Gods and Generals - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Gods and Generals Reviews

Page 2 of 7
March 6, 2003
If D.W. Griffith's 1915 Civil War stunner, 'The Birth of a Nation,' was 'history writ with lightning,' in the famous phrase of President Woodrow Wilson, than Ted Turner's 'Gods and Generals' is history writ with sorghum...
Read More | Original Score: 1/4
March 5, 2003
A repulsive combination of dry textbook history and pandering melodrama.
Read More | Original Score: D
March 4, 2003
Never manages anything like thrills and by the long-delayed end has turned into one big forced march.
Full Review | Original Score: 1.5/4
March 3, 2003
Unlike 'Gettysburg,' however, 'Gods and Generals' is slow-moving and stilted and is punctuated by speeches rather than drama and action.
Full Review | Original Score: C
March 2, 2003
A more appropriate title would be The Great Whitewashing of the Rebellion.
Read More | Original Score: 1.5/5
March 2, 2003
Many scenes resemble small screen dramatic reenactments, and might benefit from expository voice-over, given that it is impossible to grasp the various battles' historical significance.
March 2, 2003
'We witness a disjointed, unfocused, unwieldy monster with only limited appeal and whose themes have been handled much more succinctly and artistically in previous films.'
Full Review
March 1, 2003
It could have been handled better, perhaps, but there is enough about it that works to make it worth watching.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
February 28, 2003
If Maxwell wants to make a four-hour epic about the war, fine. But don't waste my time with a film so artificial that it purifies the entire experience for a PG-13 audience.
Full Review | Original Score: 0.5/4
February 26, 2003
History buffs and Civil War re-enactors may find this painfully long-winded epic a gem worth exploring but others will most likely prefer to go dancing in the active battlefields of Fredricksburg as opposed to enduring this detached costume drama.
Full Review | Original Score: 1.5/4
February 25, 2003
I wouldn't call it normal laziness, but I would call it an over-ambitious laziness.
Full Review | Original Score: 1/5
February 25, 2003
This is nothing but an attempt to cash in on the success of Gettysburg.
Full Review | Original Score: 1/5
February 25, 2003
The battle for the modern audience is to stay awake.
Full Review | Original Score: 1/4
February 25, 2003
With trailers, etc., it weighs in at a whacking great 244 minutes. That's two movies' worth of time. Personally, I'm considering petitioning to being paid for reviewing two movies. I'll think about that tomorrow. After all, tomorrow is another day.
Full Review | Original Score: .5/5
February 24, 2003
As remote and unyielding as an untouched textbook, often so much so that its academic fanaticism causes it to resemble a spectacular parody of daytime television's breathy, on-the-fly awkwardness.
February 24, 2003
...it's not made for critics, and it's not made for most moviegoers. While it's tempting to suggest that people interested in this particular period of American history ought to read a book, Gods and Generals might suffice as a watchable Cliffs Notes.
Full ReviewRead More | Original Score: C-
February 24, 2003
[The film] brings the history very much to life.
Full Review| Original Score: 8/10
February 24, 2003
Four hours including the intermission, I felt like I was seeing the Civil War in real time for awhile there.
February 24, 2003
Running close to four hours, including intermission, this landmark epic of the Civil War is, basically, a television mini-series released as a feature film.
Full Review| Original Score: 6/10
February 23, 2003
The packed audience of hundreds at the screening I attended all groaned loudly when the closing titles informed them that Gods and Generals was actually part of a trilogy.
Page 2 of 7