God Told Me To - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

God Told Me To Reviews

Page 2 of 6
January 24, 2012
Only Larry Cohen would have the gall to make a Jesus ,Space alien ,serial killer ,exploitation movie all in one go .
And despite the odd plot lunge the film is deft and interesting.and one of the directors best films.
Tony Lo Bianco plays a New York Cop who begins to unravel the secret behind random murders where all the killers say that god told them to commit the crime.
As he begins to crack the case Lo bianco becomes embroiled in a weird new messiah alaien pregnancy plot which leads him to a christ like being hiding out in a New York slum.

Along the way he uncovers more about his own past and how it interlinks with the figure in the basement. and how what he does will also have an affect on those around him.

The secret to this film is the fact that Cohen never wastes a shot and gets good performances from actors even though its a B Movie.

Lo Bianco gets a rare lead role here and he is excellent as ther troubled cop on the case ,the film has some important questions to ask ,but mostly just gasp that Cohen managed to get away with such a bold storyline .
½ January 12, 2012
Writer/director Larry Cohen has never been known for his conventional movies, and while "God Told Me To" is one of his earliest films it remains one of his most unconventional and unusual. Up until the halfway point I was with the movie, admiring the ambitiousness and originality.
The opening scenes really grab you, and the central mystery is intriguing to the point of it becoming an absolute necessity to know just where the film is headed. Then, when you find out how Cohen explains all of those strange events, the whole thing collapses under all of the silliness. I admired Tony Lo Bianco's strong lead performance, and I was with his character for the first half.
Everything that follows after that point is ludicrous, hard to follow and ultimately it leaves you with more unanswered questions than satisfaction. There's a lot of mumbo jumbo about God and religion, some kind of secret society that knows all of the secrets and a lot of weird, confusing doubts about Bianco's muddled past. To be honest, after all was said and done, I couldn't tell you with any amount of certainty what happened.
Cohen's innovative script goes desperately awry and never recovers, leaving the viewers in the dust. There are some good moments, and even when things fall apart, I still fund myself almost recommending it just for the sheer silliness of it all.
There's a lot going on in "God Told Me To", and some of it is actually worth watching. And on the plus side, there's never a dull moment, even when you have no idea what's going on.
August 28, 2011
To borrow a phrase from Robin Wood, whose Hollywood from Vietnam to Reagan led me to this film, God Told Me To is an "incoherent" text." The incoherence is on two levels: one) it is narratively difficult to parse the logical flow of the story (why is this happening? how did we get to this scene?) and two) unclear about its thematic and ideological objectives. And yet there is still some very powerful elements in the film, especially those touching on religion and faith, especially how faith intersects with violence. Even though it's true that religion and violence aren't only a contemporary phenomenon still God Told Me To seems eerily prescient. And, if nothing else, it has one of the most startling and perversely inventive religious symbols I've seen in any medium. But you have to wait til the last reel for it.
½ July 13, 2011
The hell did this come from?
June 7, 2011
I remember seeing this movie a long time ago. It had horrible acting, and in the end we see that God is a giant vagina? At least that's what I got out of it.
FilmFanatik
Super Reviewer
May 11, 2011
I can't honestly say I enjoyed this, not entirely anyways. It had a few good moments in it, but not enough to warrant repeated viewings. It started out ok, with everybody getting shot at random...it was actually quite comical. :) I'm still confused on the whole God/Alien/Supreme Being device in the plot, but oh well. It was an interesting attempt anyway.
March 19, 2011
Larry Cohen's mystery-thriller about a detective investigating homicides whose sole connection is the killers say "God told me to" starts out well but becomes a little uneven as it barrels towards its conclusion.
February 15, 2011
This is a strange little movie. People start killing people randomly because God told them to!
January 6, 2011
Larry Cohen's early film about random citizens suddenly turning violent, saying that God told them to do it when they are finally taken down. A detective becomes obsessed with the case, which moves the film from a horror/thriller into the realms of sci-fi by the time that the credits roll.

Truly a unique viewing experience, one that I think I will grow to like even more on repeated viewings, as I know what strange turns it will take.

Worth a look.
½ November 19, 2010
Detective and cult leader are half-siblings descended from aliens who seeded Earth with Christianity, the latter desiring his brother to fuck a vag in his chest.
½ August 26, 2010
New York rammes av en rekke uforklarlige drap. En sniper skyter fjorten mennesker ned på gaten. En purk går bananas under en parade. En far gønner ned kone og barn, og preiker etterpå om kordan han skylder dem til Gud fordi Abraham i sin tid var villig til å ofre sin sønn til den samme Gud. Felles for alle drapene er at drapsmannen - noe kryptisk - kan fortelle at -"God told me to. Deretter dør de, som sniperen som bare kaster seg utfor taket. Det er etterforsker Peter J. Nicholas, spilt av Tony Lo Bianco som skal forsøke å oppklare mysteriet. Og for en supersær sci-fi grøsser dette er. Tidvis rotete fortalt, men full av ugne øyeblikk og flere spaca scener -inkludert et romvesen med en vagina inni ribbena! Det viser seg at drapsmennene er under en slags hypnotisk påvirkning av barn av besøkende fra verdensrommet! Der har du det altså - far far out. Den katolske Peters egen tro og bakgrunn skal etterhvert komme ubehagelig nære kjernen i historien. Helt kurant spill hele veien -og dette er bra skrudd sammen av Larry Cohen, som også gjorde filmer som It's Alive (1974), Perfect Strangers (1984) og Return to Salem's Lot (1987). Innimellom er vi innom Blackploitation-sjangeren faktisk. Se opp for kul gjesterolle av selveste Andy Kaufman, som spiller bananaspurken. Filmen skapte forøvrig en del rabalder i religiøse kretser. Kunne lett vært en klassiker dette - ikke bare en kult-klassiker.
August 20, 2010
What starts out as a nice interesting bit of splatter/sleaze turns into something very uncharacteristic of itself come act II. The jarring switch takes away from the flick by attempting to make the film much grander than it's capable of doing.
½ August 19, 2010
Pretty good as far as 70's B-movies go. The story is actually clever, but it is done a bit cheesy, but hey, it WAS the 70's. Pay attention for an appearance from Andy Kauffman in his first ever movie role. I laughed when the "God" shows a vagina on his side at the end, that was shown close up and moist for some reason. That came totally out of left field...lol.
July 30, 2010
The best "Jesus -flick" ever, weird & wonderful with on-your-face -attitude from the Hitchcock of B-movies.
½ July 20, 2010
Elokuva on sekoitus poliisi trilleriä, avaruusolento sekoilua ja 70-luvun blackploisaatiota. Hidastempoisen tarinan kerronnan ja käsittämättömien juonikoukeroiden jälkeen alkavan lopputekstien kohdalla jää katsoja miettimään mitä v***** sitä tuli juuri katsottua.

Elokuva ketroo tarinan poliisista joka tutkii murha sarjaa jossa tekiä tekijät ovat toimineen "jumalan käskystä". Tarinan tekee kuitenkin äkkikäännöksen ja loppua ei voi ennalta arvata. Koska se on järjetön. Kuten myös elokuvassa näkyvä jättimäinen jeesus vagina.

Kaikesta typeryydestään ja järjettömyydestään huolimatta elokuva jollain omituisella tavalla viihdyttävä. Tämä on sitä samaa sarjaa kuin "Santa Claus Conquers the Martians".
July 18, 2010
Really odd movie, with a weird and not entirely welcome plot turn halfway in. Strange as they come, but entertaining at times.
½ June 10, 2010
Film vraiment trange qui commence comme un policier et qui prend une direction mystique/science-fiction assez inattendue. Des citoyens lambda, sans histoires se mettent tuer et lorsqu'ils sont attraps il expliquent que dieu leur a demand de le faire. L'inspecteur Peter Nicholas se charge d'enquter sur ce qui sera l'affaire de sa vie, plus d'un titre car l'affaire devient personnelle et le poussera mme plus loin qu'il ne l'imaginait. Film polmique sa sortie dans les annes 70, "God Told Me To" n'a pas vraiment secou par sa violence (les meurtres ne sont pas nombreux et pas trs graphique) mais par son propos, une vraie critique de la religion qui aurait un pouvoir plus destructeur que salvateur. Assez atypique et mme droutant dans la tournure qu'il prend, le film du grand Larry Cohen surprend, notamment dans son message directe et volontairement peu subtile et pour qui la religion n'est ni plus ni moins qu'une secte (ou l'inverse) et que l'homme doit surtout chercher ses rponses en lui-mme. On retiendra surtout l'apparence "clatante" de la personne derrire tout a, le camo d'Andy Kaufman, un extrait tir de la srie "Space 1999" et un film en apparence ni chair ni poisson mais qui trouve sa propre voie, a ne plaira pas tout le monde, mais a vaut le dplacement !
½ May 20, 2010
a pretty twisted early Larry Cohen.
February 17, 2010
This bizarro mix of police procedural, religious fantasy and alien abduction is really more a film to admire than one that you can actually enjoy. The inital premise of random shootings being carried out by seemingly strait-laced people, who offer up 'God told me to' as their rationale, quickly segues into a rambling plot that covers Catholic guilt, religious conspiracy, corrupt police and a hermaphrodite Christ-like figure. While some individual scenes are very well played (the chaotic shooting at the St Patrick's Day parade, Slyvia Sidney's cameo appearance as the confused alien abductee and indeed the whole sequence around her retirement home with its blaise staff) the film as a whole truggles to maintain any real coherence. Writer/Director Larry Cohen is now almost the forgotten man of 1970's horror cinema (moving from the semi-mainstream after Q -the Winged Serpent in 1982 to eke out a living on the hinterlands of cinema, with only a story credit on Phone Booth and the odd episode of Masters of Horror to prove that he hasn't retired completely), but at the time of this production he was riding high on the success of It's Alive - a horror film as equally high concept as this one. It's therefore fanciful to imagine that this is the film he was allowed to make as a reward for the success of his previous film. Certainly the scenes of Tony LoBianco, Sandy Dennis and Deborah Raffin discussing Catholic guilt would bear this theory out. But the scattershot approach to the plot betrays Cohen's roots in exploitation cinema. All that being said though, Cohen does pull off a very creepy final shot through the technique of having a character simply look right into the camera and repeat the film's title.
Not the greatest film by any stretch of the imagination, but an interesting one nonetheless.
Page 2 of 6