God Bless America - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

God Bless America Reviews

Page 3 of 87
½ November 6, 2015
God Bless America is a story of Frank, a depressed man, and Roxy, a 16-year-old girl. The two go on a mission to kill people who they believe "deserve to die."

Finally. A movie big enough to make to theaters that points out what is wrong with the American public.

The independent film has the dark humor that only some will enjoy. This is the only movie that can make you laugh during a suicidal scene. Murders are blatant and are not hidden whatsoever. This is a bold film.

The true star is Tara Lynne Barr. Barr plays Roxy, a 16-year-old with lots of energy, or "A.D.D. Juno," as Frank puts it. She isn't like most girls in her class. Instead of hanging out with the most popular girl in the school, Roxy secretly despises her and wishes she were dead.

At some points during the film, the script seemed bland and tasteless. Then again, some scenes have Frank go on long, moving speeches that will have one rethink his or her lifestyle. Frank points out the wrong in society, including bad television, hate groups, and people who talk in theaters.
"Why have a civilization anymore if we no longer are interested in being civilized?"

Overall, this is a great indie film. Every person with Netflix should give it a shot; it may just teach you something.
November 3, 2015
God bless this movie
November 2, 2015
A brute and hilarious dark comedy that you feel bad (yet satisfied) for laughing with.
John K.
Super Reviewer
½ October 21, 2015
A misanthrope is not an automatically interesting character and criticizing society in such a bland and petty way is overdone. I've heard people call this a satire, but if it's a satire of people who complain about society all the time than I sure missed it.
October 18, 2015
I'm just very, very disappointed. It's a sad thing to see a genius filmmaker as Bobcat Goldthwait squander his abilities, and make a film that is mesmerizingly ugly from start to finish. God Bless America is a catastrophe. I'm a Syracuse guy, and I shouldn't be talking so harshly about anything Bobcat, but I'm sorry, this is just... really unpleasant. It's a comment about the hypocrisies, and downright cruelest aspects of American, capitalist society, and it fails miserably at making it's point worth thinking about. It obviously takes it's cues from Taxi Driver, Natural Born Killers and Falling Down; movies that focus on misfits who are disgusted with American culture, and become murderers. The difference between those movies and this one, is that they all raise interesting questions about our culture, and are written brilliantly, with characters we can understand and empathize with. The two characters in this movie are just detestable losers. One is a working class slob who is so heart broken over the meanness of American society, and the other is a quasi hipster, Maoist little girl who just wants to kill people that are annoying to her. I felt absolutely nothing for them. Their mission is just, simply, America is an awful place, with mean people, let's kill them all. The only thing remotely likable about these characters, are the actors themselves, who give serviceable, even good performances. Joel Murray does all he can, and succeeds in bringing that classic Murray family malaise to the role. Tara Lynne Barr has a thespian charm to her sadistic character. Yet, it all doesn't work. Perhaps it's because I saw this movie in the wake of the shootings in Aurora, Oregon and the church in Charleston. Perhaps it's because serial mass shooters are so common, that to sympathize with them would be just ridiculous at this point. But that's not what makes this an awful movie. It's just written stupidly. It thinks it's making a smart, socialist comment, but in reality, it's just saying "Kill those whom you disagree with.". It's a base argument, soaked in a river of blood and guts. Tarantino this isn't. I also don't want to hear the fact that it's a comedy, because I didn't laugh. Bobcat, you're a talented, wonderful man, but I'm embarrassed for you.
October 7, 2015
tries to be provocative, ends up being boring, tiring and void of any interesting content. horrible film overall.
September 24, 2015
Ever had someone talking at the back of a theatre? Or hate how people love to watch people's misery on X-Factor? Then this is the movie for you! Watched it and soon I was laughing quickly at the utter stupidity and 'tell it like it is' nature of this film. It doesn't hold back and I honestly remembered and loved it. I guess it came from how the view I had always had but never spoke out loud was coming to life in front of my eyes, I couldn't help but relate and laugh, even though I'm British.
½ September 13, 2015
Bobcat goldthwait the guy from police academy doesn't hold back on anything directing this movie... A bonnie and Clyde type of story about society now
½ September 11, 2015
A somewhat amusing indictment of pop culture, but mostly a thinly veiled attack against conservatives. I may agree with the writers politics, but I can't enjoy murder pornography against those I disagree with. Par for the course in Hollywood however.
August 28, 2015
It's a really great film, sometimes a little bit to much monological, but you can see the attention to detail in the production. Carefully constructed, is also a great cathartic film for those intelligent enough that despise modern stupidying tv shows.
½ August 22, 2015
Could have been a lot better
½ August 10, 2015
This movie is distasteful and wrong in so many ways.
½ July 31, 2015
This movies concept I think is excellent and the trailer looked awesome but unfortunately the movie did not live up to my expectations at all. All the inconsistencies in this movie ruin it for me. The individual shots and scenes are not all that bad just they don't fit together as a cohesive movie. The scrip is bland and unrealistic and the actors don't seem to portray the right emotions for each scene. Its centre focus was around the killing of the "bad people" with no background information to give the story any depth. It felt like a bad remake of Super trying to be quirky and amusing but failing at both. Very disappointed.
July 19, 2015
Well when you are really angry and people are costantly annoying you I must say this movie is a good entertainment.
July 7, 2015
7.5/10. The plot is a bit oddly delivered but the concept is pretty amazing. I do NOT recommend murder. But those deaths were satisfying. As a Bergenite who deals with whining spoiled teens, (whos is a bit guilty of being spoiled, im writing this on an iPhone, but im grateful) i find this hillarious
July 1, 2015
Draws you in at the beginning, but as soon as they start killing it feels like a cliche. Joel Murray is great to watch, Tara Lynne Bar is irritating.
June 18, 2015
Awesome and funny. A real entertaining movie
June 14, 2015
The Trailer sets the pace for me. It's twisted and satirical. If I could only tune out the 'noise' in the world around me, things would be better. This movie should be one that I enjoy, again and again. Can't wait!!
½ June 2, 2015
Very dark and complex look at modern culture!
½ May 23, 2015
esta película es particularmente satisfactoria, lamentablemente inviable y patéticamente verídica.
Page 3 of 87