God Bless America - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

God Bless America Reviews

Page 1 of 6
Al Alexander
The Patriot Ledger
June 2, 2013
It takes dead aim at the culpability of hate-mongering politicians, the religious right and reality TV stars in making the United States the meanest, rudest country in the world.
Full Review | Original Score: B
Felix Vasquez Jr.
Cinema Crazed
March 8, 2013
A brilliant, fearless, and merciless indictment of American culture, and how we've become the lowest common denominator
Jeff Beck
We Got This Covered
January 15, 2013
Bobcat Goldthwait's God Bless America works well as a black comedy and as a satirical look at pop culture and human behavior.
Full Review | Original Score: 7/10
CJ Johnson
ABC Radio (Australia)
December 4, 2012
It's an intriguing satirical idea, and it works very effectively in places, while being tremendously didactic and heavy-handed in others.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/5
November 26, 2012
Enjoyable, over-the-top, and nowhere near as black as the premise sounds, God Bless America is essentially an extended comic op-ed piece.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
Robert Roten
Laramie Movie Scope
November 20, 2012
It's a wonderful movie, spoofing and shooting all the worst things about our failing civilization, from the Tea Party, to vicious talk show hosts ...
Full Review | Original Score: A
David Stratton
At the Movies (Australia)
November 15, 2012
If you can take that premise, I think you'll go along with the film and it's really, in its very weird way, quite funny.
Full Review | Original Score: 3.5/5
Blake Howard
2UE That Movie Show
November 13, 2012
God Bless America opens strong but finishes with a preachy bludgeoning.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
Erin Free
FILMINK (Australia)
November 11, 2012
Though hilariously funny and luridly hypnotic, God Bless America is quite possibly the angriest and saddest film of the last ten years.
Andrew L. Urban
Urban Cinefile
November 11, 2012
A sobering comedy, a darkly comic tragedy and a socially valuable scream that demands our attention (and that of the Americans). He shows that deep down, for all the whoops of God Bless America across the nation, it's actually 'godless America'
Adam Ross
The Aristocrat
September 27, 2012
...any film that has the balls to show an incessantly crying baby being blown away with a shotgun will always, unequivocally, get my vote.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
Jeff Beck
Examiner.com
September 14, 2012
[Goldthwait's] shown he has a knack for writing films with strange lead characters whose morals you will question, but whose exploits you will want to follow to the end.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
Simon Foster
sbs.com.au
August 20, 2012
God Bless America is most effective as a big, loud 'f*** you' to those responsible for breaking the spiritual back and socio-political might of a great empirical democracy; the joke being that those responsible are the movie's key demographic.
Tara Brady
Irish Times
August 3, 2012
Murray and Barr make for winning platonic chemistry even when Frank suspects himself of impure thoughts. Goldthwait holds his nerve as the film shifts from ennui to malevolent gleefulness.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
Pablo Villaça
Cinema em Cena
July 17, 2012
Embora não seja engraçado como acredita ser, a honestidade do roteiro em sua frustração com a futilidade contemporânea é algo refrescante em meio a tantos projetos sem personalidade ou ponto de vista.
| Original Score: 4/5
Paul Chambers
Movie Chambers
July 14, 2012
This black comedy is directed by Bobcat Goldthwait, who miraculously makes the two characters sympathetic. How he does that is still a mystery to me. "God Bless America" makes me feel most uneasy. But, it's hard not to watch.
Full Review | Original Score: B
Kevin Carr
7M Pictures
July 13, 2012
God Bless America is a modern-day parable... It's not always easy to watch, but it's got a lot to say. Just be prepared to have your worldview challenged.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
Matt Brunson
Creative Loafing
July 13, 2012
There's something disingenuous about this being made by a filmmaker whose claim to fame was appearing in Police Academy 2, Hot to Trot and Shakes the Clown. But I'd be lying if I didn't admit that there's something cathartic about it.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/4
July 7, 2012
A combination of blatant shock tactics and poignant, pin-sharp verbal tirades from its lead that are rendered darkly amusing, or you would cry with despair at the apparent truth.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
Jeffrey M. Anderson
Common Sense Media
July 6, 2012
The movie has the courage of its convictions all the way up to the closing credits.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5

The Playlist
May 12, 2012
Page 1 of 6