Du shen (God of Gamblers) - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Du shen (God of Gamblers) Reviews

Page 1 of 10
July 3, 2014
Somewhat campy or an Asian rip-off of Rain Man but I love it still! Chow Yun-Fat's swag is undeniable.
October 6, 2013
Truly wonderful! With an original plot and incredible plot-twists, God of Gamblers is one of the best movie I've ever watched!!
July 22, 2013
Always wondered if this guys is real. They say it is based on real story. :)
March 4, 2013
Considered a Hong Kong action classic, but didn't really do it for me.
December 7, 2012
Kung fu i take it worth a peak!
½ March 31, 2012
a little of everything, with a good story at the base. many great moments that aren't soon forgotten. strange that Wong Jing's earliest work is his best.see it if you're into: asian movies, movies that don't fall into any category because they contain everything, Chow-Yun Fat, Andy Lau, poker, gambling, gun-fights
November 27, 2011
Fairly standard plot, and in the end the hiatus didn't really do anything anyway....
½ July 25, 2011
A slick action thriller in the vein of Rain Man. Chow Yun Fat shows considerable range in his acting abilities, being the ultra cool God of Gamblers and the amnesia ridden child like version of him as well. Lots of exciting action sequences and tense gambling scenes, all for excellent entertainment.
April 28, 2011
?าิ,ร
½ February 20, 2011
I'm a big fan of Chow Yun Fat and it's great seeing him in this sort of movie. Not many actors command the screen as well as he does. Or as effortlessly cool. He is great in this as a gambler that is able to read everything around him and never loses, no matter what the bet or the game is. After an accident he loses his memory and ends up with the personality of a child whilst still commanding the same gambling skills and a love of chocolate! The movie starts off well and is entertaining but it loses its way after Yun Fat's character loses his memory. It takes forever for the movie to get back on track and for his memory to return. Despite the introduction of Andy Lau and a few comic highlights the movie never fully recovers for me. The action sequences near the end and the neat tying up of the story at the end are good though. Despite the ageing of the movie, the cheesy music and atrocious subtitles I quite enjoyed this. It's nowhere near as good as Hardboiled but it isn't that sort of movie anyway, plus very few movies are as good as HB anyway. If you are a fan of Chow Yun Fat's early stuff give this a watch, if not really don't bother, there's nothing here for you.
January 3, 2011
One of the Hong Kong classic. Old films are lot more fun, and what a great cast.
½ December 9, 2010
Thursday, December 9, 2010

(1989) God of Gamblers
(In Chinese with English subtitles)
ACTION/ COMEDY

Chow Yun Fat likable as a master gambler at the beginning gets amnesia when bumping his head while going down a hill because people want to kill him as a result of his success. A small poor group of naive misfits finds Chow Yun- Fat and take him under their wing where they would then try to exploit him! As you're watching this, you're like why couldn't they have taken him to a hospital and so forth... and the reason is that it wouldn't be a much of a movie and no one would watch it! He builds a rapport with this family who is taking care of him with a mind of a child and an automatic hand as an ace gambler! More comedy slapstick, betrayls and back stabbings happen along the way, and of course action- a true definition of fun Asian Trash cinema from Wong Jing! There is even a necrophiliac scene which is kind of kind of unnecessary in the overall film and not for everybody!

This was a big boxoffice commercial hit with Hong Kong audiences wanting to see more which also inspired many Hong Kong copycats such as "King of the Gamblers", "All For The Winner", "Queen of Gamblers", "Gamblers vs Gamblers" etc...

3.5 out of 4
Super Reviewer
July 29, 2010
john woo and cho yan fat around the time of hard boiled and the killer, not a classic like them, but definatly worth the watch for the typical display of hohg kong filmmaking on show at the time
June 28, 2010
Reviewing movies that i have watched in the past, mainly HK flicks. I am basing my reviews on what i remember about the films, so bear in mind that these are films that i watched years ago, and the details i provide may not be accurate, although the general rating is more or less accurate.

God of Gamblers stars CHow Yun Fat in his pre Hollywood days and i daresay puts him in one of the most unforgettable roles with this crowd pleasing comedy. Chow is the gambling don who, loses his memory and is saved by a bunch of ne'er do wells who discover and try to exploit his gambling skills. Yes, i know it sounds seriously cliched. And yes there are some seriously campy moments. But Chow is simply phenomenal as the chocolate loving, Gambing supremo. An entertaing and enjoyable film, one of CHow's most memeorable, and far, far better than most of the substandard movies he makes in Holllywood.

The Defender or "Zhong Nan Hai Bao Biao", stars Jet Li as the bodyguard from beijing, one of the very elite who is tasked with the job of protecting the absolutely babelicious Christy CHung. Don't expect great acting or dazzling directing, just relax and be entertained by good action sequences and a decent acting by Jet Li. And yes, gawk at the stunning Christy Chung. An enjoyable way to spend your time.

The Enforcer is riddled by a seriously lame plot, where Jet Li is a police officer going undercover, leaving behind a pugilistically talented son. Now the kid, who looks barely over 10, goes in search of his father, displaying remarkable martial arts skill in the process. The kid actually has rather good chemistry with Jet Li and even treatens to upstage him. If you ignore the seriously unbelievable plot, the enforcer is a watchable and entertaining, albeit lightweight flick.

Now if the Enforcer has a tenuous plot, Black MaSk is even worse. With a plot more farfetched than a kid's daydreams, one can safely ignore the plot and the many obvious logical flaws of the film and just concentrate on the action, which the film delivers competantly. However even if you forgive the plot, the many contrivances and lack of acting muscle, together with a poorly cobbled script, make it a less than mediocre offering, with only the action sequences of Jet Li saving it from abysmal failure.

The Heroic Trio stars the late Anita Mui with Michelle Yeoh and Maggie Cheung. Like the Enforcer, it also suffers from a tenuous plot (now why am i sounding like a bahroken record???) involving- if you can believe it- a plot to kidnap infant newborns as a sacrifice for some demonic ritual, which is thwarted by a trio of [i]Charlie's Angel[/i]ish superwoman with kick ass skills (and looking like a superhero out of a comic book) . And no, this ain't set it some period era like the ancient dyanasties, in which case it might be somwhat plausible, but set in a modern setting with cars and all. WTF, you might say? well don't expect much from the plot. Only slightly better than the abysmal Charlie's Angels, and somewhat redeemed by a surprisingly good soundtrack, the Heroic Trio is an exercise in mediocrity.
½ June 1, 2010
Oh no, I'm a bad gambler! Seppuku!
½ May 20, 2010
Ach, diese Hongkong Streifen aus den 80ern sind doch immer wieder eine echte Freude. Chow Yun-Fat und Andy Lau geben auch in diesem Film wieder ein tolles Team ab. Der Film geht zwar gut 30 Minuten zu lang und einige Dinge Stren mich an der Geschichte ziemlich (Ich mag dieses "Eins auffen Kopf bekommen und dann 70 % der Filmzeit ber bekloppt zu sein" berhaupt nicht) doch hat God of Gamblers dann auch wieder so sensationelle Momente, dass ich aus dem Freudentaumel kaum herauskomme. Und sowieso, es muss einfach gesagt werden: Chow Yun-Fat ist einer der coolsten Darsteller aller Zeiten (Ja, alle Lnder, alle Genres!), ihn spielen zu sehen ist einfach ein Erlebnis. Den meisten Darstellern nimmt man es nicht einmal ab, wenn sie sich whrend eines Filmes vom Trinker zum ganz normalen Typen entwickeln, Chow Yun-Fat nimmt man die Wandlung vom Penner zu Gott in einer Szene ab!
knappe 3,5/5
March 31, 2010
One of the movies I grew up watching. Chow Yun-fat at his best.
December 22, 2009
One of Chow Yun-Fat's best loved roles as a professional gambler who loses his memory after an accident. A nice combination of comedy and great action sequences make this a brilliant HK flick. A must see for Chow Yun-Fat and Andy Lau fans.
December 22, 2009
One of Chow Yun-Fat's best loved roles as a professional gambler who loses his memory after an accident. A nice combination of comedy and great action sequences make this a brilliant HK flick. A must see for Chow Yun-Fat and Andy Lau fans.
½ December 4, 2009
This was actually quite good, suprising considering I'm not one for subtitles
Page 1 of 10