1